We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,738)
Filter reviews
2,738 results
Traveller rating
1,148
755
343
249
243
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
755
343
249
243
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta mariacarolina dunesmiss judyocean frontsun deckbreakfast buffetlazy riverthe room was nicegolf tripoceanfront roomkiddie poolbeach accessfull kitchenhousekeeping staffstevievacationcondo
Filter
Updating list...
1,576 - 1,581 of 2,738 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Caravelle from the December 22nd to January 1st. highly recommend the Jacuzzi Suite - spacious and very comfortable. A great surprise was that the resort keeps their outdoor pool heated - going for an outdoor swim everyday was a bonus. only negative was the maid service - it wasn't terrible just inconsistent in terms of the quality of work and time they would come. the balcony on our suite was well protected form the wind so even on the coller days were able to sit outside and enjoy the sun.
We would not hesitate to stay at Caravelle again.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite spacious and comfortable bed
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSKMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for the review you have given in regards to your stay at the Caravelle this past December. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your beach getaway and were able to enjoy one of our oceanfront jacuzzi suites. We apologize for any inconsistency with your housekeeping service, and we will use your feedback to make improvements. We hope you will return and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Two employees turned what could have been a disaster of a stay into an enjoyable experience. Marilyn and Heather at the front desk were exceptional when my wife and I had some problems with the first room we were in. They got us into a different room and solved all of our problems and truly cared about our experience there. We are repeat customers here and always enjoy our stay but this trip could have been a nightmare if not for these two employees. They more than made up for our issues.

Room Tip: We love the ocean front efficiency rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We went for a long weekend and wanted to be near my friends who were staying somewhere else for a week along the strip. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement. First of all, it was NOT clear where to check in - or where to park. When we got to our room, it had old appointments and it wasn't as clean as I would have liked - the room smelled and the door didn't close as it should have. Not only THAT but the bed was SO bad that I literally rolled to the edge of the bed and almost fell out!!!

The ONLY saving grace was that the room faced the ocean...but then I'm sure there were other locations that face the ocean in the same price range. That was the ONLY thing of value for this hotel. We will not be returning. There are WAY too many other newer and cleaner hotels to stay in.

Room Tip: If it's an older hotel, ask if the rooms have been updated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seralynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review in regards to your recent stay at the Caravelle. We strive to provide all our guests with a relaxing, memorable vacation experience, and unfortunately we did not succeed during your visit. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be used to ensure future guests receive the fun-filled get-away that they desire. We invite you to consider a future stay with us, so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with the enjoyable vacation you seek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We thought we were getting a great deal as we booked our vacation while they were running a 26% discount sale, but overall we were fairly disappointed with our stay. While the front desk was very helpful upon check-in, there were far too few employees working with so many people in line (this was the case the few times we had to go to the front desk at various times - wait time no shorter than 20 mins). We LOVED our housekeeper - she was always willing to give us extras with a smile, though the one time we were headed to the beach and needed towels I couldn't find her. I found the housekeeper on another floor and she was RUDE - told me it wasn't time for towels yet and if we needed them we'd have to walk across the street to the front desk (see previous point about the front desk). The staff was often found smoking in the stairwell or right outside the doors. The elevators were down for nearly 24 hours for maintenance and we were not informed before our stay. Traveling up and down 4 flights of steps with 5 kids was exhausting and ended up being EXTREMELY dangerous when the power went out for several hours (you had to light a lighter to see in the stairwell). Also, we had to throw leftover food in the refrigerator away as well as it became room temperature when we lost power. There was no apology to anyone - when I had to go to the front desk to get another room key, I heard a LOT of guests complaining of the rude staff in the hotel regarding the stairwell and power outage. The room was 'ok' - lots of cigarette ashes on our balcony furniture... some remnants of roaches that had recently been exterminated... broken cabinet doors.. but it was definitely large enough to accomodate our large family. The outdoor bar/grille for our hotel was a huge plus for us booking our stay as we could get food and drinks right on the beach, however it was closed for our trip in EARLY AUGUST with temperatures in the high 80's - total disappointment. The one day it rained we found out that the indoor pool was also closed for maintenance - another disappointment. Had we known of the elevator, pool and bar/grille we would have likely made reservations elsewhere. While the Caravelle did send us a questionairre about our stay, which I gave the good and the bad, their response was to give us 20% off our next stay. I told them 'no thanks' - we got a better deal just going to their website last year and it wasn't even worth that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for the feedback in regards to your stay this past August. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with an exciting, fun-filled and enjoyable vacation experience, and unfortunately, in your case we were unsuccessful. Please know that your comments are appreciated and will be used to ensure we are more fully staffed, provide better guest service, and improve communication in regards to unforeseen maintenance challenges. We hope you will consider a future stay with us, so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with a vacation you will want to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location, beautiful ocean views. Room was a little on the small side, but was kept nice and well cleaned throughout entire stay. Pools are great. All staff members were very pleasant and helpful. Enjoyed the entertainment that was provided on a daily basis. Loved watching the hula dancing and fire dancing show. Especially enjoyed meeting and hanging out with MagicAl. Very nice, laid back, and friendly guy who really lives up to his name. Just go down to the main lawn and he will mesmerize you with his awesome balloon art. His funny antics will put a smile on everyone's face young and old alike. This guy is really great at what he does a true asset to this resort. Is definitely a place worth coming back to.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your review of the Caravelle Resort in regards to your stay with us in August. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an outstanding vacation experience. You will be happy to hear that we have re-booked Chief Kamu for a complimentary fire and hula show each Monday during this upcoming summer season. MagicAl will also be returning, and he has been working all fall to come up with amazing new balloon creations! Let us know when you are ready to plan you next Myrtle Beach get-away. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews