We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HGVC review.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #10 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“HGVC review.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Three nights went by fast in myrtle. I travel to MB frequently and have stayed at a couple resorts. HGVC Myrtle Beach is the best on the sand. I can appreciate this location not having the same amenities because of the view and quality of the rooms. The resort has come a long way since I've bought here. I'm glad progress is still being made and look forward to coming back.

I have read some of the other reviews for the property and can relate and understand their point of view. Their right with a lot of the statements but the location and great service make up for where the property is lacking.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 4EddyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,559
    962
    253
    113
    59
See reviews for
1,304
945
48
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Butner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent three nights at the Anderson Ocean Club and Spa this past weekend....We stayed with family who are I think It's called Grand vacation members? Anyway we had a two bedroom ocean view on the 10th floor.

We loved the suite...full kitchen with dishes, pans, utensils...dishwasher...also there was a washer and dryer. Both bedrooms had TV's..and although we did not have maid service anything we needed was promptly delivered. Another thing I really enjoyed was the valet parking....it's a tight squeeze in those parking decks sometimes so having valet parking was a real plus for me.

There is also a Starbucks in the Lobby...we didn't use it..but good to know it's there for future visits.

Every single person we encountered from the front desk..to repair guy in the elevator...housekeeping...valet and bellmen people were great...friendly and always speaking to you.

Only drawback for us was the small pools...and that the place was overrun with kids! but it's the last week before school starts and can't blame the kiddos for having fun!!

We will definitely look into a nice mid week getaway in the fall...it is centrally located so a nice walk to a couple of our favorite restaurants...

All in all a great place!

Room Tip: Would love an ocean front room next time..but the side view was also nice...10 floor was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgoer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Absolutely loved this resort. Great location, beautiful accommodations, amazing views, crazy comfy beds, nice perks (water park tickets and free miniature golf) at a reasonable price. Most praise would have to go to the housekeeping staff. Our rooms (we had a two-bedroom and a three-bedroom) were immaculate at check-in. The housekeepers we encountered were by far the friendliest and most helpful of any resort stay I can remember anywhere. Special thanks to Bianca (from Jamaica?) who was a delight in helping us restock towels and supplies. The front desk staff is also exceptional as they make guests feels very special and appreciated. We are serial vacationers and have to rate this stay as one of our very best anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: 3-bedroom units have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The reviews are accurate. The positives of this hotel are location to Broadway on the beach, easy access to the beach, free water park admission, upscale 3 bedroom condo with kitchen. No doubt this hotel is on a busy part of the beach, our family loves that. We like to walk to the boardwalk and restaurants. The pools are small, but there is one under cover that can be used during rain. Also the lack of a nice bar and restaurant on site did not matter as our condo kitchen was an elevator ride away. The reviews are correct on the parking garage being away from the hotel, but we walked a lot and did not need to access our car several times a day. Bottom line, MB is a family oriented big beach town. Our kids LOVE it. With all its faults our family still loved our stay and felt the hotel was really well maintained and upscale. One footnote...every staff member I encountered was beyond curious and friendly even if it was just on the elevator.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank kristaPGHPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We are budget travelers and without the "timeshare" deal, we never would have stayed here. We checked in on a Tuesday, had the timeshare presentation on Wednesday morning and flew back out on Thursday. It was a quick trip but really nice. Check in was a breeze, to start with, and the room was beautiful. Everything that we needed. You could tell the furniture was expensive and the bed was really comfortable. I would want to stay here if we came for a longer trip- the kitchen was nice and well supplied and having a washer and dryer in the room would be super convenient. The timeshare sale lasted right at two hours and would probably be a good deal if you travel quite a bit and like to stay at really nice hotels. And have lots of money. It's fairly pricey and for the cheapest package, they wanted more than $1000 up front. We told them no, it was too expensive for us, probably three times, they gave us our "free night" certificate and sent us on our way. No haggling, begging or guilting. The part I miss the most is getting a Starbucks from the lobby in the morning and sitting on the balcony watching the ocean. Or maybe watching the fireworks from the balcony at night- so many great things. It was just a great place and I would definitely stay again, were it priced where I could afford it. Really nice hotel and a great short trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio on the north side of the building, was plenty of room for 2 but probably not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elisabethhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here as part of our Hilton Grand Vacation time share. Check in was a breeze and you get free valet if you're with Hilton Grand Vacation. No problems with room - we had 2 bedroom. Everything was clean, kitchen/living room/bedooms and bathroom were all nice. Terrace was huge and overlooked a decent beach. Beds comfortable. Hotel pools good but nothing special. Lazy river pool seemed kind of silly considering size but it's something that a lot of hotels have in Myrtle Beach. Only issues we had were some of the appliances and furniture could use updating and wi-fi is medicore. That said, we're on vacation so wi-fi not that big a deal and you can always use smartphone cell service. We usually waited no more than 5 minutes for car and location is convenient to top attractions. I should also add that I've never stayed at another Hilton time share property before - only used RCI points until now. I've read a few reviews saying this is not up to "Hilton" standards but we all were pleased with experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klebbeck236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It gets a two for location, I have to give it that. This was a last minute reservation for only one night for a birthday trip with my daughter. Starting with the arrival, you pull into the garage with narrow limited space to manuever. You pull up to a cheap outside desk for valet where you unload your car. Since we were there for only one night we had minimal bags but did have beach chairs so needed the rolling luggage trolley. We were told we could not use them, that a bell person had to help us. Ok this is a little crazy so thus this means you HAVE to tip. Another vehicle unloaded all their bags on the bench there and went up and down until they had all their luggage taken up. That policy is crazy!! Next, if you don't valet park, parking is across the street and the second block up so for $12 we did valet. There are only two doors into where you check in from this valet desk, it is very crowded and the hallway is very narrow. Upon check in we were given no wristbands for the pool. Went up to our room, very small for what is advertised. The kitchen is very narrow but is a full kitchen. The balcony has 2 chairs and a small table which the balcony was not big enough for because when you would slide the door, it would catch on the back of one of the chairs so if someone was sitting there they had to get up to open/close the sliding glass door. We were on the 12th floor and di have a nice view. The room was not clean. There was cleaning spray visably left on the glass on the pictures as well as the telephone. I did take pictures of this if the hotel wishes to contact me and see them. There were large nics in the wall from where the backs of chairs had hit against them so much. There were large black marks on the walls. The washing machine was broke and we did call. They sent maintenance who said it was going to be a 30 minute job. My daughter was already in bed so I said forget it. Our room was righgt beside a model where tours went on nonstop during the day and lots of talking. It sounded as if the people were right in our room they were so loud. We called down for a pedicure and were told oh, we aren't a full service spa we don't do manicures or pedicures. This was a disappointment given it was raining and looking for something relaxing to do. Also, the massages were $100. Sorry, I have paid less at Boca Raton Florida and this is certainly not Boca!! Unbelievable!! LJ, our bell person was very nice and accomodating. He actually was the other positive along with the location. I did make this reservation through booking.com but that does not mean my room should be lesser quality and not clean with working appliances. Tip to you there, my room was $100 less on booking.com than through the hotel and still paid $339. Not worth the money at all and again cannot believe it's affiliated with Hilton.

Room Tip: Try to be on the north side. If you are on the south side you have a view of an older hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bankerchic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts, responded to this review, 1 March 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Anderson Ocean Club and Spa.
Feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met. We apologize that the room you were given did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness and are disappointed that our commitment to these items was not evident during your stay. We have shared your comments and concerns with our managers and staff and do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.0 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#4 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,690 reviews
2.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts

Property: Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Address: 2600 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature luxurious-, two- and three bedroom condominiums with room service and other amenities including a day spa with hair and nail salon, flat screen TVs, fitness center, indoor & outdoor pools, lazy river, Jacuzzi, oceanfront bar, wireless internet and valet parking. Our full service spa offers massages, facials, men’s spa services and more. Close to many nationally recognized golf courses, restaurants and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Anderson Ocean Club And Spa, Oceana Resorts
Anderson Ocean Hotel
Anderson Ocean Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing