We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #25 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Family Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

We had a suite on the 10th floor for just one night, but would have loved to stay for a week. The living room was oceanfront with a balcony. It had a love seat, TV, table and 6 chairs, and a pull-down murphy bed. In the middle was a pass-through kitchen - it had everything we needed - dishes, coffee maker, toaster, full-size fridge and stove. In the back (opening to the inside hallway) was bedroom with two double beds. Elevator was fast, everything was extremely clean, and we had a lazy river and indoor pool and jacuzzi. We had access to the outdoor pools and amenities of the other buildings (just steps away) and we spent the whole time in the large pool, which had wade-in on one side, and lots of lounges. Also a huge "lawn" area with lots of umbrella tables. Easy walking distance to food and stores. Can't think of a single thing wrong with it, except that the pools close at 10:30, which was too early for us and our teenagers, but it's apparently geared toward keeping things quiet for the families. There is parking under the building if you get in soon enough, but otherwise, you have to park in lots across the street, but that was still not a big deal. My total cost was $143 for the night, which I was fine with, considering that we had room to spread out, and we hung around at the pool for several hours after checking out .

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    525
    224
    79
    71
See reviews for
772
461
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville Tn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

This is an excellent place to stay. We went with out two young children 8 and 4 who loved it. They would play in the lazy river and enjoy sitting in the hot tub. This is a great place to enjoy the beach without all the "Party" crowd. This is our second time staying there and we will go back again and again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

We stayed at the dayton house for a weekend in the Ocean front queen bedroom suite (Had requested one of the top floors to enjoy the beauty of the vast ocean). Although the room was not flamboyant or newly furnished like the new high rises in the area, the facilities were good. Esp. the multiple swimming pools, jacuzzi and lazy river added fun to our trip. Although it was towards start of the season, the hotel was full and it was mostly families which made us feel quite safe. The bathroom was a little smaller than our expectation. And the kitchen dint have cleaning supplies so had to buy them while we were there but was not a big problem with many stores in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SAK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

The owners/operators of the Dayton House definately know how to help make a vacation GREAT!!! I can't believe we've been visiting Myrtle Beach for 22 yrs. and have just now found the Dayton House. The staff members are excellent - they seem to be happy doing their job, unlike other places where the staff act like they wish you would not bother them.
The entire resort is basically spotless - other than a brand new facility, this place has to be the cleanest anywhere on the Grand Strand. Our accomadations were perfect for 4 adults - one bedroom with a queen size bed and a murphy bed in the living room. The balcony could be accessed from the living room or the bedroom - what a nice touch!!!
The pools are sparkling clean and the water temp. was perfect. We all loved the walk-in pool - another wonderful touch and different from any place we've stayed on the Strand. The hot tubs were just that - HOT - but not scorching - you could actually relax in them with cringing your teeth from the heat of the water. Another nice and relaxing touch are the "porch" swings out on the massive lawn; so nice to swing and watch the ocean after a full day of fun.
Again, the Dayton House is GREAT!!! I really can't understand why (at this moment) this property is not in the top 10. If you want a CLEAN resort with plenty of ammenities and staff members who help assist you with a smile on their face - this is the place!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbaby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

Dayton House makes the most of what they have. Not the newest hotel - but they maintain it very well. Stayed three nights after Memorial Day - oceanfront room in South Building; 9th floor. Great view. The fridge and kitchen came in handy. Nice pools and hot tubs. Plenty of area to relax in front of the beach.

They seem to have plenty of staff cleaning and maintaining. I also had no trouble calling to make a reservation or double-checking it just before I arrived.

I was unsure about wireless Internet. I didn't bring my computer, but they had a couple of computers in the main office you could use to check e-mail and such. I never waited to use one.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRW9242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

My family and I have stayed at the Dayton House since 1998. Quality service from all the staff. Clean comfortable rooms. Very aforable with great amenities. The pools and the lazy river are wonderful. You have a great grass area with umbrellas and lounge chairs to relax or just a few steps to the beach. Dayton House is close to the down town but not in the beach traffic. The staff, from check in to check out is there for you.All staff members are friendly and are ready to make you stay a pleasent one. We have stayed in many differnt rooms and can say, there is always a good view. We have been staying about 3 times a year, and will not stay anywhere else. Try the Dayton House. You will love it. You will have the time of your life.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRFD106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southernbiker
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Just got back from bike week and I loved this place. The rooms were so crapy that you could not tell that we trashed it even more. Everyone was in and out of our room and plenty of people around who would rather fight you then to look at you. My kind of people.

It was great how everyone who came near the hotel got pelted with water ballons and what ever was not tied down in the hotel room.

I guess this is the last year for bike week but we made it a great one!!!

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank southernbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing