We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Memorial Day Stay 2014” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Colony Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Colony Resort
Ranked #29 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Stay 2014”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would not stay at this hotel ever again. Housekeeping knocked on our door the first day and asked if we needed anything. I said towels and trash bags, she literally handed me a bunch of towels and trash bags. She did not come in to empty the trash or pick up the dirty towels. We had to call the front desk for them to service our room. I also had a MK clutch purse that mysteriously disappeared. When I was checking out, I let the front desk person know (she was very apologetic, took my information and said she would have the GM give me a call). Several hours passed and no call from the GM. I ended up calling the GM and she said that I was supposed to call her????? She was not apologetic at all and even tried to blame me for not locking my purse in the in-room safe! Why would I need to lock my purse in the safe? How about you don't hire a staff that steals. This was a horrible, horrible experience. I have been to Myrtle Beach on Memorial Day weekend several times and have never ever had service so horrible.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    467
    188
    119
    136
See reviews for
826
358
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at Beach Colony, though we have been to Myrtle several times. We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean view room. We had 4 adults and 2 kids (3 and 12). It was plenty big enough for all of us. View was decent from the side even with a low floor.

Condo: I was expecting the condo to look like the pictures on the site, it did not. It was outdated but still functional. My issues in the room was it wasn't quite clean enough for me. Or where I felt comfortable putting my son in the bath tub. So with a little cleaning I felt better. During my bed bug check upon arrival, it all passed, however I did notice quite a bit of ashes on the box spring in the master though we had a non smoking room. It didn't smell like smoke so we were okay staying in it. Kitchen had limited pots/pans but we made it work. The master bath was challenging. The toilet was not functioning very well so we used the hallway bathroom often. My one downfall of the shower was the lacking hot water. It seemed like no matter what time of day you showered, it would go hot to cold to hot the entire time. The parking garage could be improved. It was difficult to navigate and many times someone was flying through the garage when only one car/van can fit on the ramps up and down. Overall, it wasn't a bad place to stay!

Area: The best part of where this resort is located is it is quiet. That was a huge factor for us in deciding where to stay this year. We really wanted somewhere our 3 yr old could stick to a nice nap schedule and sleep without interruption. The drawback to this location is it is not close enough to walk to several restauarants or stores. You will need to drive, which
was not an issue for us.

Pools/Beach: The pools were great! Heated, which was very nice!! The lazy river was also really nice. Beach was easy and quick to get to and it was a nice part of the beach.

The bad: This is not a complete reflection of Beach Colony, however we did feel like more security or awareness was needed. Our last night was the start of Atlantic Beach Bikefest. While the resort is "bike-free" it is not biker-free. MOST of the people we encountered were great, polite, and friendly. However, when the sun started to go down the party began. I am all about having fun but the music, drunk people shouting, marijuana that was clearly being smoked out in the open was too much for us. At one point we had to keep the kids inside in the evening due to men/women showing their private parts to everyone around. Being young and fun is GREAT, but it just wasn't an environment I wanted the kids around. The bikes/cars were really nice and fun to see riding around in the day though. Lesson for us, don't go in May.

Overall it was a nice stay and we would stay again if the value was right.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DnK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear DnK1234,

Thank you for sharing your very helpful and detailed review with Beach Colony and our prospective guests. While Memorial Day weekend can be a bit of boisterous time during May, I wouldn't rule out the whole month. I am happy to hear that other than the last few nights of your stay we could offer you the more normal relaxing environment that we strive to provide. I am disappointed that you had some maintenance issues in your unit and during your next stay encourage you to report them so that we can correct them to the best of our ability and give you a more enjoyable experience. We hope you have a fabulous summer and look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes,
Nicole Hadad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrow, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had more than enough room and supplies to enjoy our weekend stay. The kitchen and bathrooms were stocked. Very clean and great staff. Love the free movie rentals too great parking. The property was really clean and when we need more towels, they restocked us without any problem

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonquanisia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Shonquanisia D,

I am so happy to hear that we were able to provide you with everything you needed to have a great holiday weekend. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope you have an outstanding summer.

Best wishes,
Nicole Hadad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxboro
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is showing some wear and tear, I guess from age, needs some updating and sprucing up; however, the pool area and other amenities were really nice. The parking garage is absolutely horrible! Very tight parking spaces! If you are trying to go up to the next level, and you meet another car, one of you has to back up, there is not enough room for 2 vehicles.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views due to the sand dunes blocking view on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_A_BRoxboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear A_A_BRoxboro,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Our many amenities such as pools and the lazy river can be a fantastic way to relax throughout your vacation. I do apologize that our parking situation can be a bit tricky but I encourage you to come back and visit next year to see how we have taken care of some that wear and tear that you mentioned.

Best wishes,

Nicole Hadad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed @ unit 1401 and it was perfect for us. Lots of space, very comfortable, well decorated, kitchen was very well equipt and the view was unbelivable.
We are very satisfied and will ask for the same unit again nexy year

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Albcan,

While we can't guarantee the exact same room, we can guarantee the same great experience. Feel free to make a request of course and we will do our very best to honor it. Our two bedroom oceanfront units are all offer the same great space and beautiful views, no matter which unit you may choose. Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to hosting you and yours again soon.

Best wishes,
Nicole Hadad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallipolis, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This facility is older, but my unit was very up to date & modern. I could tell that the owners had taken care of this unit. I enjoyed the view from my balcony every morning. If the drive to Myrtle Beach wasn't so long I would go back again. I might fly the next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueskier1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Blueskier1948,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on your most recent stay with Beach Colony. While we may be an older property in spirit, we like to think of ourselves as young and modern as much as possible and encourage all of owners to feel the same way. Sometimes the drive can be a bit tricky, but it doesn't matter how you get here we can't wait to have you back.

Best wishes,
Nicole Hadad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our friends have stayed here for several years, so when they booked another golf week and invited us, we did the same, based on their recommendations. It was well worth it! We had an oceanfront executive suite that was well-suited for out needs. We also rented a 2 bedroom unit for our daughter's family. It was really nice being in the same resort as all the families could gather together quite easily for any activity. As each unit is privately owned, you never know what is going to be included in your cabinets, but we managed just fine. However, we did NOT do any cooking in the units.

Our grandson loved the Lazy River and the warm pools. The air was still chilly while we were there so the heated waters made it possible for him to enjoy the swimming. Otherwise, we were on the beach - - it was gorgeous weather the whole time we were there! The grounds were beautiful and all the shade provided by the trees was much appreciated after a few hours in the sun.

We ate at the lounge, which was just average, but the friendliness of the staff made up for it. We did not use any other amenity at the resort other than the Wi-Fi. Our cell phone service was very sketchy - - I even had trouble using my phone to call a local number....got disconnected several times. I ended up using the hotel room's phone.

The location of the resort was perfect - - easy access to just about anywhere. As a previous reviewer wrote, the parking garage was pretty rough maneuvering and there were a few traffic jams during the week. But it was nice having a covered parking area out of the sun.

I only wish the beach chairs could be included in the resort's fees. I understand that the beach is owned and operated by the city of Myrtle Beach, but $35 a day for two chairs and an umbrella is a bit outrageous! Maybe the resort could have a discount for their guests??

All-in-all, it was a wonderful week, and we would consider coming back next year for the group's annual golf trip.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargiC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Guest Service Supervisor at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear MargiC17,

Thank you so much for sharing your great vacation experience with your family. I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our fantastic staff and the uniqueness of each individually owned room. It's a great idea about the beach chair deal for our guests and I will definitely be looking into how to make that happen. While we do try to provide everything you need for your vacation right here at the resort, the beach chairs seem to be the one thing that we lack. Again, thank you for your continued support and we look forward to hosting you and yours in the future.

Best Wishes,
Nicole Hadad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#33 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forest Dunes Resort
Forest Dunes Resort
#45 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort

Property: Beach Colony Resort
Address: 5308 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2537
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Colony Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Hotel In Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing