We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riptide Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myrtle Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
22
30
18
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
30
18
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach condoactivities directoractivities roomstory parking garagebeach frontwithin walking distanceshut downview of the oceaneach morningwould definitely stay here againoff seasontimesharebroadwayvacationbalconypoolstrash
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My family stayed at Riptide the week of August 24th. We had a great vacation! What a great location, oceanfront, family oriented, clean, and well maintained. The resort is an older one, but very quaint, and felt like home. The office staff was so friendly and went out of their way. I would definitely stay here again. My family had the best vacation!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnnMarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W, Manager at Riptide Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are so glad your family had a great time and hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family of 4 stayed 5 days in this hotel and it was amazing! We felt like we were at home except we didn't have to do any work and we had the beach. The office staff offered the southern hospitality that we are used to, being from Tennessee by coming over to make sure we had everything we needed...what a personal touch! We felt very relaxed and comfortable. The view was breathless and even better than that was the friendliness of the all the staff! It was an unexpected value and great time..like a diamond in the rough so to speak. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone and can't wait to go back. This was by far the best vacation we have ever had. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: The view is better from the rooms higher up.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W, Manager at Riptide Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a wonderful review. We are glad you and your family had a great time here at Riptide and hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We traded through RCI for the week my family always goes down here (they're owners). I must say that if I had booked this for another time, I would not be as satisfied. The people that go the same time every year have grown up together and become like family- we all look forward to being together for a week!! However, over the years, this place has changed management and staff and has gone down hill.

Our room was laid out nice (we were in the B building- ocean front). The bathroom in this unit is to the right when you first walk in. It has the sink and vanity outside the shower and toilet area which is nice for getting ready with multiple people in one unit.
*Please note: NOT all units are like this. The one my parents stay in does not have this. That unit is in the C building.*

When you first walk in, there is a kitchen area with a stove and range, microwave, fridge and minimal but sufficient dishes, pots, pans, utensils for dining in.

The dining area/living room has a large table with 4 chairs, a loveseat and pull out couch. This unit had ample space but please note the living rooms and dining areas in some units are not as large!

The back had a bedroom with a balcony off of it. (This is standard from what I've seen in all the B building rooms minus B-7 which is a townhouse).

The pools are nice, especially the one at the B building. There is also a hot tub over there. The D building pool seems to not be heated at all.

The grills are awful. We had burgers, hot dogs, chicken cooked on there. We were out there for over an hour and some of the food still wasn't done!

Last year the activity director was awesome. There is a new one this year- young and quite rude. The activities were not given age guidelines or time frames (ex. ages 5-10; approx. time 30 minutes). I had two six year olds trying to make woven bracelets that even adults had trouble with. The older kids needed lots of help too.

My kids enjoyed the scavenger hunt, but after the bracelet fiasco (my kids waited an hour for help, that never happened while given a toddler book to look at. They can actually read and that book kept their attention for maybe 3 minutes!) When I said something, the activity director was very rude and said smart comments- in front of children!! While she helped two older kids the whole time instead of the younger ones. I'd had enough after an hour! She should have gone around and helped each kid for a few minutes. I did say something to the front desk manager and she said "Everyone has said good things about her. I don't think there's a problem." Thanks for being helpful.... I'm not "everyone else".

They don't do waterpark trips anymore either (that was the highlight when the now parents went there as kids). So I made arrangements for our group of 30 some to go to Nascar Speedpark, Myrtle Waves, and the Pavilion rides at Broadway at the Beach. Dealt with Teresa there in group sales. She was awesome at helping us get our package in a short amount of time at a great rate! (about $50 per person for all 3 parks plus lunch at the waterpark and nascar speedpark).

The activity director could and should try to set up this kind of thing and see if enough people sign up to go. People would have to provide their own transportation but it would be a nice alternative to the waterpark trip they used to offer.

Parking is tight. It is hard to find a place around the property but the parking garage isn't too far away. There's also outside parking around the garage for tall vehicles or large trucks.

Room Tip: B rooms are spacious and nice. Not too impressed with most rooms in C building. Have only been in a few D building rooms- they seem ok. The townhouses are nice and spacious with large kitchens. Be wary of "2 bedroom" units. Some have bunk beds or two twin beds when you walk in the door. An accordion-type door separates that room from usually the kitchen area. The bedrooms in A3 had one large queen, maybe king size bed. The other had two twin beds. B-7 townhouse is the nicest room on the whole property!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amandaj108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W, Manager at Riptide Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review. I'm sorry you had an issue with the grills, we recently purchased them however with the salt air I know it ages them very quickly. We do have a new activity director this year and she it trying hard to come up with new ideas for all ages. We due require children under 8 years old be accompanied by a parent so we can have time to assist everyone. Again thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Been coming here for 30 years. Love the location and being right on the beach. Nothing too fancy but all the needs for a good family vacation. Not over crowded like most high rise resorts. Parking is tight but ample parking lot across street.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank greg18232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W, Manager at Riptide Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for writing a wonderful review about our property. We are a small property and very family oriented. We strive to ensure you have fun at your home away from home. Thank you again and hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for a quick vacation.
Parking was a nightmare. People were very selfish with double-parking etc. The parking garage is not directly across the street but about half a block away.
Front desk staff was accommodating but our cleaning maid did not speak any English so communication was a huge problem. Staff at the front desk admitted some of the staff did not know English.
Rooms had a nice layout but were dated and dingy.
Hotel next door had an outdoor bar that played loud music and karaoke. We could not enjoy the balcony in peace.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cameron1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews