We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Ranked #36 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed a week for school vac in April, using Hotwire for an ocean view room ($48). We got there and I read reviews after the fact as HW doesn't tell you where you're going till after you book and pay. I was leary about some negative reviews, but the place was paid for and the rate cheap enough that if it was NG, we could just take the hit and leave.

We were pleasantly surprised and found that a mere $20 upgrade gave us ocean view suite with full kitchen, this unit for a total of $68 a night was great. Yeah, the shower did drain slow, and yes the parking lot was a little hike, but for this price on the ocean in a clean place it was easy to take.

Also concerned about area security and spoke to several MB cops on the BW. Always there in day and visible, they advised to keep to BW area, avoid side streets, especially at night and it would be fine. Did same and all was fine. Couple of pan handlers on beach who left with stern "no" or simple eye contact avoidance.

I've been to ocean front hotels up and down east coast from FL to ME and this was the best value that I remember.

Room Tip: Per Tripadvisor suggestions we stayed on 2nd floor to use stairs and avoid elevators, this worked gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Dear SPCAT,
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear you had a good time and found great value in our resort. Very happy that our staff was able to get you an upgrade for a nominal fee, and that you found the accomodations clean and to your liking. We do hope that you'll come stay with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    631
    285
    164
    144
See reviews for
1,052
561
54
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

was there last year in may , and this year (12) in september both time was Great , and i love the 9th floor ocean front view. friendly staff , also. cant wait for my next visit !! verry clean bathrooms, and great ocean views ! thanks bay view !!

Room Tip: 9th floor is lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richierichards8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear richierichards8,
Thank for writing a review about your stays at Bay View Resort. It is wonderful to hear that you are a return guest, and that we keep delivering the cleanliness and service you deserve on vacation. We too, can't wait for your return, and we do hope that it will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
267 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Haven't stayed here in a few years and probably won't make an effort to return. We picked it because we had a short notice trip and they had a good discount on a 1 room condo. Bathroom had many hairs in the tub, sink, and floor. Bed frame stuck out with sharp edges. Kitchen and living room was very clean. Broken elevator in parking.

Room Tip: Limit valuables. Safes are really small. Won't hold a purse and another item. Staff was very eff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmattship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear fmattship,
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at Bay View resort. We like to use reviews both good and bad in our constant effort to improve. I have spoken with housekeeping management regarding your bathroom upon checkin, and with maintenance regarding the bed frame. I do hope that the issues you mentioned would not prevent you from returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Booked through the hotel's web and got the fall discount... great price. Nice view from my hotel room which was ocean front on the 14th floor. I didn't need an outdoor pool since we were so close to the ocean so just having an indoor one was great. Checking in and out was easy. Prior reviews complained about the elevator. They were a little slow and sometimes skipped our floor which was weird but not enough for me to complain about. Housekeeping was daily. My only two issues were 1. housekeeping took away our used cups but never replenished them. No real biggie. 2. My immediate hotel neighbor seemed to be abusive to his family including yelling and cursing at them A LOT. He even hit someone around 5:30 am this morning. We only heard when he was yelling at them which was often. I know that's not the hotel's fault but bugged us to no end. We never heard our other immediate neighbors so I don't think the issue was the walls being too thin. I would go back and want to be on a high floor for the great view.

Room Tip: Higher floors for oceanfront have great views. Oceanview rooms had small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSR108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear TSR108,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Bay View Resort. I am glad to hear you had a good time, and found the accomodations to your liking. I am dismayed about your mention of your immediate neighbor. We do have a loss prevention officer on duty twenty four hours a day to help in situations like the one you described. We can also move your room if the current one is not to your liking. We are pleased to hear that you would return for another visit and hope that you do so soon as the weather stays nice and you can have the beach to yourself this time of year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I booked through Travelocity, and I asked for specific amenities..... Water slides for my son and an outdoor AND Indoor Pool, just in case it rained. I love being "AT" the Ocean, but not a big fan of being "IN" the ocean..... However THERE IS NO OUTDOOR POOL at this resort, and NO water slides... I am a little disappointed by the "Kid Activities" they consist of a "sprinkler"( BUT... that is a TRAVELOCITY REP ERROR) The resort itself is "OK" we got a "Condo" Oceanview 2 queen size beds and a sleeper sofa... All in all the room was surface cleaned ( I own a residential cleaning company so I am VERY PICKY) it does need some " Special Attention" to the details and DEEP CLEANED but for the most part it was acceptable. The pillows are "travel size" so if you like big fluffy pillows, bring your own. You CANNOT set your own room temperature below 69 in ANY of the rooms at this resort which upset me because I like it very cold in my room..... They did have a fan in the closet, and when I turned it on, it blew dust bunnies all over the room! The decor is outdated.... The elevators are VERY, VERY SLOW, and HOT... they are NOT air conditioned at all! The ice machines are located on floors 4 & 12 which is more than a little inconvenient.. I was pleasantly surprised to find that we did have a washer & dryer in our room which was very nice.... The parking is a block away which when raining was a bit of a pain... It would have been nice to have a Valet..... I am undecided about staying here again, BUT I did call Travelocity and they were VERY ARGUMENTATIVE AND UNHELPFUL in resolving the issue that THEIR Rep created by advising me this resort had all the amenities I had requested.....While not the worst place I have , I feel it is a bit "Pricey" for what I recieved, as there is NOTHING that jumps out to make this any more than a " just average" place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Dawn W, Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. We utilize every review good and bad in an effort to improve upon our resort. First let me apologize for the misinformation provided by Travelocity. I have reviewed the website and it is accurate, but unfortunately I can't replicate what you were told over the phone. I did pass your comments along to housekeeping, but you'll be pleased to know that our "winter cleans" will be starting next month, and each and every unit will be deep cleaned prior to our next busy season. Sorry to hear that you weren't able to utilize our shuttle to and from the garage during the rain. We do hope that you'll stay with us again so that we can show you a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I just got back from another year at the Bayview we spent 10 great days there and had great service and all the staff were great, Jessica on the front desk even remembered me from last year and even my name thats pretty good. The Bayview is in a great location easy to get everywhere you want to go eithier by walking or by car. Plenty of room in the rooms clean and well keeped. I would like to see an outside pool if they could. but I will be back next year for another great time . Thanks Again

Room Tip: I would get a ocean front condo a one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjforty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear tjforty,

Thank you for your tripadvisor review. It is one of the many places we gather information from our guests and use it to better ourselves for future guests. Glad to hear you enjoyed outstanding service from our staff and I'll be passing along your kind words to all, but especially Jessica. We too believe we are in a convenient location, and we are happy that you found the room to your liking. We can't wait to be your destination next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is the second time we've stayed here. The room was great, it had a separate bedroom with balcony from the family room which had it's own balcony. Large, fully furnished kitchen. The fridge (full size, like everything else) had a working ice maker which came in handy. We never waited for more than 3 minutes for an elevator. The pool and lazy river are quite small, but the beach is what we came for. You are in walking distance to the Boardwalk which gives you several dining choices and activities.

Room Tip: If it says ocean view, it probably isn't ocean front, but you will probably get 2 separate balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear TDW2002,

Thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. Glad to hear you enjoyed the accomodations on your second stay with us. Sorry to hear you found our pool facilities smallish, but as you said, you have the ocean a mere steps away. We certainly hope to host your next stay in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Property: Bay View on the Boardwalk
Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing