We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Caravelle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Caravelle Resort
Ranked #33 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from an amazing experience...speedy, friendly and professional check in/out by Donna and Jay...well maintained garage, grounds, halls and especially the rooms...very clean..no nicked furniture and appliances...kitchen and bathroom towels were plentiful. Bed linens and window treatments appeared/felt brand new as were the one's in my daughter/son-in-law's room. Breakfast in the Santa Maria restaurant was outstanding...waffles/omelets by Judy and Robert were delicious....we look forward to returning often! We also saw dolphins from our balcony!

Room Tip: Make sure you book an ocean front, you might get to see dolphins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racerqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We appreciate you taking a moment to leave a review in regards to your recent stay at the Caravelle. Donna, Jay, Judy, Robert and the rest of our team are always eager to bring a smile to your face and ensure you have a wonderful vacation experience. We look forward to assisting you in planning another exciting, fun-filled, and enjoyable vacation for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    707
    308
    233
    214
See reviews for
1,120
636
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinebluff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

As the title says, best place I've stayed in Myrtle Beach. I didn't use it but if you like pools they have an elaborate facility to accommodate any age. Access to the beach is handy. Santa Maria restaurant was great for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We greatly appreciate your comments and are thrilled that you had such a wonderful vacation experience at the Caravelle. We hope you will have an opportunity to check out some of our other great resort amenities (fitness center, game room, block long pool scape, etc) during your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you are the kind of person who wants a fancy resort and likes to stay in your room or use all the in-house facilities, this is not the place for you. Resign yourself to paying more money if you want all the fancy things in life. However, if you go to Myrtle Beach to get out every day on the beach, shopping, movies, etc. and just want a convenient, safe place to come back to and sleep, the Caravelle could be just what you're looking for. The decor is simple but neat and clean. Free wi-fi access is great and connection is immediate.The beach access is excellent, parking is convenient, and the Santa Maria Restaurant offers a very nice breakfast bar which can be purchased daily or as part of a package with your room reservations. Room rates in the off-season are very reasonable and leave you more money to spend on other things while on your vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your review of the Caravelle Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay. Our mission is to provide all of our guests with the most exciting, fun-filled and enjoyable vacation experience ever. Please us know how we can better serve you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I stayed on Oct 9th through Oct 12th. We initially had an ocean view room, but after I called and spoke with Marilyn, she happily upgraded us to a ocean front king efficiency (about an 80 dollar upgrade according to their website) for the same price. When we arrived we entered our 11th floor room by way of fairly slow elevator and I immediately smelled an odor that is best described as "clean yet old". I sprayed a little febreeze and it cleared up the smell without further issue.

I found the bed comfy and the furnishings a little dated but functional. The kitchen seemed to work just fine. We had one incident with the toilet, but maintenance and housekeeping took care of it pronto.

Loved the pool and water facilities. I'll most likely be coming back for them alone. They were great.

The view from 11 stories waterfront was magnificent. Go as high as you can.

Be careful with the elevators. Another guest was stuck in the one closest to our room, and I heard tales of it happening more than once during our short stay.

We didn't eat breakfast on the property but I heard rave reviews from a few other guests. Give it a go, when booked through the front office you receive a discount that makes the price pretty competitive with other breakfast joints in the area.

Make sure you get your discount card from the front desk as well. No amazing discounts, but everything adds up, and there were a lot of places to choose from on the list.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay at the Caravelle. I prefer the suites to the 'hotel room' style room we had here, but for the price it's hard to beat it. I very, very likely will give Caravelle another stay when we are in the area, and thank you so much to Marilyn for giving us such a great deal on our room!

Room Tip: Go as high as you can, the view is stunning! Make sure you specify which of the Caravelle buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigPapaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback, as we are always looking for ways to better accommodate our guests' needs. We hope you and your wife will plan a return visit to the Caravelle soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Kitchen needs updated and the elevators are slow. Have stayed here 3 times and would stay here again. Like the comfortable and goods size rooms, the great value, and the convenient location. The staff is very friendly and commited to making your stay a good one. We always stay on the 15th floor in an oceantfront suite with a kitchen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sglraleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We are so pleased that you chose to stay with the Caravelle Resort for the third time. We pride ourselves on providing clean, friendly accommodations, as we strive to ensure our guests create wonderful memories to carry home. We look forward to your fourth visit with the Caravelle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middletown de
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

beautiful hotel beautiful view looking forward to staying here again next year.hoping to bring some friends.view from our room was perfect.hope to get same room next year. woman we had for housekeeping was awesome made sure she was able to get in room everyday

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Caravelle is a great place for families. The rates are excellent and the rooms are very nice. We stayed on the 7th floor where there is an indoor pool, hot tub and a section to lay out and get some sun and still see and hear the ocean. Nice marble counters in kitchen and bathrooms and the TV is flat screen. We will be back!

Room Tip: Stay on the 7th floor ocean front efficiency room because of the indoor pool, hot tub and lay-out se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moogirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caravelle Resort

Property: The Caravelle Resort
Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caravelle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing