We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Stay away from this establishment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Colony Resort
Ranked #26 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay away from this establishment!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My family and I had previously stayed at this establishment and enjoyed it. That wasn't the case during our latest visit. Naming just a few items that were unsatisfactory; rusted refrigerator, dirty carpet, old and dirty couch, soiled nightstand in the master bedroom with stains running down the side, living room ottoman looks like it was made from recycled furniture, bolts remaining in the walls from previous tv mount, dirty glasses, old hard mattresses on all beds, and service personnel utilizing the elevators to the extent of slowing the arrival and departure of patrons. The almost heart stoping event was the raw chicken fingers served to me at the bar. Uncooked chicken is very dangerous.

As a patron you have numerous choices in the Myrtle Beach area to stay at competitive prices. The items mentioned above are unacceptable and I hope this information is helpful in your search for a safe and clean establishment to vacation at in the SC area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jasper B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Jasper B,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to hear that you were unsatisfed with your stay this time. Recieving feedback from the guests is always appreciated whether good or bad, and I would like to speak to you further about your concerns You are correct that there are many establishments to choose from and we hope that you will give us another chance to make up for this experience.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
843.449.4010 ext 7106
nhadad@beachcolony.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    492
    206
    135
    145
See reviews for
909
380
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Last minute trip to the beach for 3 days.... spent an entire day looking for a nice place / good price. Stumbled across The Beach Colony Resort after almost booking somewhere else. So glad I went ahead and booked the two bedroom. My daughter (14) brought a friend and the idea of letting them have their own room vs pullout sofa was a good idea. Having been in Hotel Management for over 25 years ... my reviews are written both for future guests and managers information. The washer / dryer in the unit was great ... even came home with dry swim suits and no laundry to do! The entire suite (512) was in VERY good condition. Clean, well appointed and the kitchen was supplied with ample items that one would need to do light cooking. The oven door was so close to the cabinet in the corner... I had to remove (I did replace when we left) the cabinet knobs... so I could open the oven enough to get a pizza inside. Balcony chairs – nice to have four chairs and a table .... heavyweight chairs – not cheap flimsy ones. Carpet and floors were in very good shape. To give you an idea of cleanliness.... the closet where the washer / dryer are (master bath) ... very little if any lint could be found around the sides. I actually search hotels for items needing repair / cleaning... hard to find an issue in this room. Louvered doors to Washer / Dryer are a bit dusty and need a dry radiator brush to clean. A few pieces of the tile used as baseboard in the bathrooms were glued up ... but looks like were never grouted. The “all in one” shower / tub units are flawless vs a tile walled tub..... NO MILDEW! The in-room safe would not work. I called the desk (this was around 8pm) and the offered to send up someone right away (I really wasn’t worried about it... but knew it was an item that would not be fixed if someone didn’t tell them). They tried to fix it and said they might need a new controller board – sent someone up (very polite) the next day and asked if it was ok to work on it. Still unable to fix it they offered to swap out the safe – as they would need to order a part for this one – I told them we would not need it – they could replace after we checked out.

Parking deck is tight to get in and out (as is at all beach properties), but has plenty of parking; but well lit – lots of cameras. Parking on 3rd and 5th floor .... can walk right across to your room floor..... very nice!

The pool area was cleaned and ready to go early each am..... staff was busy checking chemicals and washing down the deck early. Trash was cleaned up everywhere by early am. I even noticed the pool chairs were all lined up at pool closing (11pm) instead of just leaving a cluttered mess overnight. The pool side lounge / snack bar was nice – priced not over priced at all. Afternoon entertainment / games were fun for the families and “just enough” to make it fun but not disrupt our day. All of the pools stayed busy – but were never over crowded either.
Game Room / weight room / guest laundry (for those without W/D in room) were all in very good shape, nice locations (not stuck in a basement).

The staff was kind and smiling everywhere we met them – the actually appeared to enjoy their job (hard to find at some places). We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Floors 3 & 5 have a walkway directly from the parking deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear wrobin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent experience at Beach Colony Resort. Businesses rely on feedback from the customers and yours has been very helpful. I am so happy to hear that your accommodations met your expectations and we look forward to hosting you and yours again soon.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This resort is in a nice and quiet location. The front desk people are very friendly and helpful.
Our ocean front room was comfortable and clean. There is a safe in every room. The balcony is private. The access to the beach is easy.
The only negative would be that smoking is allowed in the balconies so once in a while we would get the smell, it wasn't too bad, so we would consider going back to The Beach Colony.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose0659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Rose0659,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear the front desk and staff were helpful to you and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you continue to come to Myrtle Beach for your next vacation and that we have the opportunity to host you and yours once again.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was our first time using this resort, will use it again. Very clean and staff very friendly. The only complaint we had was the parking, we have a large suv and it was difficult to park. Otherwise, we have no other complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Dear Jennifer C,

I am so glad to hear that you would like to join us again, and appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your experience here at Beach Colony Resort. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location convenient to Broadway, the strip and great restaurants. Our room was clean, fairly updated and nice except the beds. The beds were horrible! You can feel every single spring and its hard as a rock (room 812). I'm putting the room # since every room is different. There are a few pools to choose from including a lazy river. They would be nice but there are no life guards and only once I saw someone enforcing rules. Several times I chose to leave the lazy river because kids were swimming under me with no float, or pushing my float to get by. The pool bar is nice and the food was good. I would stay here again but maybe request a different room so we have a different bed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocknrollchica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Rocknrollchica2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay here with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the perks that our location had to offer. You are correct that each room is different, and I apologize that the bedding was not suitable for you. We hope that you give us another chance to meet your expectations. If you had any further questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me anytime.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
843.449.4010 ext 7106
nhadad@beachcolony.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I do not recommend this place at all!! First, there is hardly any room to park for check in. Second, the parking deck is a nightmare. When we entered in our room we quickly noticed that it was one of the most dirty rooms I had ever seen. The kitchen floor was sticky with some unknown liquid. There was food crumbs on the counters, and the refrigerator had not been cleaned in who knows how long. The carpet was so nasty that our socks were black from just walking around. We noticed that there was no dishes like we were promised. After opening the dish washer we finally found them, Dirty. This is just a few of the many, many problems this "Resort" has. We will not be staying here again. Don't let the pictures fool you, they must be old.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Terri H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We certainly rely on guest feedback, whether it is positive or negative there is always something that we can improve on. I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not up to yours or my standards and I would very much like to speak to you further personally on the matter. Please contact me at anytime if you choose, but regardless I hope that you and yours have a great summer.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
Beach Colony Resort
843.449.4010 ext 7106
nhadad@beachcolony.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was our first visit back to Myrtle Beach in over 20 years. Ocean City,MD was our previous vacation spot. The entire staff at Beach Colony was extremely friendly. The resort had everything we wanted. We looked for indoor and outdoor pools, lazy river, hot tubs, and other activities(racquetball court and shuffleboard) in a place before we booked here at Beach Colony. The facility is well kept and everyone was very helpful. It was great not having an overcrowded beach due to hotels being one after another. Our entire family liked everything about our stay. The rooms were well cleaned and we had plenty of room to move around. You can't beat the view in the morning sitting on the balcony looking watching the waves. We can't wait to start planning our next stay in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Thomas L,

Thank you so much for the comments regarding your stay here with us at the Beach Colony Resort. I am absolutely thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time and that your family enjoyed all the activities that we have to offer. As soon as you are ready for your next getaway give us a call because we are also looking forward to having you back.

Best Wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Guest Service Supervisor
843.449.4010
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,382 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,061 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
985 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort

Property: Beach Colony Resort
Address: 5308 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Colony Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Hotel In Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing