We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Love it!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forest Dunes Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #45 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I highly recommend staying here. The staff is friendly and the rooms are great for an excellent price. Once again I wasn't disappointed with my stay here. This was my second time staying and I'm ready to come back again already.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crene13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes again for your second time. We are very happy to hear how you "Love it!!!" here. We really appreciate you and hope to see you again soon so we are very excited to hear you are "ready to come back again already." Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your friends and family. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    157
    68
    44
    42
See reviews for
297
174
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

re: Disappointment and Concerns over our latest accommodations at Forest Dunes !

from april 26-may 2 with our family. our vacation with our family saw us have three different rooms for accommodations - our room was 1110 and i must say we were very displeased with the state of the accomodations. i can not speak for the other two rooms and will let our other family members have there own say with what they experienced.

the issues :
multiple issues with the room were experienced over our stay - things from faulty electrical outlets to hanging pot lights - collapsing cabinet bottoms and strong smells from the cabinet spaces - water damaged closet ceiling which was bowed and collapsing to damaged ceilings in the living areas - torn carpet - ripped and stained curtains - the glass table also was a safety issue as any weight saw it tip and fall (almost landed on my 7 year old son) a definite safety issue indeed ! - broken and patched doors (bedroom and front door latch) - bathroom wall damage / shower rod through the wall and a gapping whole in the bathroom cabinet area - kitchen cups and plates chipped and damaged. the pullout bed mattress was one that seemed to be overused and did not provide any support or comfort - better sleeping on the floor. needless to say this room should and needs to be completely renovated and upgraded. it was definitely disappointing to say the least from what we had received in previous years.

housekeeping was also an issue - or should i say almost non existent. on numerous occasions i was left to attend the front desk to get supplies (kleenex, soap, coffee, towels). even leaving the service please card in the door did not provide any vacuuming or supplies. the one thing they did do was make the bed.

i am not one to complain and as such we bared with it and enjoyed the beach etc. but feel it is needed to be reported that the hotel room was one that disappointed and hope that this isn't the way things are going as we really liked this hotel in previous years.

i hope that by sending this that some kind of action is taken and some reassurance that this is not the normal standard for this hotel / condo.


a disappointed and concerned traveler,

Room Tip: Each room is owned by other people - check rooms prior to check in to ensure a good cared for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan Rebecca Et... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes as a repeat guest. We apologize you experienced issues while staying with us. We strive to continuously improve our resort and guest service and your feedback is crucial in helping us do that. Please be assured your experience is not typical as we receive thousands of email surveys that average out to an overall satisfaction in excess of 90%. Our vision is to give our guests the most exciting, fun filled and enjoyable vacation experience ever. We are sorry we failed to deliver in your most recent stay and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. A manager will attempt to reach you in an effort to earn your satisfaction. We appreciate you and desire the best of all things for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed ourselves at the forest dunes resort. We had an oceanfront room to view the beach and ocean. The weather was sunny and warm during our stay. It was nice to sit on the balcony and using the pool. A nice restaurant and bar at resort. The resort is very close to nearby shopping areas and attractions. During our stay we visited murrell inlet, pawleys island, Georgetown and Conway. We ate at some nearby restaurants, fiesta del burros loco, for Mexican and Villa Romano for Italian, creek ratz and drunken jacks for seafood at murrell inlet. Overall forests dunes resort offers great value and enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are very happy to hear how you "enjoyed yourselves at the Forest Dunes Resort." We really appreciate you and hope to see you again soon. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your friends and family. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our view was great however the room was not so much. Plaster was missing off the ceiling and walls, bathtub was filthy, kitchen cabinets dirty and some of the doors were barely hanging on. Many dishes were dirty when we got here, had to wash before using. Closet door in bedroom hard to open. My friend was staying on a floor further up and her place was gorgeous!! Whomever owns the room we are in should not rent this unit out until they fix some things. Oh I forgot the cabinets in the bathroom were GROSS!!!!! Ive stayed in better motels than this. The elevator in the parking garage worked sometimes. I could go on and on.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcialsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Forest Dunes. As a manager I truly appreciate you and all our guests. I'd really appreciate knowing what condo you stayed in. At this point I'm not so sure it was on our rental program as some condos are rented through individuals or companies who do not maintain an office on site. Our onsite office rents about 100 condos here at Forest Dunes which to our belief are far better than the one you described. Please feel free to call me at 843-449-0864 x7136, or email me at mod@forestdunes.com. If this was a condo on our rental program I will be happy to investigate your complaint further and work with you to help improve your overall satisfaction. Please note I tried to play detective and figure out who you are and where you stayed, but based on the information you provided here I am unable to find your guest history in our system and our front office does not recall receiving any such complaint prior to this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa,Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We checked in on may 1st and we are still here !. I wanted to say how glad we were that we came back. we booked a three bedroom this time.. and I have to say it is the most beautiful hotel room I have ever seen, each kid has his/her room, we have our own room, with bathroom and walk in closet ... I would book this room again 1202. The view is amazing .. ocean right in front of me as I type. We have been coming here since our kids were 6 and 7 .. they are now 18 and 16 ... a couple of years ago we decided to try the Sea Watch .. because they had the two bedroom; lots of pools and lots of hot tubs.... funny though my kids wanted to come back to Forest Dunes .. because they love it here .. they feel safe and I guess it brings back memories for them.. so thank you ..The staff have been amazing !! we have not had any issues with our room.. next year .. I hope to come for a little longer ..

Room Tip: If you are looking to order out .. I recommend MIchael's PIzza .. front desk can give you flyer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheLangills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes - we are so glad you "came back!!" We really appreciate you and hope you continue to enjoy this vacation and many more to come. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your stay more fun filled and enjoyable. We wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

The value for what you get is amazing each room is a privately owned suite. You feel like your home with hotel treatment. We loved it! Is right at the beach great pools. The restaurant is not worth mentioning all great restaurants are within a stone's throw away. Must visit Johnny d's waffles on kings hwy omg! Kinda already know what you want to do the staff is not really helpful with suggestions or ticket prices. Superb cleaning staff. Check online before booking they offer great deals. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnecia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed it here and that you plan on returning. We really appreciate you and look forward to your next visit. Sorry to hear we did not impress you as much with the restaurant or with getting ticket prices and advice from the front desk - we certainly hope to do better on your next visit as we usually perform much better in these areas. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your friends and family. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

First time staying at this hotel and was very pleased. My wife loved the balcony overlooking the street and ocean. We sat out there each morning enjoying our coffee and the view. Accomodations were clean and neat. Everything in good condition. Would have loved a flat screen tv in bedroom but the one in there was good and they had one mounted on the wall in the living room area. Nice kitchen with full size appliances and a dish washer. Really liked the walkway from the top of the parking deck over to the hotel. Saved going through the lobby when we were in and out. Convenient to shopping and local attractions and our favorite restaurants. Off the beaten path enough that there isn't a lot of noise or traffic. All in all a very good value and great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForestDunesMOD, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for choosing Forest Dunes for the first time. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed it here and found "a great place to stay". We really appreciate you and hope to see you again soon. Please keep in touch with us on facebook where you will find daily posts and pictures to share with your friends and family. Have a great year - we wish you the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#88 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#128 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#33 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#58 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Property: Forest Dunes Resort
Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing