We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Ranked #77 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This was a great hotel stay! Didn't realize it was a condo that sleeps 6; and it was a 1 BR. It was beautiful, clean, ocean side. Very very impressed!!! Would definitely stay there again!
Great staff too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LG28412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I took my 5 yr old great-nephew to Myrtle beach during Spring Break.
We reserved a one bedrm suite which easily accommodates a couple w/ one or 2 kids.
I loved the view of the ocean (balcony incl) from the sitting area and the view of the street from the master bedrm. The Schooner ll is an older resort and thus is smaller than other places we have stayed.
Although the unit was small (compact)--I think the space was utilized very well to provide all amenities needed. The unit may have been recently renovated --not sure but we were pleased w/ the appearance. The kitchen space had nice maple cabinets w/ stainless steel appliances and was furnished w/ dishes, coffee maker, etc. The unit had 2 flat screen tv(s)-one in sitting room and another in the bedroom. The bathroom was clean and had plenty of extra towels. The bedroom was nicely decorated w/ nice furniture & comfy bedding.
During spring break, the area was busy (even noisy at times) but we expected that b/c we know Myrtle beach is a popular destination during spring break.
The resort is just a block from N. Kings Hwy which is accessible to shopping, attractions, etc.
The staff is great !!! I had no complaints and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our one bedrm suite on the 3rd floor had bunk beds (great for kids)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otherwise1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Stuck back in time. Mirrors all around. Rooms were clean. We stayed in the 2 bedroom ocean front even though it was just my husband and myself, because ALL the 1 bedroom are ocienview. The second room had 2 small twin beds. Our room had a queen bed. I wish the master bedroom had a balcony but it did not. There was a small balcony in the living room/den. Carpet needs to be taken out because it was stained from years of wear. The pool was very small and it was only one along with a small hot tub.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mekrstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Its location is convienient. And while It is certainly not the best looking place around, it is also not the worst. The kitchen is not "user friendly". Don't expect much and it will be alright.

However,

I read in one review that it had a friendly staff. Yes, the front desk was always friendly. But if you are an early risier such as myself, don't go to the lobby on the second floor. That room belongs to housekeeping so they can sit around and talk and laugh and be with each other. I don't know if it was predjudism or what, but they let me know that i wasn't welcome. get your morning coffee at starbucks.

Room Tip: the laundry rooms are on the 8th and 9th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My family stayed here recently. This is one of the cleanest hotels/resorts I've used. Staff is very friendly. We rented an ocean VIEW room, not ocean front, but the view was still beautiful even from the side angle. Very roomy condo and fully stocked, updated kitchen.The only drawback might be the small pool. Parking is tight, but they have a parking lot across the street. The atmosphere is mostly made up of families and couples. Older facility, but very clean and quiet, and still close to the city's excitement. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The hotel is an older place and doesn't have a lot of fancy decoration, but it has a great location at a quiet end of the beach. The rooms were spacious and beds comfortable, and the staff helpful and friendly. It's walking distance to good places to eat like Sunnyside Cafe, Rockafellas Seafood, and Big Sam's. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gsamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My wife has been going to the Schooner II since she was a little girl and the tradition continues with us and our 2 boys going every year.

The place is great for what/where it is; a nice hotel right on the beach that's conducive to families. Let's start w/ the positives:

- LOCATION: Right on the beach, can't beat it. Plus, you're in walking distance of a few great eateries; Dirty Don's, Soho, River City Cafe, Ultimate Pizza. The best is that you're in walking distance of Kirk's Ice Cream Parlor. Love the nutty coconut.

- CONDOS: Recently updated with a nice kitchentte and bunk bed area for kids. We've stayed in both the 1 and 2 bedroom units. Although you can't beat the 2 bedroom view, we actually like the layout of the 1 bedroom w/ bunk bed area better. As with any oceanside property, you're going to get some wear and tear, but for the most part, the units are well maintained.

- STAFF: Incredibly friendly and helpful.

Ok, now a few negatives:

- POOL: This used to be a huge negative for me, but it has gotten better. The pool is way to small. They have recently updated it and tend to keep it cleaner then in years past, but it's too small for the amount of folks they have staying there. We've found ourselves sneaking into other hotel pools. It's not necessarily the Schooner's fault as they just don't have enough land to make a larger one.

- ARRIVING/DEPARTING: As another reviewer mentioned, it's a pain unloading your car. It's very tight up front and there are only 2, very slow elevators. Can't really help that though.

All in all, I highly recommend this place. We'll keep coming back.

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view and less noise you get from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbouldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Camelot by the Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#110 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#67 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#143 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club

Address: 2108 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3224
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £54 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Ii Beach/Racquet Club Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing