We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 3 day get away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #26 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great 3 day get away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I recently visited for a 3 day weekend. The weather was horrible traveling to Myrtle Beach, however check in was quick and our room was warm and comfy! The weather for the weekend was not the best "beach weather", however we got in some shopping and relaxing. We even took in a show! Went to all our favorite restaurants! Dayton House was terrific. Clean, very nice staff, well kept, close to everything! Hope to see you all again soon! Kathie W

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    820
    518
    219
    77
    70
See reviews for
758
458
45
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Staff was all very friendly. Indoor pool was closed for updating(main reason we went there as the weather has been terrible). Room was very nice and had a complete kitchen. Good location near mot attractions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked this room via priceline name your own price for $70 per night and were traveling for a cheerleading competition. I'm so glad that we stayed here! The staff was exceptionally nice upon check-in, the pool area was heated in all pools so our daughter was able to swim comfortable outside in March! The hot tub area was kept clean and the oceanfront swings were a wonderful touch. Our room was VERY large albeit outdated. The room was clean and comfortable, getting extra towels, tissues, etc was no issue at all. We will definitely stay here again when traveling for this competition in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The amenity that I was looking for in my hotel choice was the work-out areas, the lap pool and exercise room..After looking up and down the Myrtle beach coastline,the Dayton provided me with two great facilities.To the Dayton's credit, the machines in the exercise room that were not up to par were fixed or replaced shortly after I reported the problem.
The oceanfront room with kitchenette met all of my needs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peggy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon because it was close to Broadway at the Beach, had all the amenities we needed and the price was reasonable for our stay. We really enjoyed ourselves. We checked in late on the day we arrived, around 6:30. No problem, check in took less than 10 minutes. The hardest part was finding a place to park my Ford Explorer, the parking garage is the best bet for a larger vehicle as the open-air lots are really tight and cater to compact cars. Anyway, once we parked and got our luggage up to our room on the 5th floor via the elevator, we entered the room for the first time. The room was arranged beautifully, and was exactly what we wanted. We had an angled ocean efficiency which had a great view and everything we needed. We were i the south tower of the hotel. This was a great experience for the start of our marriage and a great place to spend our honeymoon. We can't wait to go back. The restaurant Uncle John's has pretty good food and is located on the property of the hotel, the service at Uncle John's was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KittyWitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Was at Myrtle during the snow/ice in January. Was staying at another place and had a special rate and needed to stay one more day. Well, they would not give us the same rate, had no mercy with the icy situation. Called Dayton House and they gave me a great rate for the night so we moved there for one night. Staff was AWESOME.. Got an OV room and it was nice.. Wished we had stayed the days prior.... Yes, it may be a little dated but it was so clean.. Great beds...will stay again for sure....oh and got a discount at the near by restraunt. .. Little Johns may be the name.. Food was great.... Yes enjoyed that night

Room Tip: Side room was cheaper and loved the view.. Could see city view and the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Center, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Dayton House last August, 2013 and this was our first trip as a family to Myrtle Beach. We stayed in the building across the street from the beach for cost savings and it was a disappointment. The kitchen and were very outdated and kind of dirty-looking, although definitely clean. I would recommend staying here if you are on a budget but, there seem to be more updated rooms in the same price range. The pictures they show online do not reflect all of the rooms. They need to get all rooms to look like the pictures they post.
That being said, we were 5 hours from home when we realized I didn't have my wallet and the reservations were in my name. I had no way to check in without my ID. I called and the friendly man that answered the phone was AWESOME and said since my husband had ID it would be no problem! That was a huge relief!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing