We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE....”
Review of Ocean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Creek Resort
Ranked #45 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Ocean Creek Resort for almost 25 years. We are currently staying there (for 4 months) as SnowBirds. We love the location, the proximity to great bars, restaurants and shopping. It is located right on the beach and has direct access to US17, all of which we love.

Many of our friends and family come here for the same reasons, but despite our loyalty, Ocean Creek delivers poor and indifferent service. Simple problems do not get solved. Our 2 bdrm lodge unit lacks a few simple items. Without getting into petty details, and despite repeated telephone requests, our telephone calls are ignored. And we still have our issues.

We continue to love this place and, as difficult as it is to believe, we will probably come back. But, it will never, ever be with a booking thru Ocean Creek Resort itself. In future we will rent from a private owner or from someone else booking units. Our past experiences with Ocean Creek Resort and it's staff are over.

It is sad that such a good place could do such a bad job servicing it's guests.

Room Tip: Book with a private owner or with a rental agency.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceancreek73, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for staying at Ocean Creek for the last 25 years! We value our customers and want each and every one to have a great experience with us. We take guest satisfaction seriously, and every time we are informed of a guest problem or issue we take immediate action to make sure the problem is corrected. Again, thank you for patronizing us for the last 25 years. We hope you decide to stay with us for 25 more years of great memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Creek Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

925 - 931 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

I have stayed in 3 bedroom condos in the Ocean Creek towers twice over the last two years for a group golf outing organized thru Ocean Creek. The first year I thought maybe the condo we got was an aberration. It looked like it had not been touched since the 1980's when it was first built. Grimy old teal green carpet, old furniture and fixtures, old kitchen and baths. This year, the unit we got was even worse, which I did not think possible. In addition to everything being OLD, it was not well maintained or clean. The refrigerator was rusted out on the side that was visible. Gross old furniture, dirty walls, floors and baseboards. The shower fixtures were gross and rusted. Even the balcony furniture was moldy and disgusting. I will never again sign up for this golf outing so long as they stay at Ocean Creek. The facility is tired and management should not put guests in substandard condos until the owners pony up for major updates. It's a shame because the resort is in a lovely setting and has one of the best stretches of beach on the Grand Strand.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rose Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We've stayed at OC every year for the past 15 years, and during those years we have been in 15 different condos. That has now changed. We stayed in unit PP6 in the South Tower and absolutely loved it. It has an expanded deck area that offers so much more outdoor room than a standard patio. As far as the resort goes, it's hard to beat OC with its great family pools, two big hot tubs, the inlet creek that fills up during high tide, and the overall friendliness of every staff member we encounter. It feels like home.

Room Tip: South Tower has best ocean views. As already stated, unit PP6 is AWESOME!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank UNCLEJ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at Ocen Creek. The first time we stayed in the South Tower, this time the North Tower. Even though the unit's decor may be dated, the unit was very clean and well maintained. Our unit had an ocean front balcony, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths (1 with tub/shower, the other with shower), full kitchen with all appliances (microwave, refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, coffee maker, garbage disposal), full size washer and dryer, wet bar and living/dining area. Even though we went the third week of September, the pools and gym facility were open and the beach club was open Thursday-Saturday. Every day you could see the maintenance staff cleaning the grounds. It is a very short walk to the beach. The beach is very clean. Ocean Creek is literally across the street from Barefoot Landing. But because the towers and lodges are set way back from the highway, you don't hear any noise. At the towers, you just hear the sound of the waves! I love Ocean Creek and I think they do a great job keeping the place clean, protected and maintained.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elwebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We went down for a short weekend and stayed at Ocean Creek based on driving past the impressive entrance for years, the price, and a friends recommendation. Although we arrived quite late the staff was very friendly and helpful at check in. We followed the directions to the lodge but the layout was quite confusing and we had to search for a little while to find our room. The facility is very dated and as we walked around I became more and more anxious that we were in for rooms with lots of noise from other units. However, I have to admit that once in the room we didn't hear anything outside our room. The room was VERY spacious with plenty of space for the two of us and a very large bathroom. Everything was well maintained although there was a little creaking in the floor. Of course, the decor and appliances etc were dated. The bed was comfortable and as I said the room was quite so no complaints. I'll review the restaurant in a different review. The next morning as we experienced the resort again you had the feeling that you were in a resort with some age on it(I've been going to MB for over 30 years and I believe this resort has been around for at least that long), but while everything looked tired, everything that I encountered worked and we saw maintenance guys running around all the time. All in all I don't think I would pick this spot for a romantic getaway as there are not really any resort like splurges. But for a short weekend at the beach it was Great, possibly for a beach week(but I've never had one of those...) I'd definately go back for a weekend if the price is right!

Room Tip: If your're not staying in one of the towers, stay in the lodges. I believe the lower numbers ar...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This was our first time to Ocean Creek and we really enjoyed it!! When we arrived there is a security gate so Ocean Creek guests are the ONLY ones allowed on the property.We stayed in The Tower North and the lobby in the north tower was BEAUTIFUL AND CLEAN.Staff works VERY HARD here and are doing an awesome job keeping it top-notch.The pools and corridors and public areas are also spotless.The north tower restrooms we BRAND NEW too.All units are spacious too.I aware you that ALL THE UNITS ARE INDIVIDUALLY OWNED BY OTHER PEOPLE.But many of them are kept nice so don't worry.The location is amazing!! YOU ARE IN THE HEART OF EVERYTHING INCLUDING BAREFOOT LANDING!! Most of the bad reviews are just because of a unit.If you book through Ocean Creek just ask for an upgraded unit.If you don't book through Ocean Creek -I reccomend VRBO.com.Breakfast at Four Seasons Restaurant (in the resort) was great.If you don't stay in the towers they have trolleys always going around and the people driving them are so nice and polite-same as all of all the staff here.There is also volleyball,a playground,pools- even in the villas ,fitness room,game room,and putting green and tennis courts!!There is also tennis lessons and water arobics as well as live music on some days.This is the BEST family resort in MB!! Tuesdays there is a low country buffet i believe. At night sit out on the balcony because at night it is peace and quiet!! You can see the fireworks at barefoot landing too. Overall I reccomend Ocean Creek to especially families!! This was an awesome place and we will be back.Thank you so much Ocean Creek!!

Room Tip: Get an upgraded unit.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travellover43952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We're checking out this morning to go home. Everything has been nice until I noticed this morning a roach had given birth in the kitchen! The room is kind of dated and the bathroom floor is cracked, the stone tiles are coming up. If you don't want to be annoyed by the people walking in the room above you, ask for the top floor unit. Deck's screen was torn and had holes in it and the floor is warped. However, the price was what we could afford. No bed bugs! Mattress is wrapped in container. That was the first thing I checked! Short distance to beach. It's a quite place to come to. I'll come back, just not to the Lodges.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank doodlebug_27822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Barefoot Landing
9.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,032 reviews
9.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,171 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Creek Resort

Address: 10600 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Ocean Creek Resort are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Creek Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing