We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but Old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #26 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean but Old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel could use some updating but after all, it was built in the 50's. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. I was smart and brought my own pillows. The refrigerator in the room did not work at all but we really didn't need it for much so did not complain. The pool closes at 10PM but given that this hotel is intended for families with small children, we did not mind this too much. Would have preferred to be able to go to pool in late evening, however. The parking is across the street which is understandable...why use prime ocean front property for parking? We didn't mind the parking but arriving late in the evening, you have to park in the garage which is two streets over from the hotel. Because it was farther down from the strand, the hotel area was very, very quiet and I kinda of preferred that. What visitors need to know is that this is an older hotel with a great view of the ocean. The rooms are dated but when you are at the beach...who cares? This is a great hotel for the price and the location. Like someone else has said, if you want fancy pay for fancy. If you just want a place to sleep while you enjoy the ocean, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    525
    224
    79
    71
See reviews for
772
461
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have been staying at the Dayton House Resort for over 25 years and again this year they did not disappoint! We were there over the 4th of July and as always we had great FUN!
The ocean front room we get has the best view, the kitchen is exactly what we want and has everything in it so we do not have to transport it from NY. The entire staff at the Dayton House from the front desk to housekeeping to security to the keeper of all the grounds have my highest praise! We talk about it on our way home from Myrtle Beach.....how clean are surroundings are, how pleasant all the employees are. Very helpful and always smiling when I pop in to ask them how to get to a new place! We have stayed at the Dayton House with as many as 43 of us at once (all family) and they have been so helpful getting us all in the same building, same floor or whatever our needs were. We like to stay in the North Bldg but we have stayed in all of them! So we will keep on coming back to the Dayton House making our new memories and cherishing all the others that were made here as well! Thank You Dayton House!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for the 4th of July weekend. As some of the other reviews have said the hotel is dated BUT you can't beat the location. The room had everything you need and was clean and well priced. If you want fancy brand new than go down the road and PAY for it. With all of the activities to do within a mile of this hotel we only laid our heads down at night. Nice helpful staff in all parts of the hotel. Would come back again when visiting Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slotboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watkinsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Rude staff if you have a problem they are not there to help just to be rude and if you try to call back and speak to general manager he backs up his rude employees take my advice it's not worth it there are so many other good to great choices in Myrtle Beach avoid this one like the plague!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank yellerjacket1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ocean front yes, but then its downhill. Outdated and not very clean. Parking is pain and carpets are smelly and sticky. Not a nice place for the money. Room is cramped with really old furniture. Wallpaper needs to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamesj9us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were at Dayton House week of June 21 thru 27th. One of the busiest weeks of the summer besides July 4th week. Staff was courtieous, helpful and friendly even as busy as they were. We have now stayed at the Dayton House for several years nows for summer vacation. We also stay sometimes in October and in December to catch the Christmas shows. Never has there been a time that we were not pleased. The best part is the cleansiness of the entire campus. The place is kept so well from the parking lots and deck to the rooms to the outdoor pools and umbrella city. Check in is so fast, you are in and out in a matter of minutes. Check in at 3 and you still can have several hours on the beach before the sun starts going down. We were on 7th floor and really enjoyed watching the fireworks at the boardwalk from our balcony. It doesn't get any better than that. Dayton House is very family oriented. Safe environment. Another relaxing vacation. Thanks, Dayton House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

In my opinion, this resort is just OK/tolerable because is right on the beach..rooms are outdated, but they are clean. Hallways and downstairs foyer was hot, old carpeting and musky. Stayed for 5 days for baseball tourney. Two mornings tried to go downstairs and the doors were locked. Was told at front desk that is done at night to keep unregistered guest from coming upstairs. Ok, that's fine, but why are the doors locked so you can't go down? What are you supposed to do in case of a fire? If they would update the rooms, this would be a good place to stay. I, personally, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hearme23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing