We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceived By Good Reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Dayton House in Myrtle Beach. After researching hotels in the area using Trip Advisor, I chose the Dayton House because of the positive reviews. Upon arrival, we checked in and went our room, of which the door was open. The front desk agent explained that the locks get stuck sometimes and the repair was simple. Instead of repairing the defective lock he downgraded our room from a king to two queens. When entering our downgraded room, the door would not function and an front desk agent helped us and made sure all was well in the room. After he left, we discovered: a dead bug in the refrigerator, hair on one of the beds, hair on the towels, a malfunctioning toilet, flat pillows, a lumpy, non supportive mattress and a noisy air conditioner which did a horrible job of cooling the room. By the way the front desk agent explained that the envelope on the dresser was a tip envelope for housekeeping - unsure of why this was in the room. When checking out a young lady apologized for the issues. Unfortunatley, this will be the last time that we stay at the Dayton House Resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,923 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Been there many times and always enjoy the full experience. It has been almost 50yrs of enjoying the hospitality of the family of owners at this super vacation spot. They always remember us and treat us just like family. This spot is perfectly located, has ample parking, and clean rooms plus a fantastic setting right on the ocean. prices are reasonable. Will continue to go there.

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yeldarb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were scheduled to stay at Camelot Resort in February and had to reschedule to April at Dayton House. Was a little skeptical, but the Ocean view was an Ocean view. We had a view from the master bedroom and a balcony in the living room. Kids slept on a Murphy bed. Our bed was very comfortable. The hotel was quiet. It was great. I wished the Yella Umbrella stayed open later. It would have been nice to have a drink on the beach after 5:00. The parking was a little tight in the garage, but we parked across the street instead of the garage the second night. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: King suite. Plenty of sleeping room for 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fransonbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were a group of 64 ; Atherton High School Band, director & chaperones who traveled to Myrtle Beach for the Festivals Of Music competition in Aynor. The EFFICIENCY of the groups dept. was AMAZING, specifically I would like to mention Jennifer Weihert , Sales Coordinator. The efficiency we experienced on check in & check out was FLAWLESS & expedient! Everything was ALL ready for us, which was very appreciated due to our late arrival.
We all felt "at home" & every single staff member we encountered was kind, warm & offered us that true "Southern hospitality". I hope this review can also reach ALL departments; housekeeping, front desk operations, sales dept., management, dining room staff at Uncle John's, catering for the box lunches,etc.
You guys are truly a class act. The service here is definitely A+, it was an excellent value & would recommend the Ocean Front Suites which we stayed in. The suites were very spacious, beds were comfortable, new tv's in room, nice clean & updated bathroom. Room decor plain/simple. Resort was very quiet, & this is the BEST part of the beach to stay on with it being spring break... Gorgeous view from our balcony. Ocean FRONT is the way to stay. The lazy river was opened JUST IN TIME to welcome our group. The students & chaperones had a great time! Always felt safe & secure no matter the hour. Much Thanks to all for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Stay Ocean front for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelRN1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent a much needed night away here, the staff, rooms and service we received while on our stay was excellent as always. This was the fourth time we have stayed here, and each time has been excellent. From now on this will be our first choice when it comes to a trip to the beach. Thanks for being there for us.

Room Tip: haven' t had a bad room yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pressley03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights with a partial ocean view room. Staff was friendly and let us borrow umbrellas as it was a rainy day. Great location! Since we're from Boston, we decided to walk everywhere-no big deal. Except we were the only ones walking-Everyone DRIVES down here! After big meals, we really wanted to walk and many places were within 2 miles of the hotel, such as Broadway at the Beach and Rioz Brazillian BBQ. You can even walk to S. Ocean Blvd. to the Boardwalk area. Glad we stayed here. Not as loud as S. Ocean by the boardwalk. Great restaurants near by within walking distance-Croissants Bistro & Bakery. Got fab. mani/pedi at Nail Fashions. Took public transit-yes this does exist! To Market Common. The staff didn't know you could do this and told us to take a taxi-cost $24, but with a little extra research- we took the Cost RTA- $3 to get to Market Common. The 15 bus runs up and down Ocean Blvd. but you can take that to the transfer station to get other buses to other places. Overall, great hotel within walking distance to many attractions/restaurants. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a partial ocean-totally worth it. You can hear the ocean from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston_JudyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We planned a little weekend get-away & are planning to stay here too for our vacation in August so we wanted to have a "sneak-peek" at what we are in for! Pleasantly surprised, the rooms were updated, spacious and clean! the Resort was very nice, remodeled and have everything that you could ask for in a resort with grassy areas, shady areas, picnic areas, swings, plenty of pools and a lazy river with the exception of an on-site restaurant. They do have a Snack Bar on site and have a discount for Uncle John's Restaurant just across the street, (which by the way, has really good food!- we had dinner one night - pizza~ it was seriously really good and we had breakfast the next morning.) While we stayed there, my boyfriend took me for a walk on the beach and proposed to me which made this weekend getaway even more special!
We had everything we needed all in once place or at least very near by! We definitely loved our stay and are looking forward to going back again in August! <3

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PamG814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing