We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be for real!!!!!!!!! Not a resort!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Ranked #36 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This hotel is economy all the way. If you are use to quality, this is not it. We stayed the July30 - Aug2 and were digusted. The beds are close to the floor , no plushness(motel6 style. Beds were old fashion very cheap made us itch. The condos are indiviually owned so forget a refund once you are there. The pool area was nice but the elevators were extremely slow with no air condition. I would not stay here again. We stayed out late doing family stuff so we wouldnt spend time in this cheap room. The sofa was stained,bathroom floortile hadnt been mopped in a while. I dont know why they even name this dump a resort.If you like Motel 6 , you will love this place.I read the reviews and gave it a chance,bad decision.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,019 - 2,025 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

Try this resort, you will enjoy your stay. i highly reconmmend this place.
nice and clean. elevator a little slow, but well worth it. don't have anything
negetive to say. that's my place to stay for now on at myrtle beach.
beleive me i am a very pickie person.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sister4-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

QUICK & DIRTY:
The hotel had a great location. It was near a lot of restaurants with several putt-putt places(driving distance, not so much walking distance). Most of these places where on North Kings Hwy which runs parallel to the main street that the hotel is on.

My 9 month old daughter LOVED the little 1 foot deep kiddie pool (the hotel also has a small lazy river, a hot tub, a small pool (4 ft deep).

Negatives: Slightly cramped room, only 3 elevators for 19 floors, and parking is a block from the hotel (challenging for carrying infants, small children, and for the handicapped).

I'd consider staying there again if we stayed in a room within the first 6 or 7 floors, and when my daughter is old enough to walk/run (for when we have to cross the major street to get back and forth to the parking garage).

OUR ARRIVAL:
We were fortunate enough to squeeze in the small load/unload zone in front of the hotel which had a lot of traffic around 5pm.

TIP: Don't check in exactly at their check-in time. It WILL be a frustrating experience and a bad way to start off your trip. Plan to leave to that you arrive a couple hours AFTER check-in. This also ensures that your room is ready ( I read other reviews where travelers could not check-in early).

It's best to stay away from the hotel lobby during 3pm - 4:30pm or so (peak check-in time) and don't even think about trying to use an elevator during this time (long, long line of luggage carts with frustrated people waiting to get on the elevator).

CHECK-IN:
At check-in there was an additional fee that Priceline customers had to pay. It was around $24 (something to do with hotel amenities or whatever).

TIP: Call in advance and see if there will be any additional fees (if you used an only service such as Priceline, Expedia, etc.).

Also, ask for a room within the first 7 floors, if you opt for using the stairs instead of crowded slow-mo elevators.

OUR ROOM:
Our room (#1409) was clean but a little small in size. We had two double beds. The kitchenette (mini-sink, mini-fridge, microwave, and cabinets) was nice for washing dishes and storing baby food (my wife and I had our 9 month old daughter). This hotel does not have enough elevators (only three for 19 floors)! The ocean view was not a full-fledged ocean view, but I kind of liked seeing both the ocean and the city.

Also, parking was a block away from the hotel. We had to cross the main 2-lane street in front of the hotel. Depending on what time of day it is, this is a tough feat when dealing with infants and small children, (handi-capped individuals too I'd imagine) because there is a steady stream of traffic from noon on up til late.

TIP: There is a City-owned pay lot directly beside the hotel. Parking is free after 7pm or 8PM and before 10AM ( I can't remember). This was great for our last night (we checked out early around 9AM.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emanuel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Our initial impresion was not positive at all, front des personnel were very unfriendly not helpful at all, if there were 3 people standing there and you ask a question you get 3 defferents answers. THEY ALL VERY EXTREMELY UNFRIENDLY. be ready to wait until way after 3 pm to check in and then be ready to wait for a long time to get into your room, and then your room might not be ready housekeeping by stil be in there talking to eachoether. elevtors do not work in a place with 19 floors its like a joke. get ready not to have any housekeeping services NO FRESH TOWELS if you want to showers after you return to your room in the after noon, call the front ask to be told housekeeping only works until 3 pm so they the did not get to your room that sucks for you. we learned a lesson that we will never forget, for the $$$ tha you pay you could go down the street and get very nice services, this is not our first time in Myrtle beach but it was the first and last time at BAY VIEW.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy72010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

My family and I recently stayed at Bay View resort and had a wonderful time. It was my in laws first vacation in about 35 years so I was a little leary after I read some of the reviews. Thankfully, everything was great. The condo ( 4 bedroom) was spacious and had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. We didn't experience any of the problems most people have talked about with the elevators or parking. We may have had to wait a couple of minutes for an elevator, but the wait wasn't out of the ordinary for any building with elevators. The room service was great. I did have a few problems with the internet, but I didn't go to the beach to sit in front of my laptop.
Some people make the walk to the parking garage sound like a long distance, but it really wasn't bad at all and most of the time, we took the shuttle to the garage. We even got help unloading our vehicle when we arrived.
My only complaints would be that there isn't an outdoor pool and the neighborhood is a little noisey at night. But the noise isn't the fault of the staff or management of BayView. Maybe the city of Myrtle Beach should do something about that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmikiwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This was our first time in Myrtle Beach in over 19 years, so we used tripadvisor to help us choose our hotel. We stayed four nights June 12-15th for our daughter's high school graduation trip. First, the good: the room was a two bedroom, plenty of space for six people. The full kitchen was beautiful, and so was the bathrooms. The balcony was nice as well. The price we paid was reasonable, compared to some other places we called. Now for the bad: There are not enough elevators for this hotel-period. We stayed on the top floor, and it was ridiculous trying to get to and from the room. It was also very hot in the coridors and elevators. The air conditioner people were there constantly trying to fix the problem. The pool are was indeed small for the amount of people staying at this location. The neighborhood is not the best either. We usually opted to walk on the boardwalk to avoid the teenager noise and crowds on the main street. Even my teenagers were uncomfortable walking to the parking deck across the street. As with other revieweres on Tripadvisor, we also had to wait for our room to be cleaned before we could finish our reservation. After weighing all of the good and bad elements, I probably would rather not stay at this hotel again, It is unfortunate though, because we really did like the room itself...it just had too many negatives that came along with it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

we stayed there for 3 nights. this was our first time to myrtle beach and wasn't sure which part was the best; however, we decided to stay near the boardwalk.
i was very apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. ALL the reviews about the elevators are TRUE! they were very slow and three elevators are not not enough for an 18 story resort! the street loading on/off area is very cramped as well as the elevator loading on/off area. the secured parking garage is a block away but we did not find it inconvenient.
the major disappointment was that the internet was not working at all during our stay! the staff at the front desk were not very knowledgeable nor friendly when i would call to get updates about when the internet would be fixed. also, one of them (i think amanda) didn't even know how to rent the beach umbrella and chairs when i asked her!
the oceanfront location was very nice; however, the actual street location was not. there are several low budget motels across the street with some questionable people!
overall, now being more familiar with myrtle beach, i would stay further north next time away from the crowd, especially since the area is so nicely laid out with plenty of beach access parking.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,079 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#67 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £40 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing