We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I first visited Forest Dunes 17 years ago shortly after we were married. We loved it then and when we returned this year with our three children (9, 8, and 5) we were still in love. The kids loved everything about the place and we all really enjoyed our time while we were there. The staff was wonderful and was very quick to help us whenever we asked for assistance. We will definitely be back and won't wait so long next time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are happy your family enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you and we already look forward to your next visit. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures. Have a great year - we wish you all the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We've stayed at Forest Dunes 4 times and will definately stay here again! I love the location, the condos have a lot of room, and my kids love the lazy river. The staff is courteous and helpful. I would recommend Forest Dunes to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephrdh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes 4 times now. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and plan on returning. We really appreciate you and already look forward to your next visit. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had an amazing vacation at forest dunes! This was our first family trip to myrtle beach and things couldn't have been better! All the staff was friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pools and we loved that the hotel is in such a quiet area! We will definitely be back next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes. We are so glad to hear you had a great vacation, especially since this was your first family trip to Myrtle Beach! We really appreciate you and we are happy to hear you plan on returning as we look forward to seeing you again. Please keep in touch with us on facebook to see daily posts and pictures from Forest Dunes. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was my families first trip to Myrtle Beach, it was me, my husband, our 8,6, and 9 month old, before the trip, I researched so many resorts and was quite scared on some of the reviews I read on other resorts, but when I read the Forest Dune resort reviews, the good outweighed the bad. I now know why, since all the condos are different, I didn't know what I was walking into, but I must say we got pretty lucky, we stayed in 510 oceanfront, owned by the Merritts, and they thought of everything to make it truly feel like home. They had toys in the room for our baby, chairs for the beach, and a playpen for the baby, it was broken, but she slept with us anyway so it was no big deal. The kitchen was awesome and the bed was comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. I hope the owners read this, because I was not able to sign the guestbook, we were so busy and it slipped my mind. The staff was great and housekeeping on point, our housekeeper was so nice and made sure we had everything we needed our entire stay, the view was spectacular! The only negative was we loved the room so much we decided to stay an extra night, unfortunately they made us switch rooms, and since we couldn't pay for that particular room again we decided to go oceanview and save some money, and boy was there a difference in rooms, we were moved to 403, and the room did not give us the same feeling we had in 510, and with 3 kids you can imagine switching rooms was a hassle we had to pack up like we were leaving and it took half our last day to get settled in the new room, I kind of regretted staying the extra night because of the packing up to unpack and repack the very next day, but it was our fault I guess for not booking a 3 night to begin with. They did have another ocean front unit available so I was not sure why they couldn't put the other guest arriving in that one, but I would understand if they had requested 510 because it was spectacular! We also got to see a difference in rooms and how each owner differed, the new room just didn't have all the "little touches" that 510 had to show they truly cared for their guest, and wanted them to have anything they needed throughout their stay, I swear they thought of everything. I kind of don't want to let the cat out of the bag to make sure the room is available next year, but the owners and hotel staff deserve the credit! If your looking for a great clean room, with nice pools and a great view choose Forest Dunes, they don't need an extravagant Water Park to lure you in, or give you free tickets to places, their rooms are good enough as is. The Skywheel and boardwalk were just down the road, yet the beach out in front was quiet and just far away from all the action that if you got to decide when you wanted to be around the crowd! We had family that stayed at the Sands for the Waterpark and had to switch rooms 3 times, due to the nastiness of the rooms and they paid twice as much as we did, trust me, stay here and you will not be disappointed! I will be staying here again, but will request 510 and make sure I can stay in that room our entire stay! Thank you Forest Dunes!

Room Tip: If you love your room, and want to stay extra, let the front desk know ASAP, if you stay oceanview t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We really appreciate you and your comments. We are so happy to hear you plan on returning and we look forward to your next visit. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your family and friends. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I agree with other reviews that the hotel needs serious updating. The staff was less than helpful nor professional. There was actually a flattened beer box serving as a cover over the a/c vent (I'm assuming to collect condensation). The road noise prevented good sleep and there was a horrible stench outside of the hotel lobby. The area rug in our room had not been vacuumed in a while...The pool was very small for such a large hotel. There was a massive cable cord that wrapped around most of the bedroom. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay and experience at Forest Dunes. We are sorry to hear you do not plan on returning and we are sorry you did not receive the level of service and professionalism that is typical of our resort. We really appreciate you and we wish we were aware of your complaints while you were still with us so we could have done something to make your stay more enjoyable. It appears that someone placed a box over the vent to divert the air instead of adjusting the vent as it is designed. Concerning the road noise, we get very few complaints about road noise since the owners installed new sliding glass doors on our ocean front units. We agree there would be some road noise if you sleep with the door open on a lower floor, ocean front unit, such as where you stayed, but the street is much quieter here than in other areas of the beach. To avoid road noise we suggest keeping the doors closed, or staying on a higher floor, or ocean view unit on the other side of the building. Concerning the odor in the loading area of the parking lot, there is an occassional odor that comes from a trap that is designed to catch grease and debris from dishwashers and garbage disposals in the restaurant and condos. We have consulted with a professional and we are in the process of making some changes that will virtually eliminate this problem. Finally, we believe our pools, lazy river and spa are sized appropriately and are cleaner and less crowded than most resort pools. We hope you will reconsider and try another stay at Forest Dunes. We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Ok place pool is small and on the side of the building which gets limited sun. Room needs updating. Good view from upper floors. Stayed in a 3 bedroom and the condo was good sized. Room 1703 needs some updating. All cabinets are awful. Drains backup showers and toilets are weak.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gmannnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We appreciate you and your constructive criticism as well as your positive comments. We agree our condos are very spacious. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the cabinets, but we would like you to know that many condo owners have newer cabinets and countertops and we are working with others to renovate this winter. Thanks for letting us know about the drains and toilets - we will be sure to have these serviced and adjusted accordingly. We hope you will visit us again. We wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Convenient location... very nice, clean beach. Staff is wonderful. Whether you get on ocean front or ocean view room you still have a wonderful view. The suites are well equipped with everything you need... a real home away from home.
We stayed in an ocean view suite on the 10th floor and in the morning it is in the shade and you have a wonderful place to sit and enjoy breakfast and coffee while listening to the waves and watching the beach goers. Each unit is decorated differently as they are privately owned. We have family staying in a three bedroom ocean front unit on the 15th floor and the view is incredible... lots of room to spread out.
Really don't want to leave... will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are so glad to hear how much you are enjoying your stay. We really appreciate our guests, especially repeat guests like you. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your family and friends. We already look forward to your next visit. Have a great year - we wish you all the very best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#54 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
704 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sea Watch Resort
Sea Watch Resort
#37 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,748 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £79 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condos, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year-round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing