We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #27 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Kure Beach
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very old”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Dayton House Resort. This is a large resort with alot of very different rooms and buildings, so it is very hard to review. The buildings go from impressive in size and location to depressing in size and location. We got the hotel blind thru Priceline and we paid very little for the room, so we got the depressing property, I guess it was a good value. It was Thanksgiving and the hotel seemed quiet, never the less we were put in the West building....west being away from the ocean, actually across the street. A very old building, probably from the 60's with an elevator to the 6th floor. The room was old, but obviously cleaned. It did have a flatscreen, but not perfect reception. Stove and refer and micro were old but all worked and we used them. A fair selection of dishes and pans and utencils. It was just old and really not thieir best property.

Its hard to quantify a number to this but i would call it a 2 star in the AAA ratings guide and a 3.5 out of 5 in the cleanliness usefullness catagory.

Given a choice, I would not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't accept the West building if you have a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron57nie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    548
    233
    82
    81
See reviews for
811
480
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

very nice hotel and staff. Great view of the ocean. Close to restaurants and shopping areas. Very nice beach. Has 3 pools, a suana, and whirlpools. A good price for the off season. Many seafood restaurants in the area some within walking distance. Some of these restaurants are overpriced

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville SC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We've stayed at Dayton House many times over the years. It's getting a little run-down, but not bad for a beach hotel. The location, family atmosphere, and price have been enough to keep us coming back. This trip, we started out in an oceanfront suite on the top (16th) floor of the suites building. It looked clean but had an extreme mold or mildew smell, bad enough that I was concerned about breathing it. We lasted only a few hours before I went down to the front desk to ask to be moved. A 4th floor suite was available, and it was reasonably clean and a huge improvement. My only disappointment was that, when I approached the front desk and very quietly and almost apologetically explained the problem with the suite, no one showed any concern beyond woodenly stating that we could move. A simple "I'm sorry to hear that" or some acknowledgement of the inconvenience would have left me feeling more positive. There was another guest in the office at the same time; I don't know what his complaint was, but it was not resolved and he finally gave up and left. The desk staff rolled their eyes at his back while I was standing there.

Room Tip: Avoid 16th floor of suites building; another review also mentioned the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nshebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, comfortable room with an excellent ocean view then Dayton House is the place for your next visit to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. I recently took my mother who had just lost her last brother down for a visit. There we found peace listening to the sound of the waves crashing on the shoreline. The Dayton House Resort has a nice area with chairs and umbrellas just waiting for you to claim one for your own. Everyone is so nice there. We have stayed at Dayton House on several occasions and it is always a pleasure. There are plenty of indoor pools, outdoor pools, and a lazy river for any of the more adventurous in your group. For us old girls....it is just right for finding peace and calm amongst the storm. Thank you for your hospitality. Sincerely, Mindy Johnston

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East hanover
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in suites couches and rugs could be updated. Bed was very comfortable. Staff is great and really wants to help out. Been staying in this building since it was built about 12 years. Bathrooms are just ok. Could use washer dryer and dishwasher in rooms. Pools are very clean and grounds are well kept. Parking could be dicey not enough spots when hotels are full. Price is fair. Views are excellent.

Room Tip: End unit with king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Family run hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Great location, particularly liked the plentiful sunbeds and umbrellas on the grass between the pool and the beach. Room was fine with all the facilities you would expect including a room safe. We were in the annex over the street, but apart from missing a sea view the room was quiet and perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incredible_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Dayton house is an old hotel format. We stayed in the suites for an offseason event in the area. The price was right and it was convenient. The view was excellent and no doubt that's what you pay for during the high season. It was clean but tight quarters and fortunately parking. All we did was spend two nights there, literally, so I can't really comment on overall service or conditions of the grounds. In my opinion it's below the quality of a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express. But it would be fine for a family or those on a budget.

Honestly, I don't get Myrtle Beach. Sure I've been here for spring break as a student, but it's like I've out grown it. I liken the main drag of myrtle beach old school hotels to Fremont Street in Las Vegas....

If you're able to pay high season rates and want to be in myrtle beach, this place is just ok. Admittedly, I typically stay at higher end places.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
985 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,063 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#40 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing