We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only hotel snobs won't like the Dayton House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #25 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bunker Hill, West Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Only hotel snobs won't like the Dayton House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2006

My wife and I have been vacationing in Myrtle Beach for the past several years. Each time we go we stay at the Dayton House Resort. We are very pleased with our room and extremely pleased with the rate. We love the grassy area between the buildings and the beach. All of the pools are great. I understand that some people may get a little upset with the ID braclet, but I think they're a great idea. We've stayed at the resort when ID braclets weren't required. Any Tom, Dick, or Harry could be using the facilities that I paid for. Before the braclets you couldn't find an empty chair or table on the lawn, now an empty one is much easier to find. My wife feels a lot safer when using the facilities while I'm playing golf. She knows that there are security guards present and that everyone using the pools and lawn are guests of the resort. Our rooms are always clean and well-kept. I enjoy the fact that we are able to rent an efficenicy. Most hotels only give you a choice of a room (too small) or a suite ( too large). I understand the people who are used to staying at 5 star resorts and paying $250+ per night find the Dayton House Resort a little less than expected. For me and my wife the Dayton House Resort is the best money can buy in Myrtle Beach. We are again planning a trip there in late June and we can't wait. Thanks Dayton House Resort for your affordable rates, your service and amenities, and your great location. Anyone who wants to spend a week at an oceanfront resort without paying an arm and a leg should seriously consider the Dayton House Resort.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ERat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    525
    224
    79
    71
See reviews for
772
461
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2006

The Dayton House has a lot of things going for it. Having stayed in other places here, we had to get used to the fact that the parking was across the street. Still, once you get into vacation mode it's not that big a deal. The huge grassy area in front of the complex is definitely a plus, and even though the large contingent of seniors is out there early reserving tables, there's always somewhere to lie down and get some rays.

We enjoyed the pool because it was a good size, and warm enough to just walk into right away. It's true that they have people walking around checking if you are wearing a wristband, but that's a good thing because it keeps away people who don't stay at the hotel. In no way did we find them to be a problem, after a while you don't even notice them. They're just doing their jobs after all.

The location is good because you are not far from Broadway on the Beach and having stayed in the south end on previous visits it was a nice change. The room was your typical efficiency, everything worked, although the coffee maker could have been bigger, and the bathtub was a little tight. Sure, it was only May, but we rarely had to wait more than 20 seconds for an elevator, which was great.

There are a lot of seniors here, but also younger couples and families, so it's a good mix. It may not be a good fit for people with teenage kids perhaps.

On the negative side, we felt very slighted by the desk people when we arrived. We were promised something when we booked (well in advance) and it was not honoured upon arrival. We appealed to a second person and we were basically dismissed. For us that's a red flag; customer service like that almost always guarantees that we will not return. Things worked out fine overall for us, but that's not the point. Next time we will probably spend our accommodation money elsewhere strictly for that reason.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank roncar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, KY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2006

My wife, children and I just returned from a 6 night stay at the Dayton House. My children are ages 2 and 5. We stayed in an Oceanfront 2 room suite. We enjoyed our stay, especially at the rate we booked. The walk-in pool was awesome. We would stay there again.

The good.
1. The walk-in 0-entry pool was very nice, especially with our 2 young children.
2. The hotel was very clean. Our room was clean. The carpet in the room looked new. The pools were cleaned everyday we were there.
3. The are many restaurants that are walking distance from the hotel. Some include Dirty Don's, SoHo, River City Cafe, Uncle Johns, Magnolia's on 26th, Harry's Pancake House. We also walked to Hook's Mini-golf, Pacific beachware, and Eagles beachware. Broadway on the Beach is just a short drive away.
4. The shower had a lot of pressure.

The bad.
1. The rooms were pretty small. Only 1 person could fit into the bathroom at a time. The living room was also small with only a 2 person sofa and 1 chair, but it did include a wall bed. A table and 4 chairs were also squeezed in.
2. The sheets and bath towells were pretty rough, especailly when sunburned.
3. We could hear the plumbing in the other rooms.
4. There is not much parking in the garage. We had to park across the Ocean Blvd behind the West Building, which was sometimes a burden with 2 small children.
5. The "pool security guards" were a little too tough. They told my 5 year old son he couldn't jump off the side of the pool with me there to catch him. I also heard them tell a couple of young kids they could not toss a ball or splash the water. Come on! Let the kids have some fun! (There was only 1 "pool security guard" working at a time, so you could just be on the lookout for him.)

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank bogiechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2006

We just returned from the Dayton House and loved it. The employee wasn't exactly a "security guard" and I was happy to have someone checking to ensure that those on the property were actually hotel guests. Went with three daughters 10, 12 and 14 and we all loved the pools and the lazy river. If we go back to MB, would definately stay here again.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank MaltaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Ont. Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2006

We have stayed at The Dayton House, several times over the past 35 years, and wouldn't stay anywhere else, in Myrtle Beach! We usually come for a 12 TO 15 day period, normally in the spring, (late April/early May), but did visit in Oct. 2005. We were there lately from Mar. 25, until April 10. and had a great time, despite the cooler 55 to 75 degree weather.

As usual the ocean-front efficiency unit we had was very clean, and kept that way, each day, by the friendly cleaning staff. The carpeting looked brand new, and the room was very bright and cheery.

All the (3) pools were operating and heated and the whole area is hosed clean every morning!

We have checked other facilities, over the past years, and have always returned to Dayton House, as we believe it is always kept clean and up-to-date! Over the years we have never had a problem getting the odd item replaced or repaired, as necessary, and have alwayts found the staff to helpful and friendly........................including the owner, who has had this resort for the past 46 years!

I don't think you'll find anything on the beach that has as large a grassy area, and as many tables, umbrellas, chairs and lounges , that are always re-aligned each morning, to make things look neat and tidy!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2006

Just returned from spending our family's Easter vacation at the Dayton House and would warn you that this is definately not a place for families with children. If you're a senior citizen and are content with sitting quietly, then you might like this place. But if, by chance, your children might like to frollick in the pool or toss a soft sponge ball back and forth between them, go someplace else that lives up to its claim of being a family-orientated resort, because the Dayton House isn't! They actually have a security guard on constant patrol in the pool, deck and lawn, checking for resort ID bracelets. The hotel is poorly located alongside two public beach access walkways, and in an attempt to keep out the public, they require guests to wear the ID braclets at all times. If you happen to dose off while soaking up the sun on a lounge chair, the guard will wake you up and demand to see your ID bracelet. This happens constantly, the guard on duty throughout our stay didn't even have the ability to recognize guests that were staying at the hotel for the entire week! My son has scratches on his chest from the loose end of his bracelet. We told him to wear it on his ankle, but he wouldn't, saying the guard was very intimidating if he did'nt display it on his wrist. This policy is unique to the Dayton House because of its terrible location adjoining two public beach access walkways. Other Myrtle Beach resorts don't have this problem and are, as a result, much more relaxing. We overheard other guests saying they felt like they were in a prison. As for the service, we found the employees were unpredictable, some were pleasant and helpful, others rude and uncaring. A woman at the front desk almost had a hissy fit when I asked for a replacement ID bracelet for my child's lost one. And when I called the front desk asking for toilet paper because the maid had left us empty, the reply was "you can come down to the front desk and we will give you some". Luckily, I was able to go and get some, but what if I needed it immediately? The attendant never offered to send any up to our room.
In summary, don't be fooled by their claim to be a family orientated resort, they do not hide the fact that they do not like kids. And if you want friendly service, don't count on getting it at the Dayton House.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank BlueClaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2006

I stayed at this hotel on Easter weekend, and this was the worst service I ever received! When I was at the counter to check-in, the rep. acted as though I was bothering him by asking for a room.
Later that evening, there was a problem concerning my room, and the hotel attendant spoke to me like I was a dog!!! I asked him why he was being so rude to me, and his response was "I am an a****** because I can be"!!! It was 2am and he told me I had to leave, and take my 2 kids with me, one being disabled. I asked him if he would refund my money because I had not stayed the entire night, and he told me "Absolutely not, and I don't care about you having kids with you". I have never in my life been treated so coldly, and I caution anyone looking to visit this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Rasheeda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing