We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Ranked #39 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel...just need more elevators. Waited way to long for the elevator every day coming from the 18th floor. Room was nice...great view. Nice firework show, great location. A bit overpriced, especially with the elevator situation but I will most likely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sns2001nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We're thrilled you chose Bay View Resort as your vacation destination. As you may already know, we have plans to add a fourth elevator this fall. We believe this will have a huge impact on guest satisfaction.

Keep your eyes peeled for last minute promotions, and we hope to see you again following the completion of our new elevator!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,144 - 1,150 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

The room was very nice and clean. The view of the ocean was excellent. Very nice to sit on the balcony and watch the people down at the beach. It felt very safe here. Even though the parking is a block away, it felt safe to come and go from the secured building that you park in. The room was a little small. Would have been nice to have some table space, but really, not much time is spent in the room anyway... Before coming, I read many complaints about the elevators, but did not experience that many delays with them. The thermostat did not work properly, but I found by putting the heat on, I could control it. All in all, a very nice, clean, and safe hotel within walking distance to many restaurants and shops on the Boardwalk. Love walking out of the hotel and onto the beach. I would highly recommend this hotel. It would be a great place for those with children also.

Room Tip: This beach front room was a conjoining room. We did not need conjoined rooms. It was a little small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you and your family during your beach vacation. I'm happy the resort fully met your expectations. Please know that if you ever need more space, we also offer 2, 3 and 4 bedroom condos!

Thanks again for your referral and we look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have vacationed in Myrtle Beach for 10 years, and stayed at Bay View the last 2 years, and glad we found them. The service, facilities, and location are excellent. The staff is very accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third or fourth floor, so the days the elevators run slow you can take the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RichardD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate your loyalty over the last two years. It is our goal to be the number one resort on the Grand Strand!

We look forward to serving you during your next stay.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Bay View Inn for a two night stay. There were five people in our party. The hotel is clean and in a great location, with easy walking access to two piers and downtown Myrtle Beach. We were on the 17th floor and had an amazing view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We did have problems with the keys, with all of us needing keys reprogrammed at one time or another. We were individually all stuck outside the room in the hallway when our keys failed after being reprogrammed from a previous failure. Speaking to staff there confirmed that this was a common problem. We wound up getting extra keys programmed so we would have an extra when the inevitable failure occurred. We did experience the elevator issues that everyone else wrote about but the hotel is installing a fourth one so that's being taken care of. The check-in driveway is always packed; this needs to be addressed as there were cars backed up in the street waiting at checkout time, we had to wheel our luggage to the parking deck a block away to avoid a long wait. Knowing these issues, and also how to get around them, we would still stay there again and plan to in the future.

Room Tip: We had a great view from the 17th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary_and_Sandy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

Thank you for choosing Bay View Resort for your short beach getaway. As you are aware, the keys that we use are a plastic card with a magnetic strip. Unfortunately, these are sensitive to many electronic devices and storing them near cell phones, magnetic money clips or other such items can easily deactivate them. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused your family.

We're happy you were able to enjoy the resort and it's location, despite these issues. We look forward to serving you during your next stay.

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a great place to stay. the pool area was nice, we walked to the boardwalk area, and the beach was right out of the back door. The room was nice. we had a queen bed in a bedroom and a sofa bed in the living room. Everything was perfect, except the elevator situation. we were on the 10th floor. we felt like we hit the lottery when we got an elevator going up OR down in less that 15 minutes of waiting. On the day of checkout, we waiting for an elevator for 45 longgggggg minutes. every one that actually stopped on our floor was packed with people and carts from wall to wall because it would go all the way up and stop on every floor coming down and it was just full by the time the doors actually opened for us. everyone we ran into complained and joked about the elevator situation. they are in the process of adding another elevator but just adding one more will NOT resolve this issue when it's super busy. overall my stay was great and i will stay here again should i visit myrtle beach again. I would recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: if you can get on a first level or lower level floor, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nita0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologize for your experience with our elevators. As you know, we have received approval to construct a fourth elevator to alleviate the long waits during peak check-in times. Upon the completion of construction, we will be able to reprogram how the current elevators operate, to be able to service the entire building more efficiently.

I'm happy you were able to enjoy the location and amenities despite this inconvenience. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend. I booked the trip through booking.com web site and that's a different review (they charged fees that I wasn't aware of until later). Anyhow, back to this hotel.
Here are the pros and cons, in no particular order of preference.

Pros:
1. The views were spectacular. I would love to get this same room again. We reserved an OV room and were pleasantly surprised that the room had two balconies! One had a view of the city, and one showed a view of the beach and city. We got to see the sunrise and sunset from the room we had, and it's not very often you get that. It was a corner room. If we stay here again, I would try and get a corner OV room. It is worth it!
2. The room was nice. First off it was clean...a huge plus for me. I was very pleased, and I have very high standards. The bathroom was separate from the bedroom. That could be good or bad. It was just me and my husband, and I would've preferred the bathroom closer to the room. The room had a full kitchen with stove, refrigerator, icemaker, and dishes. The room had a washer and dryer, which is worth it when you come back to the room with those wet towels and bathing suits. ;) You don't have to put them on the balcony to dry. That was a plus! The room also had a safe to store your valuables. The instructions were very easy.
3. The hotel had free DVD rentals...yes I said free and it's not very often anything is free anymore. We rented a movie each night.
4. The hotel has a Starbucks! Well, that's the icing on the cake. You're at the beach, in a nice clean hotel that is convenient to the Boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, in the very heart of Myrtle Beach, and you have a Starbucks with full service and outdoor seating. Ah, so relaxing.
Cons:
1. The elevators were very slow. The staff and customers use the same elevators. It would be ideal if the staff could use just one of the elevators; I think it would go faster. Although, they have a sign that they're going to add another elevator...right now there are 3...there was no evidence of that beginning.
2. There was no outdoor pool or Jacuzzi.
3. The sofa was very uncomfortable. We brought out blankets and pillows and still found it uncomfortable watching a movie in the living room.
4. The parking deck is across the street and across another hotel, although it is a secure, covered parking deck with elevators.

Well, I also have to say that I usually don't give a 5-rating unless everything is perfect, so a 4 is really good for me. It was the next best thing to a Hilton brand hotel for me. ;) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We're thrilled you found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable. For future reference, all of the Oceanview Rooms are located on the corners of the building, so you will never have make a special request to get this location. As you are aware, we have scheduled the construction of a fourth elevator, and this project will begin in September and last 4-6 months. We believe this will eliminate the wait experienced during peak times. I'm happy this did not ruin your overall experience.

We look forward to serving you during your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I love this resort. Its ocean front, right on the boardwalk and always clean rooms. Elevators take alittle time but with all the families occupying the resort, thats to be expected. I have stayed here on 2 occasions and will definitely return for another soon! Great vacation!

Room Tip: Sunset View suites are just as nice as oceanfront. I just love this resort, period, any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TDaniels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corey S, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review for us on TripAdvisor!

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty. As you may already be aware, we have received approval to add a fourth elevator. Construction will begin in September and we believe this will have a huge impact on guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Corey S.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,017 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,948 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,062 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £45 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing