We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, quiet location on Grand Strand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #8 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at this hotel in early May. We had not been to Myrtle Beach in several years, and decided to "wing it" without a reservation, knowing of the near constant construction in this area, and likely wide variety of newer lodging options since our last visit. We decided on the Anderson based on AAA rating, review, in-room amenities, and TripAdvisor rating, and were not disappointed.

We had a well-equipped oceanview studio, which was larger than expected. Queen bed, eating area, kitchenette with micowave, fridge, oven/range, and dishwasher, roomy bath, and in-room laundry! Lovely decor, warm "Tuscan-style" theme/colors, high-quality furnishing and finishes, a refreshing change from many other beachy properties that tend to be heavy on the palm fronds and pastels.

Location was ideal, at the northern end of central MB's "main drag", and bordering a beautiful residential area. So, an easy walk to the newly refurbished Boardwalk (about 15 quick blocks), but apart from the noise and commercialism. Just a 5 minute drive from Broadway on the Beach complex, and restaurants and Route 17 shopping a stone's throw away.

Onsite amenities were perhaps a bit thin compared to other properties of this sort. An onsite pool-area bar did not accept room charges (separately managed/owned), which was a bit odd. We did not avail ourselves of the hotel-affiliated restaurant (which was right across the street), nor the spa (whose prices seemed quite high for the services offered).

Several pools and jacuzzi tubs, and ample lounge chairs fronting the ocean. The property was clean, well-maintained, and staff generally friendly and responsive. This property does not accept HiltonHonors points, but is a Hilton Grand Vacations condo/timeshare property, so there were sales tours being conducted, but nothing high-pressure being pitched to guests like us.

For a five-year-old property, this one is in great shape. Only MINOR things: Room carpet was a bit stained, and could have benefitted from a heavy clean or eventual replacement; potholders in kitchen would have been great; angled balcony a bit cramped for two people. I guess we'll just have to return and spring for a room upgrade next time, and perhaps take advantage of one of the larger 2- or 3-bedroom suites with extended family!

Room Tip: If you get an "oceanview" room, the north-facing rooms enjoy lovely sunrises!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ramblingsandroasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,014)
There are newer reviews for Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,598 - 1,604 of 3,014 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Anderson Ocean Club & Spa 2 times a year for the last 5 years and it has been wonderful. The rooms have always been spectacular. One of the best places we have ever stayed. This time is disgusting. Service is poor, doesn't work to talk to management. The rooms were filthy, hard to get clean linens. Stove had stuff caked all over, carpet was nasty. We have a reservation to come back in August. I think we will try to find something else that is nice. Really disappointed...

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phamptn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

My family and I had a great time. The hotel was right on the beach and we had an oceanfront view. We would open the balcony and listen to the sound of the waves. The staff at the hotel was very pleasant and engaging. The men who worked valet gave us great tips on where to eat and hang out. My daughter really had a great time. The spa was exceptional.
I was glad to have a washer/dryer in the room too.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcharlesscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This hotel is right on the beach and in a safe part of town. Our room was beautiful and very well maintained. It looked brand new.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have wrap around balcony!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Excellent choice for a girls get-away.Already planning to stay at the Anderson again this fall!! Great customer service from the front desk, valet and housekeeping. Coffee bar brewing Starbucks was an added plus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our check in was easy and relatively quick. The rooms were clean with comfy pillows. The murphy bed was quite comfortable however the sofa bed was significantly less comfortable - avoid it if you can. Our first day the beach was rocky and slightly painful to walk on but the next day we were back and it was completely shell free and so perfect for taking long walks. The hot tub was exceedingly hot and the lazy river did not move us on a windy day, but it was still nice! We used it as a workout pool and swam against the current (obviously when we were the only ones using it). The "Starbucks" in the lobby is not really a starbucks, it's just a place that uses Starbucks coffee - my Starbucks gift cards were not usable there. The room we were in was not refurbished but it was still nice. We were on the 10th floor and it appears they are refurbishing from the top down. The only difficulty was the rather large tub that my mom had difficulty climbing into to shower - she's 5' tall and 80 years old. She also did the time share presentation and was out of it pretty quick when she made it clear she did not have the income to purchase no matter what the price. When I've been with her in the past, they've tried to sell me but this time they just ended the presentation relatively quickly. Since it was not crowded when we were there the parking garage was not too difficult to manage however I could see how it would be difficult to navigate and park in if it was crowded. Same with the drop off and valet area - if it is crowded it could be a nightmare! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It appears they are refurbishing from the top down and had not yet gotten to the 10th floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed in 2 bedroom, ocean front, which was quite spacious with a great ocean view. Room was clean, well furnished and decorated with a balcony that extended the length of the condominium. Bar, Starbucks and pool on location. Location was within walking distance to restaurants, nightlife and other establishments of interest. Beds were very comfortable. This was our first stay at Anderson Ocean Club and we are already making plans to visit in September.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joed5504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,171 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts

Address: 2600 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £80 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature luxurious-, two- and three bedroom condominiums with room service and other amenities including a day spa with hair and nail salon, flat screen TVs, fitness center, indoor & outdoor pools, lazy river, Jacuzzi, oceanfront bar, wireless internet and valet parking. Our full service spa offers massages, facials, men’s spa services and more. Close to many nationally recognized golf courses, restaurants and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Anderson Ocean Club And Spa, Oceana Resorts
Anderson Ocean Hotel
Anderson Ocean Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing