We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good campground, friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good campground, friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for a 4 day weekend at site 173 in a 5th wheel, facilities were nice and staff was super friendly. Very helpful when maneuvering to the site, thank you Justin! We have dogs, very accommodating, good fellow campers on this trip. I like that it was a little off the main strip but still close to the beach, nice and quiet camping.highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    39
    15
    15
    5
See reviews for
113
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belmont
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were going to use our tent but it poured before and after we arrived. We got the last cabin available- #8. It lacked outdoor chairs and a porch swing- all the other cabins had one or the other. The inside was adequate with a full bed and a set of bunk beds. Some of the one room cabins we have stayed at have had a table inside but this one did not. We would have rented a golfcart for the day to take to the beach but since we were leaving in the morning, it wasn't worth the money. There was a splash pad and 3 pools of various sizes that we would have used if it hadn't become cool after the rain stopped. The staff was super nice, especially the manager, Jeremiah.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

my family of 6 stayed in a two room cabin the week of July 14th. We love KOA and we were not disapointed. THe KOA is in a great location. Very close to all Myrtle beach locations. The staff was very friendly and helpful. THere was a lot of activities for the kids. They enjoyed the jumping pillow and the pool area. We would definetely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vcedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a camping cabin this past weekend. This is the first time that we have stayed where I have to use the bath house. There were 2 fairly close to us. One much cleaner than the closer one. Did not mind the 2nd one at all. The cabin was fine. The staff was great! The guy Clyde at the gate was awesome. Always smiling! Will come back soon!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ckgirl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great location close enough to all the action but far enough to give you the peace and quiet you deserve. The sites are well spaced the cabins are clean , great pet friendly place at good rates . Bath houses were clean and the newest ones were as nice as home ! Pools , parks, corner store . Everyone was welcoming and helpful . We were given shuttle to beach and back when done!!! Just a clean fun time .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecelia Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Nice staff took us to our rv site. Helped us back in and nice campground. New bathhouse and even has a dog park. Quiet family fun. We worried about not being on the ocean side of 17 but they take you and pick you up by golf cart and trailer. Three pools to swim in and also a bounce zone. Outdoor movie theatre and entertainment for the kids . Nice place for whole family. Plenty of shade.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank daphne1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Myrtle Beach KOA - July 2014

One of the nicest KOA campgrounds. The staff are very friendly and always helpful. A great destination campground in the heart of Myrtle Beach but secluded enough to feel like your in a park.

Access / Arrival
Follow GPS directions if coming from the North (Hwy 17) or West (Hwy 501). From the south, turn left at the 6th St light, then right on Oak st at the stop sign, then left on 5th. Otherwise you will never get turned left on 5th (no light) during the summer.

We arrived just before closing and was escorted to our campsite. We had made our reservations on-line but called and had our site changed. The web site has somewhat brief/confusing site descriptions, so I would recommend calling the CG office prior to arrival.

Facilities
Site: Easy to back in with some assistance. The sites are adequately spaced, and there's ample shade. We had a gravel back-in site (most others are pine needles) which we like given we park for the week and don't require the pull-thru convenience. Each gravel site has a grill, picnic table, and fire-pit ring (they NO longer require a deposit to get a ring). All connections were on the back left within easy reach. Water pressure is good.

Cable: We didn't use our satellite dish since there was cable. They have not upgraded to HD yet and reception is somewhat poor on several channels.

Restrooms: the CG was full all weekend, most of the following week and then again the 2nd weekend. However, they could have planned better for the crowds and had the restrooms serviced more frequently (soap dispensers empty, trash bins running over, no TP). Since we rarely use the CG RRs it wasn't an issue but worth noting if you were using a tent or cabin.

Laundry Room: They have nice laundry facilities (10 washers/dryers) but not sized appropriate for the 500 site campground, especially when full. Add to this almost half were "out of order" the ENTIRE week. (Called the office, they said "parts are on order"). Appears they could 1)maintenance the existing ones better and 2)add 5 more washers/dryers for this size facility.

Beach Access: The CG is an easy walk or bike ride to the beach. The also offer a shuttle to/from the beach. We rented a golf cart for the week. (Recommend Best Golf carts or Graham).

Pool: Pool and splash park are really nice, especially if you have young kids. We used the pool and it was not overly crowded and the right temperature.

Pirate Parade: Who knew pirates had so much fun? On Saturday afternoon the staff decorated the wagon and went throughout the park "looking for pirates" with as many kids as would fit on the wagon. Other staff member appeared to be stationed around the park with water guns and would try to soak the kids on the wagon whom, of course, also had water guns. When this was over they had a staff member in a dunk tank that the kids could throw a ball (age-distance-appropriate) to try and dunk the staff member. He was fantastic with the kids and made it a hilarious show as a spectator. KUDOS to whomever thought of this event.

Overall we give this campground very high ratings. It's actually on the verge of great, but simply needs someone to take it to that level. The items noted above were not horrible but are avoidable if someone takes ownership, plans appropriately, and stays on top of issues during the busy weeks.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,796 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
Coral Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground

Property: Myrtle Beach KOA Kampground
Address: 613 5th Ave S, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You simply won't find a better kamping location in this vacation mecca than the Myrtle Beach KOA. Established more than 40 years ago, it's now in the heart of this coastal city's myriad attractions--within walking distance of an amusement/water park, numerous miniature golf courses, restaurants and dazzling sand beaches. Live music theaters, countless restaurants, NASCAR SpeedPark, Broadway at the Beach, more than 100 golf courses and the new Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Boardwalk & Promenade are nearby. Stay and enjoy KOA's activities and new splash pad and soak up rays by the pool. Or you can take advantage of KOA's new beach shuttle. With all that convenience, you'll be delightfully surprised by the kampground's setting with shady sites scattered among mature trees. Kamping Kabins, Lodges and Park Homes also are available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Koa Kampground Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing