We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myrtle Beach school break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #5 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Trumbull CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Myrtle Beach school break”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite with 2 full baths with a view of the water and boats. This is by far the largest suite we have stayed in (1200 square feet) and one of the nicest with a full kitchen and nice beds and bathrooms.

The location is very convenient to most areas in Myrtle Beach. A 10 min drive to Barefoot Landing and 10 mins to Broadway on the Beach. The shuttle to the private beach worked for us. Downtown to the ferris wheel and the teen club is closer to 20 minutes by car. My teenage daughter and her friend like that area better, but most adults would prefer this location as it is convenient to shopping, entertainment and restaurants. Maid service was late in the day, but the staff was professional and curteous to us.

We received a special deal from Marriott if we sat thru a 90 min timeshare presentation. We saved over 50% of the regular price. I would say that it was worth the 90 min sales presentation to be at such a lovely resort for a really good price.

Looking forward to getting another good deal next year. This is a 4 star resort. We have stayed on Disney property and the Bay Lake Tower, Boardwalk, and the Grand Floridan and this resort gives Disney's a run for their money. You will be happy hear. We ate at the local restaurants and did not eat at the hotel. My only complaint is that I was not happy with the coffee in the room. We are picky coffee drinkers and have a Keriug K Cup machine. We stopped at Dukin D and McDonalds and had their coffee.

Room Tip: If you go offseason, the prices are better and it is less crowded and crazy. There were specials on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffSTrumbullCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Greetings JeffSTrumbullCT - Thank you for sharing your Marina Inn experience. As you mentioned, the Marina Inn is a perfect choice for families that enjoy rooms providing ample space and top amenities. Our location is ideal if you prefer close proximity to all of the activities that Myrtle Beach has to offer, yet not in the middle of the of the noisy conjestion that is associated with many of the attractions and nightlife.

We look forward to your future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,185
    300
    116
    48
    20
See reviews for
600
574
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland Line, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Hotel is a very beautiful resort located in the heart of Myrtle Beach, SC. Lots of ammenities, indoor and outdoor swimming pool. Restaurants located at Marina are fabulous!

Room Tip: rooms are large and quiet on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getaways031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Attended a business conference there last week. Hotel is well maintained and attractive and overlooks the inland waterway. It was convenient for a business meeting but I wouldn't like it for a vacation since it's not on the beach. They offer regular shuttle service to the beach and back but still not the same as walking out to the ocean on your own. Waterscapes is one of their on site restaurants and we thought the food was excellent. The shrimp and grits are fantastic. There's also a Ruths' Chris on site. Overall service in the hotel, bar and restaurant was very good. Staff members are polite, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Most rooms have balconies but I'd request one on the back of the hotel. If not you'll be ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cats12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you cats12 for recognizing that the Mairna inn is a great spot for conferences. With 15,000 square feet of event space and a full service staff, we host several meetings and events including corporate & association meetings, weddings & social events throughout the year.

We realize that conference schedules are hectic so we are pleased that you took the time to experience our signature restaurant, WaterScapes which has been recognized locally, regionally and nationally for its local sustainability program. All items are uniquely prepared to enhance the natural flavors of the dish. Of course, Ruths Chris is always another option, located right outside our door.

You are correct, we are not located directly oceanfront, but we do provide a unique beach experience unlike any other resort in Myrtle Beach offering full services including transportation, chairs, towels and umbrellas and more to our guests.

And finally, thanks for recognizing our team members who work hard on a consistent basis to provide excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Three wonderful days at the Marina Inn at Grand Dunes. Super support from the staff the entire stay. Great facilities. Want to find a place to eat? Ask any of the valets. When you enter for the first time, don't look for a fancy bar type reception. Turn right and look for two actual victorian desks. That is the front desk(s) area. Elegant! The hotel bar is good, but not great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_in_Cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights at this hotel this month. It was by far one of the nicest hotels that we saw in the area, but would not be the nicest in other areas. It hosted one of the high school proms while we were there, and we thought this was pretty cool. The views of the pool and marina from the balcony are very nice, and access to the pool, indoor pool, sauna, and fitness center was easy. In fact, the only crowded area was the outdoor pool even though there were many families there on spring break. The concierge's service was very knowledgable and friendly (booked golf through them), as were the front desk staff. They have movies and games that you can borrow at the front. Location is good- close to the everything! An issue we had- it seems you have to call to set up daily housekeeping. We arrived on Sunday and no one came to clean our room until Tuesday (I told the front desk Monday night, and had to call twice on Tuesday at 10:00 am and 1:30 pm before anyone came at about 3:30 pm to clean the room. Odd this was they did not restock our empty bottles of body wash and shampoo). After that, housekeeping arrived daily without us calling and it was very good. For some reason my husband had trouble sleeping on the mattress, and it gave him back pain through his golf game the next day and he couldn't rotate through his swing as well. Hotel is average overall in my opinion, but better quality than others in the area (we checked out a few while searching for a Starbucks).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Hello Amanda C! We appreciate your very detailed review of your week long visit to Marina Inn!

We are a very unique resort in the Myrtle Beach area in that all of our rooms are oversized with outstanding amenities and balconies with views from all of our 200 rooms and a private access beach with full services for our guests. However, we are concerned about your housekeeping experience as we do provide daily housekeeping service so we do apologize about the mixup that happened.

Hopefully you and your family will plan a return visit to Myrtle Beach and the Marina Inn since based on your review, it appears that we provide all of the service and amenities that are important to your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was our first visit to Myrtle Beach and it was above and beyond our expectations! I researched all of the hotels in Myrtle, looking for the cleanest place to stay that had no issues and this my was the only one I found and they lived up to my expectations and then some! The pool was beautiful and clean, the rooms were super clean, the beds were very comfortable, the food was good at Waterscapes, the valet guys were so friendly and made you feel very welcome, and the shuttle bus driver was so sweet! Our check in was smooth and welcoming and wonderful! The kids had a blast in the pool! I can't say enough about the staff and how they go above and beyond to make our stay memorable. If your looking for the perfect vacation, look no further...Marina Inn Grande Dunes is the one and only place I will ever stay in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the whole place! Great Views all the way around! We had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ICC1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
ICC1133 - Thank you for sharing your wonderful Marina Inn experience with the TripAdvisor family. We are always very pleased when our guests positively recognize our team members. It is their hard work and enthusiasm that ranks the Marina Inn so highly with our guests. Thanks again for sharing and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Housekeeping service was absolutely horrible. It was the worst out of all the hotels we travel to and we travel a lot! They never came on time even when we called in ahead of time in the morning especially with a small toddler who needed to nap in the afternoon and so we requested early service. We found a ton of mold and mildew in the bathroom upon checking in on our first day. We called housekeeping and the lady that came to clean the mildew had a huge attitude problem. After that episode we didn't even bother to deal with the mediocre service the hotel had to offer. We will not be returning to this hotel. It is a third class hotel. We will be posting this review on other travel sites as well so that people know how overpriced and mediocre this place is.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRShelley, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
AP - Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation experience on TripAdvisor. Obviously we are very concerned about your housekeeping experience at the Marina Inn. The team strives to provide excellent service in all departments so we apologize that we failed you in this area. We are also displeased that that this experience kept you and your family from exploring other wonderful services that the Marina Inn provides. It is very unfortunate for us that you feel that we are a third class hotel when we have so many loyal guests that return on a regular basis.

Thanks again for your feedback, AP. Rest assured that your service issues will be addressed to avoid this situation in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
5.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Property: Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing