We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“This was a pretty nice place for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Caravelle Resort
Ranked #31 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This was a pretty nice place for the price!”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

My husband and 2 teenagers stayed at the Caravelle resort the week before Labor Day weekend. This is the time to go. The beach is so quiet with only about 20 people in sight at any given time. We checked out on Saturday...thank goodness because there were over 300 check ins the day before. The whole week we shared the pool, lazy river and hot tub with only about a half dozen people. It was also quite inexpensive , about $90 a night for an ocean front suite with one bedroom and kitchen. The suite was nice but the furniture was a little worn for being remodeled last year. They should have invested in more quality furnishings. The molding was missing off one of the dresser drawers and there were nails sticking out that I kept cutting my fingers on every time I shut the drawer. The decor was trendy but the colors were an ugly mustard color. The beds were a little hard but overall it wasn't a bad place to stay. The pool area was very nice and there was a kiddie section that looked like a lot of fun for small children. They do have a pigeon problem though, they had pooped all over half of the lounge chairs while landing on the top of the building. There is also an indoor pool and hottub but the water was too warm in the pool I thought. The buffet breakfast was the best I have ever had at a hotel. They also make omelettes and waffles to order included in the $7.95 price for the buffet. There was an exercise room and billiard and arcade rooms, an ice cream shop, pool bar cabana, and a small store all reasonably priced. Parking wasn't a problem with 2 garages and it's free. Housekeeping staff was very friendly and provided plenty of towels. They came everyday and were really thorough. We called the front desk for dish soap and someone brought it within minutes. There is a safe in the closet that you pick your own combination. You might want to take some of your own utensils because they were sparse. No pancake flipper or spatulas. There was a toaster, mixer, can opener, and coffee maker. No pot holders or paper towels. A full size stove and fridge and a microwave were in the kitchen. Cupboard doors were worn because they were low quality but they were clean. We will probably stay here again if we go back to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    713
    312
    238
    216
See reviews for
1,134
647
30
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
windsor,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2009

The rooms especally the bathroom was disgusting and in 4 days ours was cleaned once on the 3rd day,it wasn't clean on arrival but we kept making excuses as to why this was happening. You get 1 bar of soap,1 shampoo,1 coffee(No sugar/creamer) for a 4 day stay & the manager says this is normal!!!!!! Not where I've been the tap in washbasin was just sat in hole not exactly connected to sink,one bed had blanket the other not the manager said only thing they do in 4 days is change sheets on 3rd day,why not 2nd its still 2 sheet changes(maybe) the floors still had previous peoples mess we should have complained but because we prepaid didn't want to get it. They have cosmetically painted the outside to fool you the inside needs to be totally redone. I would not send my worst enemy there

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mykelti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

went to the caravelle with 8 of our family members, had a 3 bedroom 3 bath room. it was very nice, big rooms and we all had our own baths and tv. really enjoyed our stay. everyone was happy. maid service was there every morning to see if we needed anything. would stay there again and recommend to others .

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintersville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We just recently stayed at your resort. The pools were wonderful. We stayed at the towers next to the main building. Not so happy with it. Dirty Dirty Dirty. However, the maids were wonderful. They came everyday and brought clean towels and did their daily routine. The couch had horrible stains YUCK and the floor had stains all over it also. Would I stay again? NO!! The young girl that checked us in was terribly rude. I called to report our safe wasn't working and could not get into it to get my wallet. She just told me I had to wait my turn because there were alot of problems with the hotel that day. I BET THERE WAS! If you put 8 million dollars in renovations in this hotel,,,,YOU GOT RIPPED OFF. The restaurant was great. The hostess there was fabulous but the hotel is just too dirty and your front desk is too rude!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorry2stayedhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahagonydime24
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I reserved my "Caravelle Resort - Oceanview Efficiency (Double) suite at least 2 months in advance. Afterwards, I kept reading a mixture of good and bad reviews, so I decided to stick with them. I'm glad I did!
Even though some of the reviews were correct:
-The Elevator IS slow
-The Wireless Internet only really worked while we were on the balcony (don't try and hook any video games to the internet, wont work)
-The door was hard to open at times
-Parking Deck filled up fairly quickly - had to park across the street (No big deal though, it's a great place to stay so alot of people visit, it's bound to be full)
However:
They had a lot more perks than faults. The rooms looked exactly like the pictures online. The toilet clogged on us 1 time, and maintenance reached us in less then 5 minutes - fixed it right up. They are very friendly and efficient when checking in and out.
If you have kids, they'll love the pool area.
Location is great, not to close and not to far from the main attractions. I hope this review helps someone, like othersreviews helped me!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahagonydime24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, OH
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I was VERY nervous coming into the resort because I had read so many poor reviews. I will just let you know what my opinon is of the services that I used. We are a family of 5...three children, 15, 7 and 5...all boys. We reserved the Oceanfront Jacuzzi Suite which has a full kitchen with a dishwasher, a living room with a double wall bed and a double sofa bed (which the children slept on and loved), then a separate room with a King bed and a jacuzzi. The balcony was accessible thru the living room and the bedroom, which was really nice because my husband and I could go out onto the balcony for quiet time at night and in the morning without waking the children. The room also has two full bathrooms.

The view was unbelievable.....nothing blocked our view on the 4th floor....all we saw from both windows was the ocean. It was breath-taking.

There were some minor problems but nothing to keep us from coming back.

Pros:
*the oceanfront view---a must if you can afford it (but if you reserve using some of the online specials that the Caravelle has, it makes it very affordable)
*our room was everything we thought it would be. It looked just like the pictures. It was very clean, the cooling system worked...we didn't have any smells
*the beach access was just thru the pool area and over the deck....very, very close!
*the main pools and water play areas were fun and the children loved them
*we had maid service everyday...she came in a vacuumed, cleaned a little, took our wet towels and gave us clean ones.
*great value
*nice location--you aren't close to all of the noise of the late night activites of Myrtle Beach, but you are just a 10 minute drive away from them

Cons:
*the hotel grounds could have been kept cleaner ( hallways, garages) were musty and sometimes dirty...some of it is a little understandable because wet guests were constantly walking about
*the garages were soooo tight! We have a standard SUV and the parking garages were so hard to get out of. I recommend parking in the garage across the street because of how tight the main garage is...it's horrible
*the chairs at the pool area are all taken by 10 am, so if you want a chair, take your towels down when it opens at 9 to reserve your seats or else you won't have one until the activity dies down around 3 pm
*the indoor pool is really old and run down and needs repainted

Like I said, I will stay again, just because our room was so wonderful...the area is great and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marritah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2009

\One elevator was OUT OF ORDER. Saturday check-in took us almost 1 hour 30 min to get our luggage to the room. The fridge was not working, Called front desk, told someone to check on it.
Wayne checked out our fridge--reset it and told us he would see if another was available, but never checked back.We are paying you 4$$$TO STAY HERE.Please fix it!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bug2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#23 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
7.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caravelle Resort

Property: The Caravelle Resort
Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3640
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caravelle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing