We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Okay, but not great”
Review of Ocean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Creek Resort
Ranked #44 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Albany, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay, but not great”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was prepared to leave a good review because, overall, we had a pretty good trip, until the last night of our stay. We were sitting on the bed watching TV and my boyfriend jumped because a roach was crawling on him. We left that night instead of the next morning like we were supposed to because we couldn't stand the thought of sleeping in the room again.

The location of the resort is great...really close to the beach and the grounds are nice. The lodge buildings are definitely older, but we knew that going in. We purchased a Groupon for this trip, so we got a great deal. The units are outdated, but ours was pretty clean and was sufficient for what we were looking for. We had no issues until the last night. Unfortunately, I will not be returning because of the bugs.

Room Tip: The towers looked much nicer than the lodges, but I think they are more expensive as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keliza49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Overall it seems that you had a great stay and we feel badly that you will not return under the circumstances. There are preventative measures taken to prevent insects from ever causing an issue but unfortuantely it can still happen from time to time. I am not able to tell which unit you were in so if you would call me or email me with the room number, I will be sure to check it out to make sure that there is not an ongoing issue. My telephone number is 843-361-6010 and my email is gm@oceancreek.com.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    353
    173
    113
    97
See reviews for
645
264
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We used to stay here all the time but as this place has gotten older they obviously hire less than desirable employees to clean the rooms to compete. We had to call housekeeping and the front desk multiple times for towels. Housekeeping simply would not replace towels, just take away the dirty ones. Very frustrating after a day at the beach to come back and not be able to take a shower. The Sofa Beds are as old and the facility and need to be replaced. Ours was missing over half the springs that were holding the mattress together. Useless! Our son had to sleep on the sofa and is still suffering back pain from last weekend. Good Location for this resort, but we will not stay here again until this property has been renovated.

Room Tip: Do not count the sleeper sofa as a place to sleep. You will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laylaandlexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I apologize abou the issues you had both with housekeeping bringing you fresh towels and with the sofa bed issues. Unfortunately I can not tell what unit you were in and would love an opportunity to speak with you so that I can find out which room you were in so that we can address the sofa matress issue. My direct telephone number is 843-361-6010 and my email address is gm@oceancreek.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loganville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Really enjoyed our visit. we stayed in lodge 1 East and it was a short walk to the ocenfront. Unit was excellent. Only problem was the AC unit was dripping into a bucket instead of a line outside. Had to empty throughout the stay to prevent overflow onto the water tank. Housekeeping was aware of the problem because they too emptied the bucket. Beac Club pool and bar are outstanding. Beach is easy to access and a perfect location at the tidal swash. we had a great weekend and are planning a family vacation in the North Tower for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us here at Ocean Creek Resort. I apologize about the issue with the air conditioner but I appreciate you letting us know so that we can address it. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is an older resort, but don't let that keep you from making a reservation. This property is lush and they take excellent care of it. The staff is always friendly, courteous and kind and we enjoy seeing them year after year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romano090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with everyone about your stay. We appreciate your high recommendation and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us here at Ocean Creek Resort and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Normally when travelling with my wife, I would use Hampton Inns. This trip was solo and I was looking to save a few bucks. Ocean Creek allowed me to save about $30/night. OC is an older resort that met my minimum requirements for this trip but would not if I had my wife/family with me. I pretty much only used the bed, shower and tv as I came to MB for a 4 day golf tourney. Understand the resort was OK but its older and dated. The high rise bldgs closer to the beach looked to be much newer and higher quality. The resort location was good and had 24hr security manning the entry gate. The computer in the lobby was useless. The employees were friendly and good.

Room Tip: High rise or privately owned units looked much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no3putts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Overall I'm glad that the staff was friendly and accommodating during your stay. I apologize that there were some issues that are preventing you from coming back to visit us. I assure you that we want our guests to always have a great experience and we would love to have you and your family stay with us during your next trip to the beach.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our first time in Myrtle Beach and the hotel/condo stay was a bit of a let down following our stay at a 5-star resort in Kissimmee, Florida. But we wanted a resort on the beach and we got it. We stayed in Lodge 2 and it was a little walk to the beach, but it was pleasant on the shady tree grounds. We were never successful in getting the golf cart ride to the beach as the wait was too long so we just walked. The décor in the condo was outdated (though the sea-shore motif was cute). The unit was clean but there were roaches and there were no towels in any of the bathrooms on arrival. I liked the full-functioning kitchen and housekeeping to clean the room. The beach, pools, hot tub, mini game room for the kid were great, but other amenities were lacking (only one exercise bike was working). Friendly staff at the sea-side cafe. The one-bedroom could use a Queen-size bed instead of a full. There is enough space to hold it. My husband is 6'4 and stocky and a full bed won't do. We ended up sleeping on the sofa bed, which could use a new mattress, and giving our son the bed. Despite the negatives, I thought I got value for the price I paid. It was great weather while we were there and the beach was not crowded. If we ever come back to Myrtle Beach, we might consider another hotel though.

Room Tip: The towers nearest the beach and the pool and café look newer and better maintained and are nearer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvoryJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with everyone about your stay. I apologize about the issues you mentioned and I appreciate you making us aware of this so that we can address it. Overall I hope you and your family enjoyed your visit with us here at Ocean Creek Resort and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had another wonderful visit at Ocean Creek. The grounds were beautiful and well-maintained. Our room was also beautiful. Our only complaint about the room was that we did not have a flat screen tv in the bedroom. One other complaint is about the lack of wash cloths. I just can't imagine a resort of this size running out of wash cloths and if you did, there was a Walmart right around the corner. I know you were probably booked to capacity being that it was Labor Day weekend but I still think their should have been adequate wash cloths because I know you knew you were going to be full and should have been prepared for this crowd. Overall, I still enjoyed my visit and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us here at Ocean Creek Resort. Thank you for letting us know about the issues with the wash clothes. We had an issue and we have since resolved it but I want to apologize for the inconvenience it caused you and your family. We hope to see you and your family the next time you come to the beach.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Barefoot Landing
9.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,136 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,014 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Watch Resort
Sea Watch Resort
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Creek Resort

Property: Ocean Creek Resort
Address: 10600 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Ocean Creek Resort are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Creek Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing