We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #27 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 1 August 2014

worst hotel ever, staff they are all idiots and they all should be fired they took money out of my account and didn't respect my booking or changes they stole from me more than 400 dollars and no one did nothing about it. they are all idiots!!! do not book here or give them any info they make believe that they wont take money from your card and they do the opposite and when you want to change reservations they will give the go ahead and then they act stupid and dont respect changes and they give the rooms for lost and they still keep you money, i was just looking for a family fun vacation, and had the worst experience ever

Room Tip: don't reserve rooms here all staff are idiots!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank janeiro T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,948 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

I decided to take my daughter to the beach just for a getaway just me and her. We have never stayed at the Dayton house and probably never will again. The room did not look anything like the pictures and they placed us in the hotel across the road from the ocean and it did not specify when I made the reservation. I was truly disappointed in the hotel, plus the rooms weren't very clean. But we made the best of it and I got to spend valuable time with my 17 year old daughter!

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed two nights on the way back from a visit to Charleston. This hotel fits in at Myrtle Beach. Nothing here seems very modern, but the draw is the beach. The staff was friendly, there was plenty of parking (most is across the street, but no problem). We stayed on the 2nd floor of the main building. There are 5 buildings (one is across the street). It was a little loud because we were overlooking the pool. I think higher floors would offer better views and more quiet. My son who is 2 loved the resort! Lots of space at the pools. The main pool is a gradual walk in, so perfect for him. There is a lazy river with water features that he loved. Beach access was perfect and plentiful. There is a little snack bad called Yella Umbrella which served drinks and light food- Closed at 6 though- should be open later! There is also a restaurant called Uncle John's which is clearly owned by the hotel- they really push it! Ask at the front desk for a discount there, we got 50% off an entree. It wasn't very good- just a diner, but ok if you are hungry and want something close. There is a free business center with computers, wi-fi and coffee available. It was about 1 mile from the main area with the ferris wheel. Overall, a fine stay and we would come back if we are ever in the area again.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have better view and be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffalogirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our stay at the Dayton House was enjoyable, clean and friendly with great room service. The room was 'made' every day and towels were replaced regularly. The house staff was very friendly. I also was impressed with the parking situation. I would not change a thing if I were the Dayton Management. It was an enjoyable stay and we WILL stay at the Dayton House when we return!!! THANK YOU!!! Bev.

Room Tip: Always request an ocean view room if you are from the North :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bev b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Good things...room was clean and provided all necessary essentials such as pots pans dishes.great view from 15th story. Bad things...room layout was strange..had king suite which required guest to walk through bedroom to exit into the hallway..was in suites building which was across the public access parking.had to walk across parking lot to get to main resort pool and snack bar.very frustrating.worst part...pay attention late night beachwalkers !!they close off all entrances to the beach after 10..only place I have ever saw do this..gates everywhere!locked tight to anybody wanting to go to beach after hours must go to public beach access point.crazy!this frustrated me and will be the reason I do not return..also early risers. .gates don't get unlocked till after 8am..once again..go to publicaccess parking lot which smells of sewage.btw..street drainage runs directly in front of resort into ocean.not a pleasant smell or sight.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Please do yourself a favor and book somewhere else. Do not be deceived by the great reviews. We will never stay here ever again. Depressing as we opened the door and immediately felt like we had walked into a room in despeate need of an episode of Hotel Impossible. So-called motel has "resort" on it for who knows what. We stayed at the west side hotel, floors are so old and disgusting that i did not dare touch my feet on it the ENTIRE 3 days we stayed. Lampshade was dirty, 2 lamps had no bulbs working. Random furniture just placed anywhere. old everything, its like being back in the 70s... parking is across the street..pool was small and overcrowded so we ended up hanging out at our friends hotels way more. Dissapointing and just plain terrible..resort name is a joke. why is this a resort when theres stickers everywhere reminding you of what not to do? (ex: washing your own dishes and opening the balcony door,.or the towel inventory). just stay somewhere else. it needs a renovation ASAP and a time machine.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank tricycle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great stay. Went with family. Got a place with kitchen area. Could be better pots and pans. Had what we needed. Staff was friendly. Pools where great. Lazy pool has water features in it. So u will get wet. They where full with no vacancy and did not fill crowded.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackdavis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,068 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,278 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,215 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,022 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £46 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing