We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, pleasant resort”
Review of Paradise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paradise Resort
Ranked #22 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed a week at the Paradise Resort, and overall it was a very enjoyable place. Some issues surfaced, but some may have been because we didn't book directly through the hotel. We actually used a company called Global, who apparently are a type of middleman for condo rental. Using them caused some problems with the hotel. None were insurmountable, but several were irritating.

Let me cover some generic things first. We had a 1 bedroom, 1 bath and it was nice. Not luxurious, but definitely comfortable, and far above adequate. We had a great oceanfront view from the small balcony, and loved that part. The unit came equipped with a dishwasher and washer/dryer. Those were nice touches. The condo was clean, and in good repair. While it was a one bedroom, it also had a pull out couch and a murphy bed, so more guests could easily be accommodated.

One thing about the outlets. The upper plugin along one wall operated off a switch near the murphy bed. Not the outlet itself, just the top plugin. I've never seen this anywhere else.

We did not use the restaurant, but it seemed busy at breakfast, and we did hear the food was good. Don't bother with the Tiki Hut near the pools. The drinks were fairly pricy, and were pretty well watered down. That was not just our opinion. There is a good "barfood" (pizza, wings, etc.) restaurant at Mako's just north of the hotel. Mako's and "Nassau Ned's" ( a couple more hotels to the north) have better drinks, especially if Mario is batending at Ned's.

The Lazy River was a favorite with the kids, as were the pools. The beach is good sized, with plenty of room to spread out. There were chairs and umbrellas for rent, but we did not use them.

The location is good, espcially being right on the beach, but it was not terribly close to other attractions. If you are wanting sites such as Alabama Therater or Carolina Opry, you will have to drive several miles north. And, don't depend on having your parking space when you return. The garage is fairly small, and rather tight. There is also extra parking outside across the street.

The biggest drawback were some unhelpful staff members. By using Global, or other agents for that matter, some staffers were just short of rude. "You'll have to ask Global" was a frequent response. Examples: wifi. The rooms have them, but you need to get the password from the desk. The response when I called was, "ask Global" and a hangup. The Global rep had to call the desk and "remind" them to provide the info. If you rent through the hotel, calling room-to room is simple. Dial the floor #, then the room number. If you go through an agency, you have to call the actual phone # for the room, and the hotel does not have a listing of those. If you are lucky, someone has written the # on the phone, as ours was. Otherwise, you need to call from your room phone to someone with a caller ID equipped phone, then write down the #. Agency rented rooms do not have daily cleaning service, nor will they empty the trash. This info we knew about ahead of time, so was not an issue. Just be aware these situations may arise.

Only a handful of the staff were less than pleasant. The majority were very helpful, and did everything they could to make the stay even better. We would return, and even use an agency. We would just be prepared for a few possible hassles.

Room Tip: The higher floors are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. We certainly will use them to assist guests not renting through the hotel and maximize the resort experience for all guests.

Once again I apologize for any inconveniences and hope that Paradise Resort can serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,509 - 1,515 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was our 3rd year staying there, even brought 3 more families with us. We had a horrible experience. We had to move rooms on Sunday , because whomever booked my reservation gave me the wrong information, promised us a specific room, then was informed upon arrival( after calling to confirm 3 times since march) that it was impossible. Then our maid service was horrible, we had to beg for towels, sweep never ran bathrooms were never cleaned the whole week, took out our own trash. We complained about everything and nothing was done. My16 year old son was stuck on the elevator, they informed us it would be 45 min to get him out! Really! He and another gentleman got them out by prying open the doors. My family and the other family that stayed in our room had made plans to always stay at Paradise, but we decided this year was our last! It seems like no one cared about the customers! We will not return!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lblake035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. I understand that you have stayed here before and that this stay was not up to the standards that you are use to. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your recent visit. Please contact the hotel directly so that we can discuss your visit. I certainly value you as a guest and want you to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have stayed at many hotels in Myrtle Beach, and this one rates high on our list. We would stay here again. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We were moved into a larger unit when a nearby unit had a major problem. The staff informed us of the decision before we even knew there was a problem. My only concerns were some misleading advertising. The restauant is only open for breakfast, but you can order food( lunch ) through the Tiki Bar. The suites even though the bedroom is separate from the living room do not have w/d included and there are no doors separating the rooms. The upgraded condo on the other hand has those attractions. The garage is small, but there is a large outdoor parking lot across the street.

Room Tip: Condo is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Paradise. I am glad to see that Paradise ranks high on your list of Myrtle Beach Hotels. The staff and management look forward to serving you again in the future!

Once again, thank you for choosing Paradise Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was our first visit to myrtle beach & I was really nervous after reading some of the reviews at the paradise resort not to mention the other hotels,there were alot of complaints with cleanliness,service,comfort,parking,bugs.I am glad to say our stay at the Paradise resort was a good one & our only complaint was the beds were really firm & my husband &I woke up evryday with backaches,it could of been worse.the oceanfront 3 bdrm was clean,even though i still bleached everything down & brang my own sheets,the condo was well equipted with all ur daily living needs.And each time i called to front desk for something (xtra pillows,towels)it was delivered within 5min.the rest inthe hotel (Sandals) was ok for breakfast, there was onlly one rude waitress but we just ignored her,we never had to wait more than 5 min for elevaters.we thank paradise resort for their hospitality & we will def return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

I certainly understand that there are a number of hotel choices in Myrtle Beach. Thank you for choosing to stay with Paradise. I am happy that you enjoyed the resort and the staffs hospitality. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

The paradise resort in Myrtle Beach is a great place to stay. It is lively, beach access, and nice size pools, they also have a lazy river which was very fun, if you have kids they will have a blast at this resort. They had nice rooms, full kitchen, dinning room, living room, and bedrooms. Overall The Paradise Resort is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikolas1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your recent stay at Paradise. I am happy to hear that your family had a great time and that you enjoyed the resort. The staff and management at Paradise look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I read up on all different hotels for our recent stay (first trip ever) to Myrtle Beach. We wanted oceanfront, not too expensive, clean, and quiet. The Paradise Resort delivered. We arrived on a rainy Saturday - with one other person in front of us in line to check in at 4pm. Not too bad of a wait. Staff was cordial. They take $100 (cash or credit) to hold as a 'deposit'. I haven't had this happen since I was a teen in Daytona years ago! They hustle you over to the 'concierge' who is really a timeshare person. But the sell wasn't too extreme - I politely declined and was still given info on all the nearest/best restaurants to visit. I had noted we were celebrating a birthday so they allowed us a half an hour later checkout (11:30) which really did help even if it was just a half an hour. We were also given a room on the top floor - designated as 'penthouse' or PH in the elevator. The elevators were very slow with one off line being fixed by the way. The room itself was better than expected. We had a full bedroom with two beds, a washer/dryer, a small kitchen, a dining table for four, a full murphy bed, and a pull our sofa. Two flat screens (bedroom & living room) made the room complete. The balcony had two chairs and a table but more importantly - an absolutely gorgeous view! The hotel has a parking garage that is pretty tight. After checking in, we actually moved to the parking lot across the street (also property of the Paradise Resort so don't worry about getting towed or something). The hotel is right on the beach. Didn't go to the restaurants in the hotel but did use the pools. The lazy river is a small little spot to float in a circle - the kids liked it but I don't think adults would. We're used to the lazy river at Disney so this was VERY small (but still the size of the touted lazy river at Great Wolf Lodge in Wililamsburg - uggh that place is bad). They have a small pool with water 3-5 feet with a basketball net. Since I had forgotten sunscreen at one point, this was good for the kids to swim in as it is outdoors but under the garage I would guess so it has a 'cover'. There is a bigger lap pool before heading out to the sand and plenty of chairs. Chairs on the beach involve costs ($30 a day!!) and reservations (I don't think they are affiliated with that particular resort - I think they are a separate company renting chairs). The concierge did point us in the right direction for dinner - we found the BEST place to go in Myrtle Beach - an area called Broadway at the Beach which has every restaurant you could imagine (Planet Hollywood, Hard Rock, Kiss Coffeehouse, Margarittaville, Captain George's, a Japanese Steakhouse, an Irish pub, the Key West Grill, etc.). This is a great shopping place, too! The rooms were very clean. There's a full size fridge/freezer. Sink, dishwasher, full size stove, microwave. The bathtub is huge and the bathroom good sized. One weird thing was that the bedroom had a window...the window looked right into the hallway. Odd. I know that's possible in all hotels and especially motels - but it just seemed a little strange. BUT - all in all - it was a great visit and the hotel delivered on every need ... its clean, its oceanfront, its not as expensive as it could be, I never heard another guest even though the hotel was packed, and there is plenty of room in the room!

Room Tip: Ask for the Penthouse Floor - oceanfront - for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for allowing Paradise Resort to make your vacation a memorable one! The staff and management at Paradise look forward to having you as a guest in the future! Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make a future stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The rooms are large, the suites are quite large. Unfortunately this one was explained to us as "upscale and luxury"....can't say I'd agree.

We were shown two rooms, the second was far nicer but still a far cry from luxury. Both were three bedroom suites as they overbooked the 2 bedroom units. There is a small window that looks from one of the bedrooms into the internal hallway. There is also a door in the suite that leads to another room to allow the 3 bedroom to turn into a 4 bedroom - this room can be rented out seperately. These features made several people in my party uncomfortable .....as did the mattresses (very firm). The carpet in the first unit needed alot of tlc and had been improperly laid in a few areas. Management did what they could to try and live up to the expectations we had... but even the nicer unit still fell short of what we were looking for.

The attached parking garage is nice.... but very tight at times. The staff was great and remained friendly and professional even when we made our intentions clear that we were moving our accomodations to another nearby hotel.

Recommendation? When you book with a hotel, any hotel - don't take a reservation desks opinion. Speak to someone on site at the hotel property. Ask questions and state very clearly what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,278 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,068 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,236 reviews
7.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort

Address: 2201 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £46 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Myrtle Beach
Paradise Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing