We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Ranked #61 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed in this location for years. It is a good place if you are traveling with multiple family members. We stayed in the four bedroom suite, so we had plenty of privacy when we needed it. There is a full size kitchen which allowed us to cook if we didn't want to fight the crowds and go out to eat with our large group. They have plates, pans, and a dishwasher, so you do not need to bring anything with you. We also had a large dining room table that accommodated all of us. There was a sitting area which allowed us to socialize or watch TV. Movie rentals are free from the lobby and added a nice touch late at night or on the one rainy day we had. Upgrades are needed in the near future. The carpet and sofas are showing wear and tear. If you want your room cleaned you need to ask if not they only replace the towels, empty the trash, and make the beds. With small kids we wanted it vacuumed each day. The bathrooms were never cleaned during our week long stay.

They have various pools on site and it is ocean front. The pool monitors really don't watch what is taking place so parents need to make sure they are watching their kids in the pool because of the older kids who tend to forget there are others around. Chairs are limited and even though the rules say do not save chairs with towels you can see guests going out at 8am to ensure they get one for the day. I also believe the pool staff need to clean around the pool during the day. Even though people should pick up after themselves, the staff should want people to feel clean. This is a non-smoking hotel which we love, but we did have to complain about guests smoking on their balcony and at the pool. The young staff didn't seem to want to take care of the problem, but we were persistent.

Overall we do like the resort. It is within walking distance of some of our favorite places to eat. They have a kids program.

Room Tip: Rooms that are above the 5th floor allow a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mom_of_a_creative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your detailed review. It should prove quite helpful to others as they research their vacation destination. Your comments regarding housekeeping services are accurate as to the services we provide. Our service is condo-style and includes the towel replacement, making of the beds and vacuuming. Our staff will accommodate requests to provide a more detailed service when needed. Kitchens and bathrooms are not part of our daily services. However, as this reviewer mentioned, just let us know what you might need and we will gladly ensure it gets done. We will try to uncover which room this reviewer was in so that we can evaluate the condition of the carpet and sofa and advise the condo owner if it needs replaced. Thank you for letting us know to look into this.

We try to find a proper balance in the pool area with rule enforcement. If we are too strict, we will have guests think we wont let anyone have fun. Too far the other way and it would be uncomfortable for some. Although in any case, children should always have proper adult supervision while enjoying the resort facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've stayed at this resort 3-5 times and have always enjoyed our stay. This time we stayed in a privately owned 1BR condo booked through VRBO. I recommend Grand Atlantic to anyone who is looking for an affordable place that's clean, safe, and has all the amentities.

Positives:
Rooms are clean, up to date, and well equipped to handle your whole family. Kitchens have all the basic necessities needed to cook and serve meals. Balconies are nice and roomy and are a great place to relax. We especially appreciate that Grand Atlantic has now installed a hot tub. We usually visit in the cold offseason, so this was a big plus.

Negatives:
I would not recommend booking through VRBO, but instead through the resort directly. Our vrbo booking did not include housekeeping, and when we had an A/C problem I had to fix it myself because the owner of the condo was not local.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel directly. Don't use sites like VRBO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with our resort and service. As you mentioned, booking direct through the resort office does offer many advantages over other means of booking. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family stayed at Grand Atlantic the week of July 6th. This could be a nice resort however for it to be a newer resort the rooms were not as clean as they should be. The carpets were stained ans the toilet had dried up pee stains behind the seat. Most of the staff was rude, the only pleasant staff member I talked to was on of the front desk ladies that checked me out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Tia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We are saddened to hear that we did not exceed the expectations of this reviewer. After reviewing the logs from the dates of this stay, there were no issues reported by this room. We work hard to make each guests stay a memorable one for all the right reasons. Should anything occur during a guests stay that will keep us from meeting this goal, we ask that they give us a chance to make it right. Unfortunately, we can't fix our mistakes if we are not aware of them. Should this reviewer give us another chance, we are sure they would have enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My family and I recently stayed seven nights at the Grand Atlantic Resort. The room was nice and any concern we had was addressed promptly by staff. It also was nice to have a snack shop in the hotel. The hotel is also reasonably priced.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just got home from a 5 night stay in 3 bedroom oceanfront double balcony condo. Resort built in 2006. There are a total of 21 floors. We stayed on the 17th floor and the view was amazing. Check in / check out was a breeze and staff was so nice. The rooms are clean and spacious. Fully stocked, opened kitchen with dishwasher. The in-room washer / dryer was so convenient. Parking was a little tight but the other parking guests were very courteous and drove with common sense. Parking goes up to the 6th floor and is connected to the resort. The unlimited DVD rental kiosk located in the lobby was a plus. Beach and pool access was simple. No wristbands needed. Covered and outdoor pools. I got sun burnt so I enjoyed the pool out of the sun. There is a lazy river and a hot tub. Convenient drive to Celebrity Circle and if you needed last minute items Walmart was close just very busy. We usually stay N. Ocean but figured we give this place a try. Other than the view of the older, local developments, we would definitely recommend. For better views ask for one of the higher floors. Elevators were pretty fast too.

Room Tip: Higher floors past 6th floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lillian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Plenty of room for the 8 people that stayed With us...it is also very nice having the snack shop & Mini mart just downstairs. However at certain times the snack shop is packed...which is understandable because the food was very good. Also reasonably priced.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Brenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Another amazing stay at the Grand Atlantic!! We come here every year, and each year is better than the last. Our suite was fabulous and the staff great. We had a great stay, but we left some very sentimental items in our room. I called and one of the Staffer’s literally went to our room, found the items and shipped them to us; his own time and money! That along with the on-premise Scooby’s are just some of the reasons why we never stay anywhere else when we visit Myrtle Beach. Thank you again Grand Atlantic, for a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less AC noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaptainkoolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,030 reviews
10.2 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
3.4 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,371 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Address: 2007 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £63 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grand Atlantic Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing