We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family just returned from a 5 night stay and we were so disappointed. I had stayed at the Marina Inn in the past and it was a very different experience. First, I will say the staff at the front desk were very kind and welcoming. The location is very nice. It's away from the craziness of myrtle beach, but a quick shuttle ride to the beach.

The problem is the lack of attention to detail, which is what made this resort stand out in the past.
The moment we walked in we noticed the dirty glass doors that needed to be cleaned. The elevator doors needed to be polished and the floors in the elevator looked dirty.

Our room, a two bedroom suite, was in dire need of work. The carpeting was a mess and needs to be replaced, two cloth chairs at the counter were ripped open at the seams, and one of the couches upholstery was falling apart.

This was a two bedroom suite that could have slept at least 6 people, but we had three drinking glasses in the cabinet. There was no dish soap provided.

We did take the shuttle to the beach, which was very convenient. Here is where customer service was lacking as the driver did not even acknowledge us with a hello when we boarded the shuttle or explain how often the shuttle comes to pick you up from the beach.

On my last visit, there was staff to take food/ drink orders on the beach which is no longer available. That was an amenity that certainly gave you that resort feel, which is sadly gone.

The resort seemed so different from my last visit, that we asked if the resort was under new ownership and the answer was yes. The company now running this hotel has clearly cut corners every way possible and because of that I will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Bot, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Jill A, We appreciate you taking time to submit feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your most recent stay with us. We are so sorry the number of disappointing experiences you encountered during your stay with us. With the property going into its eight year we are aware that some of the furniture has reached is use and we are currently in the process of replacing the couches, chairs and even bedding in all of our units. This is something that we are extremely excited about and are eager for guests such as yourself to see. It is standard for all of our two-bedroom suites to be equipped with enough silverware, glassware and plates for up to four guests assuming that two adults are in the master bedroom which features one king size bed and it's own bathroom as well as two children in the second bedroom featuring the two queen size beds. When we are made aware that additional adults and/or children will be occupying a unit we typically will try to add some additional plates, glasses and silverware as we do want each guest to have what they need. Being in a beach environment with a great deal of humidity does cause our carpet to stretch and is something we are aware of and diligently work to rectify. Although we have been under "new management" for a little over two years you should know that the food and beverage experience at the beach is as it always has been serving light fare out of our cabana area, as it is a beach environment the items on the menu are sandwiches, wraps and burgers, food more conducive with being on the beach. Being under new management, should not and does not mean that we no longer care. A number of employees have worked at the property since it's opening and have remained with the new management company as we have seen them work diligently to improve the property, by purchasing updated furniture, upgrading the equipment in our fitness center, re-developing the business center are and even recognizing employees for a job well done. I am truly sorry we did not meet or exceed your expectations during your recent trip and do hope that you consider a future stay with us as we would love the opportunity to provide the experience you have received in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our third stay. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. It was spacious and very comfortable. I love the quiet location of this hotel. The beach shuttle is very convenient also.
My only issue is the Housekeeping is so inconsistent. We arrived at 4:30 and our room wasn't ready. The next 2 mornings the maid cane at 9 am, so the third morning we put the "do not disturb" sign on our door. We were ready and out if the room by 10 we removed the sign, but our room was never serviced. We had to call twice and wait over an hour before we had towels. Also, the towel situation was odd. Sometimes you would get a full set, sometimes only bath/hand/face. I travel extensively so I know what each bathroom should have, two of each. Apparently the housekeeping staff doesn't know that.
So, it's a lovely place with some minor frustrations. We'll probably stay there again and hope the kinks have been worked out.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank BLeon1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Bot, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

BLeon1227, We appreciate you taking time to let us know of your experience here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes during your visit to the Myrtle Beach area. First and foremost, thank you for continuing to choose the Marina Inn as your home away from home for the past three visits to the area. We are always so happy to see guests returning year after year. We were happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious two-bedroom suite as well as our quiet location. We also appreciate you taking time to provide constructive feedback regarding the housekeeping service you experienced. Providing top notch service from start to finish should be standard practice for us and we are so sorry to hear of your frustrations regarding the lack of attention to detail. We can assure you that your concerns regarding housekeeping are being addressed with our management staff in that department. You are absolutely correct in saying that each room should have at least two towels in the bathroom and this typically is the case here at the Marina Inn as well. We are honestly not sure where the breakdown occurred but again this is an area we are addressing as well. Thank you so much again for the positive feedback as well as the constructive feedback you have provided. We do hope to see you again as we want to be sure you receive the service you should have received during this visit to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family rented a two-2 bedroom condos here last week. We were in Myrtle Beach for a family reunion with my sister and her family and my mom. My sister was the one who selected this hotel. She stayed here in 2011 and had loved it. She and my brother--in-law were both disappointed in their selection after arriving this time around. Things have changed and not for the better. We inquired if the hotel was under new ownership and we learned that it was.

Here is what led to our dissatisfaction...

Check-in is listed as 4 PM. Only one room was ready at this time. It took until 5 PM for the 2nd room to be ready. In our opinion, this is unacceptable. After driving all day to get here, we expected to be able to get settled and to start enjoying ourselves. We were offered nothing (not even a free cocktail) for our inconvenience.

As soon as we entered our unit, we noticed that the carpeting was worn and it was bubbling up in different areas. There was also a tear in the carpet near our sofa. Our bedroom was missing a picture on the wall. We looked at the leftover brackets instead.

Complimentary coffee was supposed to be available each morning until 10 AM. At 9:40 AM on day 1, there was no coffee. On day 2, my husband went down at 7:30 AM to get coffee and it wasn't ready yet.

The "free internet" was worthless. It was nearly impossible to get a connection that didn't take forever to load a page on our computers & iPads. We needed to print out tickets we had purchased for a local attraction on-line. We decided to head down to the hotel's business center figuring we'd get a better connection using one of the hotel's computers. Once we arrived we were told that another guest (who was also unhappy with the internet connection) needed to conduct a business meeting so the computers there were off limits until 2 PM that day. Seriously? One guest got to inconvenience everyone else?

The pool towels were also a disappointment. They were paper thin. Clearly, they haven't been replaced in a long time. They were not luxurious in the least.

The hotel also seemed to be tight with the number of towels they left in each bathroom. We were 5 in our unit. We were left with only 4 facecloths each day and 4 hand towels. This wasn't a big deal in and of itself, but when you add it on top of everything else, it made a difference.

The same thing went for our kitchen towels. We were left only 1 paper thin dishtowel each day. And this was after we left a note asking for a spare.

Another tiny detail, but one that we all noticed. In our bathroom, we opened the bar of soap provided and placed it in the soap dish. We were in staying at the hotel for 6 days. Not once during our stay was the soap dish cleaned. Granted we were left with new bars of soap. It was just the lack of attention to details that got our attention. It would have been nice if at least once during our stay the soap dish had been cleaned and refreshed.

The hotel also asks you to recycle certain items. We were provided with a large blue bag to put all glass, plastic and paper in. We did do this and then put the bag out so that housekeeping would see it. They sure did. The blue bag was removed on day 2 of our stay and no new blue bag was left in it's place! I am guessing they wanted us to use the SAME bag for our entire stay. We then kept separating our trash and leaving it next to the regular trash can under the kitchen sink. Each day housekeeping removed the items that were left there, but never left a clean blue bag.

The hotel provides transportation to their private beach area. We all got on the bus to go there and the driver never even said hello or good morning. When my sister was here in 2011, there was also wait service on the beach. This time around there was not. Also, back in 2011 you could order food at the beach which was prepared by the hotel's beach club, now there is only a snack bar.

The televisions in the rooms were nice flat screen units, but the service was analog only.

The workout facility was subpar. For a large hotel, there were only 2 treadmills. There was not even a set of dumbbells for those wishing to lift weights. My husband and son, needed to head down the road to Gold's Gym and purchase guest passes so that they could squeeze in a workout each morning.

We never ate at the hotel so we can't speak about the food.

The landscaping leading up to the hotel's entrance was only so so. We would have expected beautiful flowers filling the beds. Instead most of the beds were filled with greens. This isn't necessarily bad, but it definitely didn't lead to a feeling that this was an upscale property.

Overall, our feeling was that the new owners are cutting corners wherever possible. We were all disappointed with our stay at the Marina Inn. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room facing the pool or the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kdgilman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidinMB, General Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear KDGilman: Thank you for taking the time to submit your Trip Advisor review. I have read thru your comments and am truly sorry that you had so many disappointing experiences during your stay with us. First, I am sorry it took a while for your second room to be ready when you arrived. I looked into the situation and I am not going to make an excuse…the hotel was busy but your room should have been ready. I am sure you were tired after such a long drive…I apologize for your inconvenience.
The carpet in your suite has been repaired. I am sorry it was not stretched prior to your stay with us. The heavy humidity in our beach environment can cause carpets to stretch. Thank you for notifying us of this situation so that is could be remedied.
Thank you for letting us know about the coffee. We serve complimentary coffee from 6am to 10am seven days a week. There have been times when there is so much demand at one time we could run out. We have begun adding a second carafe to keep this from happening in the future.
The internet in the hotel usually works quite well even during heavy usage times. We even added additional band width recently. I am sorry this was not your experience. We have contacted our internet provider to report your issues. I am also sorry you were unable to utilize our business center during this time. We had an emergency situation where a guest could only use a wired connection (not wireless) and the business center computers were being utilized. This is not the norm. As a result of this issue, we have decided to add an additional computer to our business center…the additional computer has been ordered as of this writing.
We have plenty of linen and terry and I am sorry you did not have enough for the needs of your family. Our terry inventory is fresh and plush and plentiful enough to handle what you needed.
Thank you for taking the time to recycle….this issue is cumbersome and time consuming for all involved…but we feel it is the right thing to do. All garbage is separated near our trash bins. Thank you again for being sensitive to this
I am glad you enjoyed our private beach. Please be aware that the food and beverage at the beach has always been the same. We have never cut back our service.
The workout equipment in our fitness center is all being replaced and should be received in the next few months.
The landscaping around the hotel has been augmented and updated. Please be aware that since the hotel has had new ownership (2 ½ years ago) many improvements have been implemented…not the opposite. I am sincerely sorry that you did not see the differences….that is most disappointing of all. Our staff cares a great deal about the experience of our guests. I am truly sorry we did not meet or exceed your expectations. I hope you might consider a return visit. Hopefully you will experience our caring, Southern Hospitality we are known for.
Sincerely, David Nelson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and two boys ages 7 and 11 recently visited Myrtle Beach and stayed at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. We saw the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and thought we could not go wrong. We were not disappointed and we were definitely happy with our choice for our 5 night stay in early August.
The resort is stunning and is well maintained. I love the Southern charm with "yes Mam" from the front desk attendants and the Valets!
The two bedroom suite was perfect for our family. The boys were so happy to have their own room with 2 queen beds, TV and ensuite. If you can, go for a 2 or 3 bedroom simply to get some privacy. Everyone loved this.
The condo was well equipped with a full kitchen with all of the accessories (pots, pans, cutlery, dishwasher...etc) Nothing was missing. The laundry in the condo was also very handy. Housekeeping was fantastic. It was also a nice touch to give $5 credit to the restaurant downstairs for each day you chose not to take the housekeeping service.
The marina view was very breathtaking. To wake up to that everyday was something special.
It was so nice to have an indoor pool since a few days were rainy. The outdoor pool area was also beautiful and the service from the bar at the poolside was top notch!
The resort could do with a few touch ups like new carpet and some fresh paint, but that can easily be worked on and did not affect our stay at all.
Our family is planning to go back to Myrtle Beach again and will definitely go back to Marina Inn. You cannot go wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Marina view and on a higher level are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony_Bot, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Sharon S, it is great to hear that you and your family had a fantastic time here at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes. It was great to hear you were able to enjoy the luxury and privacy that our 4 diamond resort has to offer and that is what we hope to accomplish with every guest. We were also very happy to hear you were could experience the fantastic views of the waterway. maintaining the four-diamond standards for our guests is always a top priority for us and is something we continually work towards so we can assure you your comments regarding the carpet and fresh paint have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Myrtle Beach and thank you for the great feedback about the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

this whole place charges very adult prices on everything run with very young adults with very poor service skills. just for starters I've been asking " cherie" for two days for to email me a copy of the bill because the printer didn't work at the concierge office... I have not even received a reply email..their were several other families traveling together with about 8 teenage boys playing baseball a tournament apparently going on in August.. for days these 7 or 8 boys ran around the resort cursing yelling and screaming diving in the pool jumping in next to little kids.. while their overweight parents sat around with their radios playing so loud that many got up and left eventually.. so you can see why the kids have no manners or courtesy toward other people..Their parents did not either. .. for days we asked the hotel staff to do something about it.. we had to ask them because even though they were walking around and aware they never stopped it. they did not do much because it did not change at all whole time we were there. If you're going to charge this much you can't be afraid to approach people that I have no class & tell them to knock it off. Which some of us eventually did. .. this hotel did nothing rather than argue with guest that are ruining everybody else's vacation..garbage cans were often over flowing at the pool also.

Room Tip: 1 whole tower overlooks the rooftop air conditioners that run non stop which means when you're o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently spent three nights at Marina Inn before attending a work-related convention in Charleston. I was searching for a quiet and relaxing stay at a beach to escape my stressful and hectic job. I had initially reserved a beachfront room at a nearby chain hotel, but at the last minute I found endless negative reviews on Trip Advisor that caused me to cancel that reservation. I was desperate to find a room just days before my trip and Marina Inn had a last minute booking special that fit my budget. I was worried that not having an oceanfront view would be a disappointment, but I was pleasantly surprised. I had a sixth floor room overlooking the intracoastal waterway and the surrounding pastoral countryside, which was exactly the peaceful view I needed. Marina Inn's property is lovely and well-tended and service is outstanding. There were so many things that I was thrilled with -- the spacious, upscale bathroom with large tub and glass walk-in shower, the balcony, the comfortable king bed, the quiet property (I slept like a rock), and the pleasant staff. By far my favorite thing was the private beach. It's a 5-minute shuttle ride away, then a brief walk through a quiet pine forest, and then over the boardwalk to the beach. The beach attendants were very courteous and I had a lovely 2 days relaxing in the provided chairs and umbrellas. My only complaint about the beach area is the the toilets (which are port-a-toilets in a trailer setup) were backed up and not working properly while I was there, which was a little unpleasant. However, everything else about the beach service was incredible and just what I needed.

One thing I enjoyed was that Marina Inn allows you to hang a tag on your door declining housekeeping service to conserve resources, if you wish. I didn't need much service during my brief stay, so it was nice to be able to come and go as needed and not have to secure my possessions as I normally would when leaving for housekeeping. Every night that you do this, you earn a $5 credit toward hotel food/beverage services.

My only other negative issue is that when I arrived late on Saturday evening after a very long travel day, I pulled up under the portico to partake in the valet parking. There were two valets that seemed busy with guests coming and going for dinner and a few other families that were arriving with luggage. They made eye contact with me several times, but never once acknowledged me or tried to help me. After I watched them wait on several other cars that arrived after I did, I gave up and parked myself quite a ways from the main entrance and then drug my heavy luggage through the parking lot and up to the lobby area. It was frustrating, but it's really my only complaint (along with the beach bathrooms). The rest of my stay was so nice and peaceful that this slight was quickly forgotten.

I don't know that I will find myself in the Myrtle Beach area again, but if I do I will definitely try to make a stay at Marina Inn fit my budget.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the intracoastal waterway are quiet with a pastoral setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lms68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear IMS68,
Thank you for your detailed comments and review of your recent stay with us at the Marina Inn. We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate your needs last minute after cancelling your reservation at the beachfront resort. There are so many places to choose when visiting Myrtle Beach and we thank you for staying with us. It is nice to hear that you were able to enjoy the serenity and the beautiful views our resort has to offer and that our beach front access and services provided there allowed you to relax and enjoy your day. I would like to apologize for the welcome that you received when you arrived. I was surprised to hear this as our team members are focused on delivering excellent service and the lack of attention is not common practice. I do appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us and sincerely hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I have traveled to Myrtle Beach many times over the years and generally can't wait to get out of there. But not this time.The Marina Inn is first class in almost every respect. We received a very good rate for a two bed queen room overlooking the ICW. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. Check in took longer than I would have liked as the receptionist also wears a concierge hat which can slow down registration dramatically.

We didn't eat in any of the hotel restaurants, although we were told they are excellent, opting instead for the Ruth's Chris on the campus and also excellent. We did have room service 2 mornings though, and breakfast was served on time exactly as ordered, well presented and delicious to boot. The cheerful breakfast delivery person was typical of the attitude and efficiency of the staff throughout - Five Star.

So why couldn't I find it in my heart to give the Marina Inn 5 stars overall? After a sweaty morning of golf, and a mid afternoon business meeting all I could think of was a long cool draft beer. "I'm sorry" said the apologetic barmaid, "the CO2 machine is broken".

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIExec, Manager at Marina Inn at Grande Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Brian R,
What a great compliment that your stay with us at the Marina Inn was "first class" and that you weren't in a rush to leave as you have been in the past. Our staff works hard and takes pleasure in maintaining the cleanliness and beauty of the resort in addition to providing a level of service and respect as our guests deserve nothing but the best. I hate to hear that you did not have the opportunity to dine in our award winning Waterscapes restaurant during your stay. The food is just as delicious and well presented as your rooms service orders were. I'd like to thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and acknowledging them as "Five Star". This means the world to us and we love to be able to share such positive feedback with them. I hope that your next stay with us will be just as memorable. We'll make sure to have a nice cold beer waiting for you in our Reflections bar. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and other travelers in the TripAdvisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,355 reviews
9.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
4.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,064 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £91 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing