We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not feel like you were in Myrtle Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Ranked #4 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Did not feel like you were in Myrtle Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Went to MB for work and enjoyed the hotel so much decided to extend my stay into the weekend and have my husband come meet me. The rooms were top notch. The service was amazing. You can rent dvd's, they gave me a running map, complimentary snacks, and the list goes on and on. Because it was the off season our rooms were around $125 a night which is a bargain. I would recommend this to families, couples, or for business. Ruth's Chris is next door to the hotel so you never need to leave the property.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshelton22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,172
    297
    114
    47
    20
See reviews for
593
565
34
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

My fiancee and I are holding our wedding at the Marina Inn at Grande Dunes in mid June. We went to Myrtle Beach during Christmas Break to meet with the coordinators and to decide on sites for the Rehearsal dinner and Wedding Reception. We were so impressed with the grounds and the food at the Marina Inn that we decided to hold both dinners right on site! I honestly don't know if the wedding party will need to leave the resort during our 3 nights' stay. Ruth's Chris Steakhouse shares the grounds with Marina Inn and the restaurant , Waterscapes, within the hotel is upscale, classy with impeccable service and amazing food. In fact, although we stayed on Christmas night and most of the regular staff wasn't at the resort, we couldn't find fault in a single thing from the check-in to the wine and cheese basket in our room to the long and helpful tour guide the next morning. The only thing that stuck out was when my fiancee ordered a vodka and soda during dinner and they brought him a shot of vodka and a glass of soda! We are from the Boston area, so this SC law of separation was new and funny to us. Though the waiter had a hard time understanding what we wanted, the bartender came to our table to speak with us and made everything right.
As I said, I am a bride to be, planning a wedding 5 states away. The resort manager, our sales manager and the hotel coordinator are fabulous beyond words. Despite my sometimes "bridezilla" attitude, from group golfing, to the in-room spa service, and the on-site ceremony, they have all kept a smile on their faces and found a solution for every worry or desire a bride could ask for. I have no doubt that our 30 guests will be as happy at the Marina Inn on our wedding weekend as we will be!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koconnor36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

We decided last minute to get away for the weekend and found a superior deal at the Marina Inn. We breezed through checkout and found our room to be immaculate and equipped with every amenity, plus some that we were not expecting. We received service with a huge smile when we called (e.g., for extra coffee creamer and an ashtray....) and the service at the restaurant was absolutely impeccable. The view was amazing as the sun set, and we thoroughly enjoyed the serenity of it all. The Valet Service was more than helpful, as well. We were pleased overall with the entire stay. We are planning to go back soon - we had a great weekend without the kids!

  • Liked — Beautiful Resort, excellent amenities
  • Disliked — Parking was a little awkward (but I had a sprained ankle... that makes a difference)
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjohnson431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

Stayed here for a weekend in September with friends, and it was really nice. Our friends needed a break while their 6 month old baby stayed with Grandma, and my husband and I were celebrating 20 years together. The gentleman I booked with on the phone asked if we were celebrating an occasion, so I replied...and when we got in our room there was a cocktail glass filled with gourmet candies and chocolate dipped strawberries in our room and a nice card! And the room--! There was a fireplace, glass front stone tile shower, two person whirlpool tub and separate dual sink vanity area. A kitchenette with full sized appliances, stools and pass through bar and a sliding door/ window wall leading out to a large veranda with cushioned chaise lounge, chair and small table. I've included a snapshot of the view from ours. The bed was large, fresh, clean and sooo comfy. The pool area with its infinity edge and poolside bar service was just the pampering we needed. One of the things we were looking forward to the most was spending some time on the beach...and here's the only snag: although there is a private beach, it's off-site and accessible by shuttle. On the plus side, there's refreshments there, outdoor sprayer showers, towels and lounges with umbrellas. Towels were also provided at the pool. All in all, a luxury resort that lives up to its promises. If you're going for the golf--the greens looked spectacular.

  • Liked — They seem to know what people expect in upscale accomodations, and they deliver.
  • Disliked — The private beach is off-site & accessible by shuttle. The amenities once there, though, are great.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilaclaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near ocean city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

The Marina Inn gave us simple touches of class on top of a five-star level of service. At check in, we sat in cozy chairs at a concierge desk. Our bell captain explained innumerable features of the property and surrounding areas. Our room was huge and ornate with big windows and a beautiful waterway and sunset view. Housekeeping responded in about sixty seconds to our glass breakage problem. Bed was turned down and next day's weather and info delivered with chocolates. Property had a private ocean beach about a mile away: transportation, chairs, and umbrellas provided. Free valet parking, fast elevator service, the list goes on.
Waterscapes restaurant on site was one of the finest upscale restaurants we've ever been in and the courses were uniquely prepared and presented.
Anchor Cafe, located on the marina, served excellent lunches and dinners, including amazing nachos grande.
We recommend this hotel to everyone without reservation.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — trip was too short
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fullofwitNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Thanks to all the great reviews on this site for the Marina Inn, we decided to stay there. We were not disappointed. Two bedroom Caribbean Villa was beautiful and very large. The hotel itself was lovely with indoor and outdoor pools. Do not be discouraged by its off-beach location. Beach is only a few minute drive or shuttle ride, plenty of parking, towels, lounges and umbrellas plentiful and free of additional charges.
The location is close to everything restaurants, Broadway at the Beach, Barefoot Landing.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — Room size and amenities
  • Disliked — Not enough shade by the pool.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank melof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

Overall, I loved this hotel. It was very modern and the decor was great. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were clean and spacious. The best thing about the place in my opinion is the pool and the pool bar. The pool has two sections divided by an infinity edge. They also have two hot tubs outside and one at the indoor pool. You can sit by the pool and the waiters come by and get you drinks and you can order food. You can charge everything to the room. ( Which can be dangerous!)

All of the food that we ate at the place was excellent. We ate dinner the first night at the Anchor Cafe, on the waterway. If you like fine dining, eat right there at Waterscapes. It is expensive, but they have coupons going on right now. The food by the pool is high quality also.

Now for the few bad things. The hotel outsources its laundry and linen service. We never had washcloth's in our room without asking. When I called the first time, they told me that the towels would not be back until tomorrow. I called three times and asked for a manager. The manager never called back, but they finally found several washcloth's. I had to do this each day. Also, several times, the pool ran out of towels and it was only 11:00 AM and there were only four of us at the pool. The housekeeping service needs some work and managers need to be more attentive to the customer's concerns.

Also, they offer a shuttle service to the pool and they have beach chairs and towels. The towels at the beach were just as scarce. The first day we were at the beach, there were no chairs left. However, they were letting people get extra chairs to put their pocketbooks and bags on and other customers had no chairs to sit on.

I don't mean to sound like I am a difficult traveler, but at $229.00 a night, I expect good service and a fresh washcloth after being at the beach all day in the sand.

Overall, I would return to the hotel, but the service needs some work for these prices.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Housekeeping
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandboyConcord_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Myrtle Beach - Broadway At the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
5.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn at Grande Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn at Grande Dunes

Property: Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Address: 8121 Amalfi Place, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-8157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Inn at Grande Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to top area attractions; AAA 4 diamond rated since 2007 and a 2011 TripAdvisor Top 25 Hotel in the US. Amenities include private access beach with full amenities; pools, whirlpools, sauna, workout facility, two golf courses and tennis onsite & summer children's activities. Additional amenities include: Wi-Fi, valet parking, concierge and in-room spa services. Dining options range from casual to elegant and include our signature restaurant WaterScapes and Ruths Chris also located onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Inn at Grande Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Inn At Grande Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel Myrtle Beach
Marina Hotel At Grande Dunes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing