We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Loved the Forest Dunes!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Clinton, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the Forest Dunes!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Forest Dunes provided the perfect vacation for my family. We had an 11th floor ocean view king room and the coastline view was spectacular. Spacious, beautifully decorated condo with 1.5 baths, comfortable king bed, nice kitchen, huge flat screen TV in living room and so much more. No problems at all with the elevators, nice sized indoor and outdoor pools, lazy river and hot tub. Plenty of parking, friendly front desk staff and no housekeepers banging on the door early in the morning -- who wouldn't enjoy that during vacation? This place is awesome and we can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationLovers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willtravel12345, Owner at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to provide us feedback and are so pleased you loved your stay. We look forward to your return visit. As always, owners will be working hard to make our resort the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    157
    68
    44
    42
See reviews for
297
174
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

First of all my husband picked out the place to stay and I must say he did an excellent job. Forest Dunes was a great location and the staff, Teresa and Vivian, were wonderful! When we spoke to Teresa on the phone she assured us that we would enjoy our stay and we really did. Our room was more than we expected and the staff always kept the room nice and clean. When I called down and asked for another pillow Vivian was there to help locate and provide. We had wanted something away from all the attractions and this was the best location, quiet, fun, wonderful pools, family oriented and great staff. The firework shows from our balcony were beautiful! The elevators were a little slow and I wish the jacuzzi was inside but other than that we had a great time. We will definitely be back, thanks Forest Dunes!

The Leath Family

Room Tip: 10th floor had the best view of fireworks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanchon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willtravel12345, Owner at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you! Knowing you have been well-taken care of during your visit is what we like to hear. We're so glad you enjoy what Forest Dunes offers--location, family friendly, relaxation... And, we really appreciate your recognition of front desk staff; especially during the summer, things can get hectic and we know they try hard. As for elevators, we wish there were more we could do than keeping them serviced and updated, and know this can be an annoyance up and down the beach during the height of the season. We just have to ask for your patience, and for those who like exercise, the stairs may sometimes be a good option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hillsville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

If you want the best and great prices for your vacation,Forest Dunes is the right choice to choose.I have stayed there every time I go on our family vacation.This is the only place I will make reservations to .My family loves Forest Dunes.I highly recommend everyone to try this place .

Room Tip: I have had nothing but the best vacation at Forest Dunes.It does not matter what floor you are on or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willtravel12345, Owner at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
We sincerely appreciate your encouragement! We take all reviews seriously, both good and not so good. Be assured all our owners continue to work hard for the enjoyment of our guests...and for ourselves, too, since we also love visiting the resort. We hope each time you come back you'll find we just keep getting better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We traveled to MB last week. We picked this facility because most reviews seemed pretty good and it got a 4 out of 5 star rating...so we thought it should be a nice place to stay. Sorry to say that we were disappointed in the facility overall and our room. I guess we didnt research enough, because we were not aware that this was in a residential neighborhood. And this being our 1st time to MB, we wanted to see all of the sites as well as the beach. The location was great for the beach...loved it!! But not so much for taking in the activities that MB had to offer. We felt like it was a little inconvenient. I was leary as soon as we pulled up...the check in area had me worried too. Not very nice. Staff was friendly though. We stayed in room 304. The room was just ok...not as nice as we had hoped for. I felt like it needed a major scrub down, some fresh paint and overall updating. The furniture was cheap, the carpet in the living room was stained and the rug was dirty. (now how much does it cost to replace a rug every once in a while??) The handle in the shower had been fixed with electrical tape!!! Really!! The beds were hard as a rock and the sheets were about as comfortable as sleeping on a cardboard box. I wished that we brought our own linens!!!! The other party that we were with stayed just down the hall and there condo was was a little bit nicer than ours, but just ok as well. I am generally not this picky...but this was just not what we had hoped for. Sorry Forest Dunes...if we come back to MB, we will be looking for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay and for acknowledging our friendly staff. We wish we knew you were not thrilled with your accommodations while you were still here. Many times we are able to make last minute adjustments to improve your overall satisfaction. We were unable to find some of the maintenance problems you noted, but we assure you this condo was inspected and both our housekeeping and maintenance departments have responded accordingly. While many guests have contacted us with positive feedback about the condo you stayed in, we realize that our guests have varying tastes and we strive to satisfy each guest accordingly. Likewise, had we known about your feelings pertaining to our location we would have suggested using the Coast RTA shuttle bus for convenient access to other areas of the beach – the shuttle stops by Forest Dunes Resort every hour. While most of our guests appreciate the beauty and quiet characteristics of this "Cabana Section" of Myrtle Beach, we realize that some folks prefer to be in the densely populated downtown area. Preferences like this can change with experience. We thank you for your business and we hope you will return to Myrtle Beach and perhaps try us again someday for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Had done my research, called the hotel and spoke to Billy at the desk. He was kind, patient , knowledgeable of the property,and helpful. He spoke with me and helped me discern the room type my family of 3 would need. When we arrived he greeted us warmly, and even recalled our phone conversation of 3 weeks earlier by hearing our last name. Wow. When we traveled up to our room it was perfect. All the kitchen needs were there as well as linens for the fold out sofa. And let me mention the view! This stretch of Myrtle Beach is quiet and well kept. The shoreline is so pretty. We had a late snack at Buckets Grill and the waitperson/bartender from Tenn. was so polite, and the food was tasty. We had stayed here in the late 1990s and it was nice then but it has been refurbished and our unit was perfect. We will be back. Thank you Mr. Billy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poodlesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We sincerely appreciate everything you had to say about your stay! We are so glad you got know one of our very special front desk representatives and that you noticed all the updates and changes owners have been working on steadily over the past several years. Thank you and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband & I just got back from staying 4 nights at Forest Dunes...We decided to go to Myrtle Beach with no pre-planning .... a friend recommended Forest Dunes as she has stayed several times there ... I called on Monday evening and a room was available ... We were in room 1008 and had a GREAT view of the ocean .... the room was great and felt like home ... the staff were very pleasant from the ladies that first checked us in (can'[t remember their names) to "Bill" who was very helpful and friendly!!!! We plan to go again and will stay with Forest Dunes!!!! Great location, very clean, staff wonderful and price range was great too!!! Thanks again to the staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank coach_cheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thanks for recognizing the staff! No matter how nice a property is, we all know the people we deal with are the ones who can make a vacation a great experience. We're glad you enjoyed our Forest Dunes community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We just returned yesterday from our trip! We booked our 5 night reservation a day before our arrival and had the most pleasant agent reserve our room! I don't remember her name, but she was so helpful and answered every question we asked! Upon our arrival we were registered by the same super nice lady! Actually, everyone at the front desk was very nice to us! Great customer service! We stayed in room 708. Our room was ocean view, but it was just as good as an ocean front! Fantastic view all the way to the sky wheel! The hotel is across a small street from the beach, but this is not a busy road at all and the few cars we encountered were always courteous by allowing us to cross! Parking is great in this hotel with the parking garage in the rear of the complex. We always had a daily newspaper to read and movies and books were available in the lobby for us to check out if needed! However, there are a few things that will maybe make us stay elsewhere on our next trip. The room we were in was in dire need of an update! The wallpaper was plain hideous and each room had its own tired pattern! The furniture and floors are way past their prime and are in serious need of an update. The room was not cleaned very well as we found various hair in the shower and on the back of both toilets! Sand had gotten into the corners of the bathroom floor and appeared to just keep getting overlooked when this room was cleaned. There are only two elevators in this hotel and during the day you have to wait sometimes 6-7 minutes in a line for an available one! We took the stairs frequently! During the evening hours there was no wait at all! There are no major water attractions here. Just a small pool and a small lazy river, which was fine with us, but the kids around bored very easy with them. We probably would not stay here again unless they updated the tired rooms or if we were on a very tight budget...you get what you pay for!!

Room Tip: Great views from rooms on the south side! You can see all the way to the sky wheel! Really pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for trying Forest Dunes Resort and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad to hear you appreciated our excellent service and we thorougly enjoy serving our guests and sharing our "home away from home" that we love so much. Sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay in 708. We appreciate your feedback. Our internal records indicate most guests rate this condo as good and excellent. For everyone's reference, we added a set of photos in tripadvisor to show what 708 looks like. At Forest Dunes Resort we strive to give our guests more than they pay for and more than our competition gives. We hope you will try us again. We would be happy to assist you in finding a condo that better suits your preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#87 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#128 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#33 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#59 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Property: Forest Dunes Resort
Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing