We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had an amazing stay at Marina Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #6 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had such a wonderful and memorable week at the Marina Inn. We have very high standards when it comes to choosing a clean hotel. The Marina Inn did not disappoint!! Everything about our stay was so perfect!! Thank you to Marina Inn for doing an impeccable job from the beautiful decor, very comfortable beds, to the salt water pool!!! What a great job on a very clean place to stay. We will definitely be back. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marleygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Bot, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Marleygirl3, We are so happy you had such a memorable week while here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes! We appreciate the kind words in regards to the cleanliness of your room as well as the comfortable beds. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our salt water pool as well. Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your positive experience and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

873 - 879 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Location is nice-on the marina and golf course. Much better option than on the boardwalk/beach. Nice outdoor pool, restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Rooms are pretty large and include a refrigerator/desk/vanity. Bathroom was great-spacious with a rain-shower and separate tub. Unfortunately the room door doesn't block out hallway sound at all. It felt like there wasn't a door when people were passing by and talking at a regular level. Please give the maids doorstops so they can prop room doors open to clean rooms as opposed to having them use the door lock lever and have continuous slamming as they go in and out of the rooms. Was really put off at check-in when the clerk felt the need to say twice that we booked through a 3rd party. I inquired about purchasing an upgrade and the agent needed to call someone to ask and told that person again we booked through a 3rd party. If you don't like 3rd party reservations, you shouldn't give them your rooms to sell. We wouldn't have found you otherwise by the way. The attitude of 3rd party guests must be 2nd class wasn't appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelin2Anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Travelin: Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you also for being so thorough and your comments regarding our location, pool, restaurant, guest rooms and bathrooms. I am sorry that you found the corridor outside of your room noisy and am currently investigating to see if the threshold needs adjusting and anything else that could cause the noise penetration. Great recommendation on the doorstops…we are implementing due to your suggestion! Thanks. By the way, we are very committed to our third party partners and I am truly sorry if this did not come across during your conversation with our desk. There are times when reservations are made thru one of our partners that changing the accommodation is not possible due to the contractual agreement…however these details should never affect you, the customer. If the upgrade was available, we should have offered it to you with an upgrade fee that was appropriate. Thanks again for staying with us and for your favorable review. We look forward to your return in the near future!! All the best, David Nelson, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The resort was beautiful and spotless. On the Intracoastal Waterway and a PGA golf course, away from the hustle and bustle of the Boardwalk. Shuttle service to private beach area, with chairs, towels and umbrellas provided, a place to grab lunch and restrooms/changing rooms. Short drive to Broadway on the Beach and other attractions. The staff was exceptionally welcoming and professional. Absolutely loved it and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Good morning Tracy T. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the Marina Inn and reached out to us to share your thoughts. Our staff takes great pride in the Resort and I'm sure that is why it is reflected in their "exceptionally welcoming" and professional behavior. It was also nice to hear that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities that we offer at the resort in addition to visiting some of the attractions here in Myrtle Beach that are conveniently located to us. We thank you for taking the time to share such positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again next time your in the area.
Eleanor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a nice hotel. Spacious rooms and friendly staff. I will repeat that the staff was super friendly and helpful. I did like the go green incentive. I did not like the fact that you cannot load and unload your own luggage with the use of the valet dolly. The outdoor pool was just okay - not big enough. The lobby coffee was out of coffee most mornings I went to get some. All in all, I was happy with the stay and it would get 5 stars if the location was right on the beach and it was geared towards children.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna H, Front Office Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Gina S, Thank you for writing a review about your experience here at the Marina Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our rooms and the staff made you feel at home. I apologize that you were not happy with us unloading and loading your luggage. Our property is a AAA 4 Diamond property and that dictates that we not only open your car doors and welcome you but we must also unload your luggage and guide you to your room so that you feel how important you are to us. I also want to apologize that you didn't feel that we are geared towards families. We have our kids activities daily to assist in keeping the kids busy so you can relax and then we also have a complimentary shuttle that takes you to and from the beach. These services are provided so that you can kick back and really feel like you are on vacation and we will do all the work for you. We sincerely appreciate your time and look forward to seeing you again next time you and your family are in the Myrtle Beach area..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Marina Inn at Grand Dunes. It is wonderful place to stay. Our room very comfortable even with a large family. The pool is great and the shuttle service to the beach is easy and convenient. The front staff is very courteous and very helpful with any questions or concerns we had. We will be staying there again!!

Room Tip: Room was very quiet. Never heard any one around us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mag1295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Bot, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

mag1295, Thank you so much not only for your wonderful feedback regarding our property but your continued patronage! We are so happy you had decided to stay with us again during your travels to the Myrtle Beach area this year. Thank you again for the positive feedback regarding the comfort of our rooms as well as our pool and shuttle service to the beach. We do hope to welcome you back to your home away from home again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Can't wait to return. Beautiful room w full kitchen. Pool was great w kids. Has divider to keep them in 3 feet. Very kid friendly. Close to fun. Rooms soundproofed well. Clean and staff was friendly. Highly recommend

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank wcarter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Bot, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

wcarter13, We are already anticipating your next arrival as we can't wait for your return either! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We were very happy to hear that the layout of our pool worked for you and your children. Thank you again for the positive comments regarding our rooms and facilities. We will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Rooms are fine. Traveling to and from the beach, done perfectly very little wait and the guys working the shuttle are fun and on time. There is a call box at the beach so the longest we waited was like 5 minutes tops. The shuttle is air conditioned so really for the value on not being not he beach far out weighs what it costs to be directly on the beach. The location is perfect, centrally located but just outside the hustle so it's easy to get places and most everything you are looking for is within minutes drive. The pool is a little small but definitely manageable. They have a couple of restaurant options which are very good. They have a great little sports barish set up right on the intercostal which has fairly priced for and good cocktails. The view can't be beet, overlooks the intercostal with the golf coarse just past that. Pretty nice. Then Ruth cris is literally on the property so you have a nice steak option in addition to their signature restaurant. Really the facility is a great place to stay and the value is pretty darn good.

Hear goes the stuff that just made them miss the mark...
Check in (we cannot guarantee you can be next to the other people traveling with you). Ok I get it under promise over perform great philosophy however as we sat and waited for 4 hours (check in is 4 we should up at noon) you would think we where pretty early in the line. And told the same no problem sorry the rooms aren't ready but good news early bird gets the adjacent rooms. Until we went tot he rooms and "next to each other" was 5 very long doors away. Come on we sat for 4 hours and the natter complaining we were able to move to the room immediately next to our friends the next day. Basically they gave our room away and figured it out after some wrangling around.
Check out another bit of an annoying issue - we checked out a day early (and gave at least 2 weeks notice of it) and were charged for the entire stay. I questioned the desk and was told "that day was free anyways" wow seriously!!!! So after a little going back and forth and simply reiterating the fact we stayed 6 night ps and are paying the same amount as staying 7 nights doesn't make sense. We still qualified for the same free night deal either way.
Beach - we traveled in the first week of June and the water can be a little cold, manageable but a little chilly, so when we arrived to the private beach with towels, chairs, umbrellas, grill, and everything that sounds amazing we were greater with no towels, literally 2 portable toilets, a food truck and some sort of covered hutch to sit and eat. We arrived at the beach at 9-9:30 and told the towels usually show up at around 10 ok no problem. We'll around 11 I finally got totally irritated and called the hotel and demanded towels for the 3rd time. The rest of the beach items are old, dated and really with just a bit of an upgrade could be awesome. Probably the most frustrating part is another marriot run property is immediately next store and has amazing beach front amenities including pool, grill th works you would think would be easy enough to utilize the services even for a fee. Another day to the beach the water was to rough so we should up to a day that you could only go in to your knees and kids ankles. It really was pretty rough but again no problem but how about just put a beach conditions at the location where you catch the trolls to avoid the ride if you don't want to only go into the water to your ankles with 8 year old boys who were obviously disappointed with that.
The guy running the food truck at the beach could make some more money and make the beach goes so happy if he might walk on the beach and ask people if they would like a drink or something to eat. Instead he sat up there watching tv and playing on his phone. The same thing for the bar around the pool. Folks everyone there is on vacation, offer them a drink and something to eat and most everybody will take you up on it pay the hotel more money and give you better tips.

The place is just a bit frustrating however the place has great value and I would stay there again but man just a few changes to the service and you have yourself a winner

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nottravelingalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shauna H, Front Office Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Nottravelingalone, We really appreciate you taking the time the write such a detailed review of your experience with us. We are thrilled to know that you found our location to suite your needs and you had a chance to utilize our shuttle service to the beach. We do apologize that you weren't able to get into your room when you first arrived. Our check in time is any time after 4pm because our guest's check out time is at 11am and we have to give housekeeping sufficient time to get all of the rooms cleaned. When we are at full capacity it can be a challenge so we do offer all of our amenities for our guests to use while they wait if they do arrive prior to 4pm. We are also sorry that you were not able to use Marriott's amenities, we are not a Marriott property so unfortunately we cannot share our amenities. We thank you for all of your comments and hope to see you and your family again in the future. Have a Grande Day !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
7.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Myrtle Beach/Coastal Grand Mall
2.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £95 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing