We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Ranked #53 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Newburgh, Indiana
1 review
“Horrible place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We are staying here now and absolutely hate it! Stained couch that needs to be replaced maybe a year ago you can see the bottom coming out. Carpet matted down. Bathroom door lock doesn't work. Called to complain and they said they were full and nothing could be done. They were going to ask the manager what could be done and call back . No one ever called back.i finally called about 30 minutes later for them to tell me the manager already left for the day and to call back Monday. It is only Saturday. I will not sit on the couch and will hate my whole stay!! Way to over priced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovegoingonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We have worked closely with this guest to accommodate their needs and they are now enjoying their vacation in a room that has met their expectations. It was our pleasure to take care of this guest and ensure that the remainder of their vacation is everything they were hoping. We appreciate the opportunity to make things right and are pleased to have been able to do so in this case. Another guest has since checked into the original room mentioned in this review and has told us they are very pleased as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    155
    56
    41
    31
See reviews for
351
77
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

When first arriving to the Grand Atlantic my friends & I had like it. Our 4 bedroom suite was spacious the view was beautiful and that was it. After sitting around & looking at the place we notice the carpet was dirty, the furniture was old & scratch up. We stayed one night. One of the girls who slept in one of the beds was getting bit by bugs. We believe they were bed bugs but we never got evidence if that what it was. Maintenance came up the next morning inspect the beds & said he didn't see nothing. Of course, he said bed bugs are so small that you cant see thwm but the marks that was on her look like bed bugs marks after looking it up online. I was excite about staying there was going to come back with my family but after that & the money we paid for that one night I will pass on this place. They have nicer resorts on Ocean Blvd that are cleaner & updated

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Antoinette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are aware of this guests stay however they never did mention to us any negative comments about the room condition or cleanliness. This guest was reserved for a 1-night stay only on a Saturday night. Just prior to checkout they did call down to say they thought one member of their party had been bitten by something. As mentioned, a staff member did go to the room to conduct a search and was unable to find anything that may have caused any bites. Even though they did not find anything, as a courtesy a discount was offered which was declined for not being large enough. We always do our best to accommodate our guests and have them leave with a positive impression of the resort. In this case, regretfully, we were unable to accomplish that. We truly believe they will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed in this location for years. It is a good place if you are traveling with multiple family members. We stayed in the four bedroom suite, so we had plenty of privacy when we needed it. There is a full size kitchen which allowed us to cook if we didn't want to fight the crowds and go out to eat with our large group. They have plates, pans, and a dishwasher, so you do not need to bring anything with you. We also had a large dining room table that accommodated all of us. There was a sitting area which allowed us to socialize or watch TV. Movie rentals are free from the lobby and added a nice touch late at night or on the one rainy day we had. Upgrades are needed in the near future. The carpet and sofas are showing wear and tear. If you want your room cleaned you need to ask if not they only replace the towels, empty the trash, and make the beds. With small kids we wanted it vacuumed each day. The bathrooms were never cleaned during our week long stay.

They have various pools on site and it is ocean front. The pool monitors really don't watch what is taking place so parents need to make sure they are watching their kids in the pool because of the older kids who tend to forget there are others around. Chairs are limited and even though the rules say do not save chairs with towels you can see guests going out at 8am to ensure they get one for the day. I also believe the pool staff need to clean around the pool during the day. Even though people should pick up after themselves, the staff should want people to feel clean. This is a non-smoking hotel which we love, but we did have to complain about guests smoking on their balcony and at the pool. The young staff didn't seem to want to take care of the problem, but we were persistent.

Overall we do like the resort. It is within walking distance of some of our favorite places to eat. They have a kids program.

Room Tip: Rooms that are above the 5th floor allow a better view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mom_of_a_creative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. It should prove quite helpful to others as they research their vacation destination. Your comments regarding housekeeping services are accurate as to the services we provide. Our service is condo-style and includes the towel replacement, making of the beds and vacuuming. Our staff will accommodate requests to provide a more detailed service when needed. Kitchens and bathrooms are not part of our daily services. However, as this reviewer mentioned, just let us know what you might need and we will gladly ensure it gets done. We will try to uncover which room this reviewer was in so that we can evaluate the condition of the carpet and sofa and advise the condo owner if it needs replaced. Thank you for letting us know to look into this.

We try to find a proper balance in the pool area with rule enforcement. If we are too strict, we will have guests think we wont let anyone have fun. Too far the other way and it would be uncomfortable for some. Although in any case, children should always have proper adult supervision while enjoying the resort facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've stayed at this resort 3-5 times and have always enjoyed our stay. This time we stayed in a privately owned 1BR condo booked through VRBO. I recommend Grand Atlantic to anyone who is looking for an affordable place that's clean, safe, and has all the amentities.

Positives:
Rooms are clean, up to date, and well equipped to handle your whole family. Kitchens have all the basic necessities needed to cook and serve meals. Balconies are nice and roomy and are a great place to relax. We especially appreciate that Grand Atlantic has now installed a hot tub. We usually visit in the cold offseason, so this was a big plus.

Negatives:
I would not recommend booking through VRBO, but instead through the resort directly. Our vrbo booking did not include housekeeping, and when we had an A/C problem I had to fix it myself because the owner of the condo was not local.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel directly. Don't use sites like VRBO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with our resort and service. As you mentioned, booking direct through the resort office does offer many advantages over other means of booking. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family stayed at Grand Atlantic the week of July 6th. This could be a nice resort however for it to be a newer resort the rooms were not as clean as they should be. The carpets were stained ans the toilet had dried up pee stains behind the seat. Most of the staff was rude, the only pleasant staff member I talked to was on of the front desk ladies that checked me out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We are saddened to hear that we did not exceed the expectations of this reviewer. After reviewing the logs from the dates of this stay, there were no issues reported by this room. We work hard to make each guests stay a memorable one for all the right reasons. Should anything occur during a guests stay that will keep us from meeting this goal, we ask that they give us a chance to make it right. Unfortunately, we can't fix our mistakes if we are not aware of them. Should this reviewer give us another chance, we are sure they would have enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My family and I recently stayed seven nights at the Grand Atlantic Resort. The room was nice and any concern we had was addressed promptly by staff. It also was nice to have a snack shop in the hotel. The hotel is also reasonably priced.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just got home from a 5 night stay in 3 bedroom oceanfront double balcony condo. Resort built in 2006. There are a total of 21 floors. We stayed on the 17th floor and the view was amazing. Check in / check out was a breeze and staff was so nice. The rooms are clean and spacious. Fully stocked, opened kitchen with dishwasher. The in-room washer / dryer was so convenient. Parking was a little tight but the other parking guests were very courteous and drove with common sense. Parking goes up to the 6th floor and is connected to the resort. The unlimited DVD rental kiosk located in the lobby was a plus. Beach and pool access was simple. No wristbands needed. Covered and outdoor pools. I got sun burnt so I enjoyed the pool out of the sun. There is a lazy river and a hot tub. Convenient drive to Celebrity Circle and if you needed last minute items Walmart was close just very busy. We usually stay N. Ocean but figured we give this place a try. Other than the view of the older, local developments, we would definitely recommend. For better views ask for one of the higher floors. Elevators were pretty fast too.

Room Tip: Higher floors past 6th floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lillian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
1.3 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#24 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Property: Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Address: 2007 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grand Atlantic Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing