We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Experience Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #9 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience Overall”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We are HGVC owners. Not only is this property terrible, your awful experience will start at check in and continuosly get worse during your stay. Myrtle Beach is not worthy of being called a beach to start with and this properties swimming pools are worthless! We are currently staying at the property and will never, ever return, first and last visit to this awful property. We got the typical call from the HGVC reps wanting us to come view their new property and the sale rep agreed with every negative comment and apologized the whole phone call....Hilton should be ashamed to have this property bear their name! Wireless has not worked the entire stay. Parking is terrible, you wait for your car because the are constantly unloading people trying to get checked in and they have a lane and a half of pull through to get to the Valet parking, which is free ONLY because they can't charge for the terrible service. The beach is awful, make sure you read the city rules on tents / structures / and by all means do not place your umbrella in front of the cities high priced beach chairs for rent or you will get a visit from the nice life guards.

Room Tip: Go to Hilton Head, Destin, Orange Beach, Ft. Walton Beach, anywhere but Myrtle Beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank HGVC_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Anderson Ocean Club.
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We sincerely apologize that Myrtle Beach and the Anderson Ocean Club did not meet your expectations. Your comments are important to our success as a company and again we appreciate you taking the time to share them with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    956
    252
    113
    59
See reviews for
1,290
937
48
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked through Oceana/Wyndham but the property is partially owned by and wholly managed by Hilton so we were 2nd class citizens as all focus by staff is on potential Hilton Vacation Club buyers. Sales tours go on constantly. They pressured us in the lobby and called our room trying to get us to go to a Hilton sales pitch but we were not there for that reason. This was a family vacation. I was offended by the invasion of sales people into our vacation.

Computers were down right at check-in time (4pm) and they directed us to the concierge for a welcome gift but she turned out to just be a time share sales woman named Helen who did not take NO for an answer. Later they got back online and we were checked in. When we checked out I had to ask and then wait to get a receipt.

The beach is nice and the view from the balcony and living room is breathtaking. The kitchen was very nice and washer/dryer helpful. Could have used a coat of paint but otherwise the room was nice inside. The fitness room was very nice. We did not use the spa.

Noise was an issue from both the corridor outside the bedroom and from the pool deck. There was no visible security folks to take care of unruly guests. One night we endured someone playing a drum in their room for almost two hours.

There is NO food available onsite except from vending machines or the muffins at Starbucks in the lobby. The pool bar sells only alcohol and is cash only, no charging to the room. There is NO bar food menu even though they advertise one. The staff directs everyone to the restaurant across Ocean Boulevard named Magnolias. They gave us coupons at check-in so we went there the first night but had to leave without eating. Magnolias atmosphere is much like Shoney's. The building smelled like vinegar and food on the buffet was old and dried out at 6:30pm. We ended up eating at Greg Normans at Barefoot Landing and it was excellent. We drove to Restaurant Row or Broadway at the Beach for dinner every night.

One day they forgot to clean our room while we were out for the bulk of the day. Called for service at 4pm and they did send someone to tidy up. Funny thing is she had no toilet paper on her cart and instead of going to get some told us to call the front desk for it, so they had to send another person up with that. Other days the room was kept clean. They even ran the dishwasher for us.

Valet service struggles. They briefly lost our keys one day. Most frustrating is that they have no luggage carts for guests to use and insist they handle all baggage. I complained at the desk about this but was told I had to use the valet service. Call me a control freak but I would rather do it myself!

There is NO business center even though they advertise one. Wi-Fi service worked well.

Pools were crowded and noisy and the 'indoor' pools really are just under an overhang. There is one attendant at the pools with towels. A vendor comes and sells Italian ice during the day. There are no other food or drinks available and she only takes cash, no charging to the room.

They really need to put in a convenience store to sell soda, water, snacks, lotions, souvenirs, etc. They need a classy restaurant with room service. Hilton needs to either take over or move out and they need to lay off the sales pitches to people who are not there for that. Some security folks could help with the noisy pool and hallways and to control the partiers. Valet could be moved to the front of the hotel and a professional doorman employed. A few luggage carts for self-serve could be purchased.

Overall not a good value at $300-$400 per night.

Room Tip: Bedroom windows open onto a corridor that is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank gandersonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Anderson Ocean Club. We apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate parties, and are taking actions to address these issues immediately. We do appreciate your feedback and hope that you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Fabulous beach and they will take care of you! GReat restaurants along the way and the boardwalk is a fun little adventure. Take time to stroll the beach and go shell shopping there are many "finds" to be had! Running along the beach is the best in the morning before the crowd settles in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Ok so we are HGVC owners. You need to know that this is not the usually HGVC property. This location has rooms that belong to condo owners, hotel rooms, and time share owners all in the same building. If you are use to food by the pool, kid activities, and the full service that you get at a HGVC property then this place won't have all that. However we did have a great stay. The pool was nice and clean and kept our toddlers busy. The front desk and concierge were fantastic. Helena was very helpful with golf reservation. The valets was a bit slow at high volume times but they were on top of the job and very very friendly!!. I asked for a tequila neat with a water back and Vitoria ( who was super nice and friendly) had no idea what I meant. If you want a real drink go to 21st st SOHO Sushi and ask for Trisha or Nicole. All the staff had on the Hilton smiles that we are use to. Hilton is building a new location in Myrtle beach that will have the full layout. We took our kids down for a movie at the pool but they had technical problems so the kids were upset. If you are use to a poboy sandwich the New Orleans style don't order one in Myrtle Beach, went to Dirty Dons and all I got was a hotdog bug with lettuce, tomato and 3 oysters -dry as hell! Dolly Parton Pirate Show was SUPER!!! and the kids loved it. We would stay at this location again, just remember that every one you see in the elevator is not a time share owner. Say hi to Phil the valet if you want to know were the parties are. Oh and Barb at the front desk kept a smile and good vibes on her face ALL the time. We went 6/6/14

Room Tip: Ocean Front of coarse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TwinTravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My family & I stayed at the Anderson from 6/9 - 6/12 and we absolutely loved it! Before we booked our stay, I read hundreds of reviews on several different properties and made the decision to stay at the Anderson. We are so glad we chose this property! We stayed in a 1 bedroom King suite- oceanfront. We were put up on the 16th floor and the view from our balcony was amazing! I highly recommend spending the extra money to stay oceanfront vs. oceanview and requesting a room on a higher floor - you will not be disappointed! The suite was clean & well kept - which was the biggest concern for me - I travel with my own cleaning supplies (bleach, lysol, etc) and I'm happy to say that upon arrival & inspection of the property was thoroughly cleaned. It was also very well stocked - all kitchen essentials (cups, bowls, utensils, etc.) There is also a washer/dryer unit included in the suite and even though it is small - it is such a great thing to have while on vacation! Just be sure to bring your own detergent and dryer sheets - they are not provided in room. The king sized bed was very comfortable & all linens appeared to be spotless. The window in the bedroom that overlooks the inside corridor hallway, was quite strange in design, but is covered by a heavy curtain that closes to provide privacy. I actually just used one of those chip clip things to close it completely and block out all light. It was also very quiet at night - we only experienced one issue with some rude, drunk, neighbors who were pounding on the door next to us around 12:30am - but I think when you're at the beach you're bound to experience at least 1 or 2 low-class guests who have too much to drink and become a nuisance to others. We used valet parking during our entire stay and were so glad we did! The valets were all very nice & retrieved our vehicle quickly every time we called for them. As for the ocean/beach access - it was terrific! The pool/lazy river areas were also nice. My son and husband enjoyed them very much - I only used the lazy river 1 time because I'm not a huge fan of public pools,etc. There is also a nice poolside bar that serves drinks - which is convenient. Some other reviewers complained about the Starbucks located in the lobby, however I think it was pretty decent. If you're a realistic traveler and you're not expecting a full service Starbucks with all the bells and whistles of a free standing store, than you will be pleased with the offerings of this amenity. We didn't get a chance to play mini-golf or visit the waterpark that we received free admission to during our stay so I can't comment on either of those things.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay at the Anderson and I would highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: Oceanfront is worth every $$$!! Request a room on a high floor for the best view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The room was great and we had very good service. I wondered why they didn't really show any pool pictures on the website but it was obvious when I got there. The pool area was tiny and it was packed with kids. At least one pool ended up closed almost daily. I am a Hilton owner but would never have purchased if this was the property I viewed. There needs to be more adult friendly resorts.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunnykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havertown
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Luxurious one bedroom with full kitchen and washer and dryer. The kitchen had everything we needed. Someone thought through all the needs (except for salt and pepper). There was a washer and dryer which was very convenient. The only thing that was disappointing was the lack of restaurant options in the vicinity. We had a room on he 17th floor. If was quiet and perfect. My only complaint is the the hilton people selling the ownership via the concierge desk/welcome packet.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grantgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.0 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,069 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
6.8 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
0.4 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts

Property: Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Address: 2600 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature luxurious-, two- and three bedroom condominiums with room service and other amenities including a day spa with hair and nail salon, flat screen TVs, fitness center, indoor & outdoor pools, lazy river, Jacuzzi, oceanfront bar, wireless internet and valet parking. Our full service spa offers massages, facials, men’s spa services and more. Close to many nationally recognized golf courses, restaurants and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Anderson Ocean Club And Spa, Oceana Resorts
Anderson Ocean Hotel
Anderson Ocean Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing