We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare!”
Review of Ocean Forest Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Forest Plaza
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I just recently stayed in this resort & it was awful. The reviews we reviewed online were false as well as the information we received before booking. We couldn't even fit our SUV in the parking deck because the ceilings were too low & the turns were to narrow. The room was decorated from the 1980 era, nothing like the pictures @ all. The beds & pillows were stained. The mattress on the sofa bed was fit for a toddler to sleep in because the mattress was so thin. We eventually had to purchase linen, pillows & a mattress cover for the bed. We asked to move & we were told there were no rooms available even though the outside said vacancy. The staff was very rude when we complained about the room. We should have stayed @ the Hampton inn, if we would have known this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Can you inbox us your last name and the dates that you stayed?! We would like to pass this information on to management. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. You might like our Sand Dunes property better next time it has newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    46
    22
    20
    30
See reviews for
86
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pfafftown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you are looking for a really great place to stay, look no further. I stay at this hotel several times a year, most recently, June 16 through June 20th, 2013. The hotel staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are clean, freshly painted, and very well equipped. The hotel is very quiet at night. It is in a really nice residential section of the Myrtle Beach area -- a perfect place to stay. The maid service is very efficient, leaving plenty of towels and other necessities on a daily basis. The view of the ocean is spectacular from any of their ocean front rooms. I am extremely peculiar about cleanliness. This is simply the very best place to stay at Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are awesome! I've never heard any noise from any room that I've staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Becky,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thank you for your repeat business and your kind words! We really appreciate you taking time to leave us a good review. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Reasonable rate for a golf week. All units are privately owned. We had a lovely re-renovated condo. Very comfortable for 2people right down to the shower wall jets. Simply amazing. So if your are looking for a weeks golf holiday talk to Kevin at Palmetto vacation rentals. Ask for apt 801. It is a side unit and you still had a lovely view of the ocean and north down the coast. Amazing sunrises

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Another chaperone and I traveled with five young ladies to Myrtle Beach and booked two rooms here. Based on what we were told at the front desk, each condo is individually owned, therefore they are decorated differently, and they only check guests in and out.

The lobby had an odor that reminded us of fish. We were placed in a non-smoking room that smelled strongly of smoke. The appliances, furniture, and flooring all looked like something out an 80s movie. The comforter looked questionable as to whether it had been washed/dry cleaned recently. There were stains on the blanket beneath the comforter. One television had no remote control and the other had a remote that didn't work. The tile was pulled away from wall in the bathroom. There was trash on the floor beside the trash can. The pool was murky. The elevators had messages scratched on the doors by previous guests. The parking lot was too tight for easy navigation with even a mid-sized car without backing up and pulling forward several times to ensure that the car doesn't hit the wall. There are scrapes along each wall where drivers have been unable to avoid the wall in the small spaces.

We called the front desk on the first night and didn't get an answer. When we went down, the clerk said she heard the phone ringing but didn't answer because she couldn't talk. (She seemed to have laryngitis). We also called for extra towels on our second day and they were never brought to us.

Don't be fooled by the pictures on the hotel's website. Each condo looks different. The picture shown is of one in better shape than what we saw. NEVER AGAIN will we stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara_WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Rockwell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights on spring break. We almost changed our plans after seeing so many negative reveiws on here, but decided to go anyway since we got a really good deal on the price. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and went to the room. We had a nice view of the ocean, and our room was clean. We enjoyed having a living room, kitchenette, and bedroom, especially since we were staying with 2 children. It gave us more room to spread out and we weren't cramped into a small hotel room. The maid service was excellent during our viisit, they made sure we had the supplies we needed for the room. The parking garage was tight, but we knew that ahead of time by looking at the reviews so we took our compact car and had no problems with it. It was on a quiet section of the beach, which is what we prefer anyway. We will be looking to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelmo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My wife and I have stayed at OFP three times. Originally we started going there because friends have condos there. Note: This is NOT the newest place on the beach but the rooms are clean and the sunrise and daytime views are spectacular. You are renting a condo and each unit is owned and managed differently. The units will vary in quality based upon the tastes of the different owners.

However, this is a great location to base your MB visit. As a biker, I can park our car in the tight garage and get anywhere I want to go on two wheels. The beach is never crowded near OFP because you are a good 20 blocks from the heart of the Grand Strand and well south of the congestion of the shopping and restaurants in North MB. (But you are close enough to get to these places when -- or if -- you want to get there.) You can bike or drive to parks, Broadway on the Beach, restaurants, Barefoot Landing and other attractions.

Note: We rent condos through local realtors -- not through the front desk. So some of the issues people have reported in dealing with the staff have not been an issue for us.

It's about ten blocks to Starbucks for you caffeine addicts but with a stove and coffee maker in the room, so what.

Note: At the end of last season (SEP 2012) the pool was going to be renovated. Check to be sure it is finished before you book your stay if this is important to you.

Room Tip: Work through a local realtor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PRTitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#117 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#79 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#77 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage I & II
Anchorage I & II
#9 of 34 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Dunes Resort
Forest Dunes Resort
#42 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#70 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Forest Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Plaza

Property: Ocean Forest Plaza
Address: 5523 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2394
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Forest Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Forest Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing