We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #27 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Please do yourself a favor and book somewhere else. Do not be deceived by the great reviews. We will never stay here ever again. Depressing as we opened the door and immediately felt like we had walked into a room in despeate need of an episode of Hotel Impossible. So-called motel has "resort" on it for who knows what. We stayed at the west side hotel, floors are so old and disgusting that i did not dare touch my feet on it the ENTIRE 3 days we stayed. Lampshade was dirty, 2 lamps had no bulbs working. Random furniture just placed anywhere. old everything, its like being back in the 70s... parking is across the street..pool was small and overcrowded so we ended up hanging out at our friends hotels way more. Dissapointing and just plain terrible..resort name is a joke. why is this a resort when theres stickers everywhere reminding you of what not to do? (ex: washing your own dishes and opening the balcony door,.or the towel inventory). just stay somewhere else. it needs a renovation ASAP and a time machine.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank tricycle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great stay. Went with family. Got a place with kitchen area. Could be better pots and pans. Had what we needed. Staff was friendly. Pools where great. Lazy pool has water features in it. So u will get wet. They where full with no vacancy and did not fill crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackdavis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our 5th stay at the Dayton House. This time we stayed with our 19 month daughter and had plenty of room. We stayed in the North Building room 929, an Angle Ocean-view efficiency and it was perfect for us. Why do we love the Dayton House? Here ya go:

Price - Best value in Myrtle Beach!
Clean and comfortable rooms
Staff is always friendly and helpful
The pools are great, including the updated lazy river (awesome)
The lawn area is huge with plenty of seating and tables
Location - Close enough to walk to the boardwalk area but far enough away from the madness
Ample parking
Very family friendly

Over the years, we've stayed in the West building, the South building, the North building, and the Suites building and enjoyed them all. The West building is across the street from the ocean, but you still have an ocean view and easy access to the beach and pools.

When compared to the other hotels in Myrtle Beach, the Dayton House is, without question, the best bang for your buck. If you want a very family friendly, clean, roomy, oceanfront hotel I would recommend the Dayton House to my friends and family in an instant.

Thank you Dayton House for making our stay a great one, once again!

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor for awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed at the Dayton House and we were pleased. Rooms are kinda dated, but the price is right! Don't let the other reviews scare you away, I have nothing but good things to say.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel could use some updating but after all, it was built in the 50's. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. I was smart and brought my own pillows. The refrigerator in the room did not work at all but we really didn't need it for much so did not complain. The pool closes at 10PM but given that this hotel is intended for families with small children, we did not mind this too much. Would have preferred to be able to go to pool in late evening, however. The parking is across the street which is understandable...why use prime ocean front property for parking? We didn't mind the parking but arriving late in the evening, you have to park in the garage which is two streets over from the hotel. Because it was farther down from the strand, the hotel area was very, very quiet and I kinda of preferred that. What visitors need to know is that this is an older hotel with a great view of the ocean. The rooms are dated but when you are at the beach...who cares? This is a great hotel for the price and the location. Like someone else has said, if you want fancy pay for fancy. If you just want a place to sleep while you enjoy the ocean, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have been staying at the Dayton House Resort for over 25 years and again this year they did not disappoint! We were there over the 4th of July and as always we had great FUN!
The ocean front room we get has the best view, the kitchen is exactly what we want and has everything in it so we do not have to transport it from NY. The entire staff at the Dayton House from the front desk to housekeeping to security to the keeper of all the grounds have my highest praise! We talk about it on our way home from Myrtle Beach.....how clean are surroundings are, how pleasant all the employees are. Very helpful and always smiling when I pop in to ask them how to get to a new place! We have stayed at the Dayton House with as many as 43 of us at once (all family) and they have been so helpful getting us all in the same building, same floor or whatever our needs were. We like to stay in the North Bldg but we have stayed in all of them! So we will keep on coming back to the Dayton House making our new memories and cherishing all the others that were made here as well! Thank You Dayton House!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for the 4th of July weekend. As some of the other reviews have said the hotel is dated BUT you can't beat the location. The room had everything you need and was clean and well priced. If you want fancy brand new than go down the road and PAY for it. With all of the activities to do within a mile of this hotel we only laid our heads down at night. Nice helpful staff in all parts of the hotel. Would come back again when visiting Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank slotboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,070 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,279 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,215 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £45 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing