We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dayton House Resort
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$188
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myrtle Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,989)
Filter reviews
1,989 results
Traveller rating
944
589
266
98
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
944
589
266
98
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuites buildingyellow umbrellasyella umbrellaacross the streetlazy riversouth buildingocean frontgrassy areazero entryoceanfront efficiencylounge chairsconvention centersky wheelmurphy bedhot tuboceanfront roomparking garage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,149 - 1,154 of 1,989 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed two nights on drive back from Fla to NY. Decent place for the money. The oceanfront suite had a great view (the 30 degree temp was not great). Very pleasant and courteous staff. Bev at the front desk was great. Forgot to thank her for her service to our country - Thanx Bev!

It's not top shelf, and there was some construction going on, but that's what happens in the off season.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in ocean front older registration building.. It was updated and totally perfect. So nice that we stayed an extra 3 days. We even called our daughter and had her come down. She stayed in one of the taller/newer building but ours room was as nice and she had side view. Front staff so efficient and welcoming. We needed help with changing the language on our tv and they sent some right up. He is an asset to their organization nice and polite and had it fixed quickly.

Room Tip: Restaurant is within walking distance and you get 10% off. Stay ocean front
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Between October and November, we spent seven weeks at The Dayton House. We love walking on the beach, and Dayton House is convenient, comfortable and clean. The staff goes over and above to accommodate all of our needs in a very friendly manner. We've stay there for a good many years, and we always look forward to our return to our home away from home. Thanks for helping to make our retirement years so wonderful!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have stayed in multiple locations in Myrtle Beach, and this has become a family favorite. Our most recent stay was in the suites or lazy river building for New Year 2013 - 2014. We selected it because of the larger than normal set up for an extended stay with two adults and a 13 year old. For a larger group, this unit may feel still feel small but it should comfortable sleep 4-6, but for a longer stay or with a larger group, I would recommend the ocean view two room suite, which has a separate room with a queen bed.
We love the property because it is safe, quiet, and very family friendly. Parking can be a bit tight if you want to park under the overhang, or in the suites building, (which we do), otherwise you will find plenty of parking across the street, or in the parking deck next to Uncle John’s Restaurant.
As for the rooms, they are a bit old, and built for people smaller than the average person today in both height, and width so you may want to book through the property and ask honest questions about accommodation instead of going through a random online site.
If you are fine with older appliances, and smaller than normal spaces, it is a great property in a quiet spot, 7 blocks north of the boardwalk, (1 mile from the sky wheel), 1.6 miles east of Broadway at the Beach, and 2 miles north of the Family Kingdom Amusement and Water parks. So during peak season, depending on your level of fitness, you can park the car, and walk or bike to most area attractions.

The resort has one indoor only pool in the suits building, and a lap pool that is indoor/outdoor, and a zero entry main pool. Both the main pool and lazy river are in the middle of renovations, so call the resort to confirm when this will be done.

Room Tip: Due to low clearance, large trucks, and SUV's are limited to the ground floor of the Suites building, or the parking lots, and decks located across the street. If you are large, (tall or round), call the hotel directly for info. The property is anti motorcycle and scooters, so if you would not be able bring your own or rent one for the week and park it on property.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here several nights just after Christmas while playing in a bridge tournament at the Grand Dunes Marriott. I got the Dayton Resort on a blind Hotwire booking for $38 per night. Certainly can't complain, when friends were paying 2.5 times that for the Marriott. The room was clean, comfortable, and secure. The resort is right on the beach in downtown MB, so in season you can easily walk or swim. There are restaurants within easy walking distance. There is parking across the street, and you may have a bit of a walk to your vehicle.

My room was a spacious double with a very small but complete kitchen. While the resort is beginning to show its age and thus rates closer to two stars than three, everything worked, housekeeping was satisfactory, and front desk service was good. My bed was fine, and I slept well. I assume some rooms there have ocean views, but mine did not. The resort offers typical oceanfront amenities. You can hear everything (ahem, I do mean everything) in adjacent rooms, that is, of course, unless you turn on the in-room hvac unit, which was very loud, but worked ok.

When the bridge tournament comes back to Myrtle Beach in two years I wouldn't shop for this particular hotel, but I wouldn't have any problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo8311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews