We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #28 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a nice visit. I guess I don't necessarily call this a resort. I consider a resort someplace where the staff is available and caters to you. I never had any interaction with any member of the staff other than the gal servicing our room and the front desk at check-in. I am actually grateful for that, which means I had no issues. We had the Oceanfront efficiency and the room was adequate, and the view was outstanding. Very easy access to the beach and the pools were nice. My only minor concerns about the stay were that the pools water temp was high, I like a cooler refreshing dip after the ocean. The parking is not ideal, but manageable. The water pressure for the bathroom shower was not good. The location is ok. It is about 3/4 mile north of the boardwalk. Not a lot around the hotel, except more hotels. Again, minor stuff. Overall a nice vacation for the family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pug42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    556
    239
    88
    84
See reviews for
832
489
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlewood, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

reserved 2 months ahead of time. upon arival was told i had been upgraded from 2 queens of to suite of, was happy with that till they said it was full size. i said no i need 2 queens. so they gave me my origional reservation back. the room was very small, table almost broken. small balcony, house keeping only cleaned about every other day, vaccumed around stuff, didnt do much cleaning at all, i ask for just towels and was told your housekeeper is on another floor, ask for a kettle, none available, not satsified at all. i left a day early and they did not want to refund me. parking was 2 blocks away from my room. outdoor pools were cold. longer walk from beach than pics. miserable trip.

Room Tip: go to compass cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovevacationwithmy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Everything from the moment we arrived to the final day we enjoyed our stay. Just a GREAT resort. pool side snack bar was a lot of fun. Great people working the front desk was always ready to help. Parking was easy.

Room Tip: enjoy the lawn tables and umbrellas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerburg, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We just finished our second year at the Dayton House and we will be back next year. My husband and I with our two tween daughters thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay in our corner king suite. Although not brand new, our room was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, and had a perfect side and ocean front view. I cannot say enough about the amenities.....tons of free parking, nice work out room, and clean laundry. We have only stayed in the suites building which has a dry sauna, indoor pool, outdoor lazy river, and jacuzzi. The Dayton house is famous for its two acres of yellow umbrellas so you never have to walk far or pay for your own outdoor chairs and umbrella. This resort has a total of 4 ocean front buildings that are not super highrise....so the beach space is more than adequate for the amount of people...unlike many hotels in Myrtle which cram hundreds of vacationers into a tiny beach space. We have met several families who come back to the Dayton House every year...some of them for generations. We will become one of those families.

Room Tip: The suites building has great amenities and is not crowded. The corner king has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEISMUM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Calixte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the Dayton House for 14 days on the 25 th of may and it was great. We have been staying every may-june and also in october for the last 8 years and it is always perfect. The rooms are very clean. Maid service is always helpful to answer your request. The lawn area is the best and the new water feature of the lazy river are fun. We will return again and again!

Room Tip: We always choose a angle ocean vue king room in the south building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I made last minute reservations so I was really concerned about what we would get. This place was older but very well kept and extremely clean. The outside was set up very well for large groups and the staff were very pleasant! We will definitely return next year!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nitagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate, SC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Recently spent two nights at Dayton House Resort. Nicely updated room and side view were adequate for our needs. Several hotels were part of this resort. You can visit other properties' amenities by wearing the wristband provided. Parking was not great, very full. No resort or parking fee charged. Beach is rough on the feet...lots of broken shells, but kids had a blast finding shark teeth. If in the area, we will definitely stay again. That is if the price is right. To which I venture off to say...Myrtle Beach is a historic, fun family (most of the time) place,,, but it is expensive!

Also, this location only reserves to folks 25 and up - a definite plus in my book!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCTrekkerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,003 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,956 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing