We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #46 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in 1203. 3 bedroom ocean view condo. Great views. Great condo. Loved that there was a washer and dryer in our unit and a fully furnished kitchen. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heather7372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Heather7372,

We are grateful you choose to vacation with us and want to thank you for taking the time to write and for noticing our positive staff. We too are very proud of them. With a few extra perks like a full kitchen, washer/ dryer and great views we like to think that Forest Dunes has it all. We hope to host you and yours again soon and wish you a fantastic start to the new school year.

Best Wishes,
Nicole Hadad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have vacationed in Myrtle Beach in July for the past 10 years and I must say. "This year,has to be one of the best years to date as it relates to accommodations. What started out a little rocky and hot ended up nice and relaxing, we thought we had a problem with the air . We called front desk, spoke to Donna who addressed all issues and made things right within a matter of 1 hour, the next day we was approached by the property manager.Doug, who wanted to know, "how he could make the stay better, even though-our problem was User Error. Needless to say. He sealed the deal. We now have a home away from home. The condos are clean, spacious with excellent staff. The location is a little reserved and out of the way but you can't compromise comfort no matter how you slice it. Donna and Doug one heck of a team. You can't go wrong. We can't wait to return next year

Room Tip: If you hv kids of decent age who can go to pool with minimal supervision get a room on patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mimo413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Mimo413,

User error or property error, we aim to make your stay the most enjoyable experience ever. I am so glad to hear that we were able to help you in timely efficient manner and sealed the deal to making us your vacation home. Dana and Doug are two of our best, in a staff full of fantastic people,and I am sure they are so glad that they were able to make a difference in your vacation experience. We can't wait to have you and yours here with us again next year and hopefully many years to come.

Best Wishes,
Nicole Hadad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This review is LONG overdue, but I want to say thank you to each and every staff member of Forest Dunes for the fantastic and memorable stay we had the second week of June, 2014. We reserved 2 3-bedroom oceanview condos (1803 and 1602), and both were exceptionally beautiful, clean, and comfortable. We especially loved the décor and the washer/dryer combo in 1803! (My sister stayed in 1602 and told me she had washer/dryer envy!)

The staff members are so helpful, and it's so nice to walk into the lobby and hear, "Welcome back!" when we arrived. Everyone is so eager to please, from the front desk staff, to the housekeeping staff, to the grounds staff, and finally to "JJ", the highly personable maintenance man.

Something else we loved about this hotel is that we were there during "High School Senior Week". You never would have known it, as the place was so quiet, and the pool area wasn't even crowded. And the breathtaking views can't be beat!

And I've got to mention Buckets Bar & Grill. Joe and Kim also recognize repeat visitors, and it's just like coming home when you walk in the bar. And their food is SOOOO good!

We have been staying at Forest Dunes off and on since 1990, and every year (usually twice a year, and 3 times one year!) since 1999. In my opinion, you can't find a better value. Great service, great on-site place to eat, beautiful rooms, and beautiful views all at an unbeatable price!

I can't imagine myself ever staying anywhere else in Myrtle. And my fiancé is hooked now too, so I'd say it's a safe bet that we WILL be back! :)

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms have 1 1/2 baths and are quite the value! 1-bedroom oceanview condos are on floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear JennyS,

We can't tell you how much we appreciate your continued support and patronage. We are so thrilled to see the same smiling faces year after year and hope to continue to do so for many more years to come. Thank you again for the the kind words and recommendations, I will be sure to pass them along to our fantastic staff members throughout the property. We can't wait to see you again and hope that you and yours had a fantastic summer.

Best Wishes,
Nicole Hadad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My college age daughter, her roommate and I spent 5 days in at the end of July in a 1 bedroom condo on the 11th floor. We were very satisfied with our accommodations. Our condo was very nice, clean and spacious for the three of us. The girls had originally planned on sleeping on the queen sleeper sofa in the living room, but after we pulled it out and they layed on it, they changed their mind. No worries, we were in a unit with two full sized beds, so it all worked out.

Location was fantastic. In between North Myrtle and Myrtle, this beach area was not overly crowded. Very relaxing atmosphere. Pool area was very nice too, as was the in house restaurant. Prices very reasonable and food was fine.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping was a little hit or miss, but we were okay, as long as we got clean towels every day.

My adult son, daughter in law, grandaughter and a little friend had a one bedroom one floor down from us. I have to say that their unit was not quite as nice as ours. As my DIL said, she would definitely come back to FDs, but would not ask for that particular unit.

Overall, I would recommend this complex to others. Made for a very layed back, relaxing stay for all of us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank TeriLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear TeriLouisville_KY,

We are very happy to hear of your fantastic experience and glad to see that we were able to have relaxing family vacation that you deserve. With each unit being individually owned, they do vary some but I can say the majority of our units receive upgrades throughout the winter so feel free to make any unit requests that you like and keep that in mind. We look forward to having you with us again and the chance to serve you and yours.

Best Wishes,
Nicole Hadad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent 3 nights in a 1 bedroom. The room was very clean. The layout of the room is great and it was very spacious. Beds were comfortable. While a little dated, the room was nicely decorated and well stocked. We drive a full size SUV and parking is limited to a small section the lower level of the parking garage due to the height of the upper levels. Luckily, it was not a peak time while we were there so we did not have any issues. The food at the onsite restaurant/bar was good and reasonably priced. The location on the beach is great. It's not crowded at all and is an easy walk even crossing the street. All of the staff members we encountered were friendly. I believe Bill handled our check in and check out and was very nice and welcoming. Overall no complaints with our stay but would love to see some updates to the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BIGRlilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear BIGRlilw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your most recent trip to the beach. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our spacious condos, fantastic onsite Buckets restaurant, and many other amenities. We pride ourselves on having one of the friendliest staffs on the beach and are thrilled to hear that you were able to experience this. We hope we have the opportunity to host you and yours again so that you can see the many renovations we have planned this winter season.

Best Wishes,
Nicole Hadad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family decided at the last minute to spend a few days at the beach. I was honestly surprised. While the hotel is on the older side, our room was clean. The kitchen was great seeing as we have two small children. The view was great as well as the location. I liked the fact that it is still close enough to all of the attractions but not right in the middle of all the beach hustle and bustle. The pool and lazy river were great. There was also an indoor pool but we didn't partake in it. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank acsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear acsolo,

I am so happy to hear that you and your family were able to have a nice summer getaway with Forest Dunes resort. We have to agree that our location provides the perfect mix of quieter beaches and close attractions. We hope that we see and yours again for another trip to the beach and wish you a great end to the summer season.

Best Wishes,
Nicole Hadad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The good: Awesome view from our balcony, clean, comfortable sheets, friendly and helpful staff.
The bad: Fresh urine on commode in front of bottom of tank (behind where you lift seat). See pic. The office staff came up after 2nd phone call and did a good job of cleaning the urine that housekeeping missed. She had a good attitude about having to clean this yuck that was overlooked by housekeeping. Moldy coffee pod that was left in coffee basket. See pic.
The ugly: We arrived to a "retro" condo, decorated 80's style. Pink and purple "swooshed" wallpaper in the bathroom that was peeling in places. Dusty, dirty baseboards. Rust stains around toilet bolts. Banged up door frames and cabinet bottoms, stains on ceiling from vents blowing on them. The sofa was hard to get up from once you sat down.
Overall: We won't be back to Forest Dunes. The condo we stayed in is in desperate need of updating. I've seen other reviews where renters got a "beautifully decorated" condo. Not so in our case, and as out of town renters we had no way of knowing this when we booked online. Naturally the resort is going to show their best on the website. What we saw online and what we actually got were totally opposite. Since the condo is individually owned, the owner is responsible for this, and apparently does just enough to get by. Additionally, the housekeeping is severely lacking as evidenced by my photos. My husband and I were very disappointed in this trip to Myrtle Beach, and were glad to get home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole H, Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Leslie1262,

We are very sorry to see that you did not have a great time and weren't impressed with us as a whole. We apologize that our housekeeping services were not up to our usual standards and assure you that the appropriate changes are being made. I am happy to say that we are in the process of upgrading many of our units this winter throughout the building and are excited to see the difference that these changes will make for all of our guests. We hope that you will come back again in the future and give us another chance to wow you and yours.

Best Wishes,
Nicole Hadad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#12 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,091 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,146 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#51 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £77 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condos, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year-round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing