We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Forest Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Forest Plaza
Jacksonburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
“Nice location!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here from 7/6/13 to 7/13/13. they had us in the wrong room first night, I rented ocean front and when we got there it was ocean view. They did change us the next day, I had to wash all of our towels and at 2 dollars a load did get expensive but if I didn't we would still be waiting to take showers. They really need to get move towels and extra sets! I did like the location but the garage was hard to get in and out of. If you have a truck or bigger suv good luck trying to park! I don't know if I would stay here again! Didn't like the fact that you had to go to a different place for breakfast and waterpark and the fitness center!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kariab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback! The next time we recommend staying at our Sand Dunes or Ocean Dunes location because they are the closest to the Waterpark and fitness center. We hope you come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    46
    22
    20
    30
See reviews for
86
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The general experience was very poor. - All of the furniture was old and dingy - The wallpaper was peeling in places - The toilet did not work. Seeing 2 plungers in the bathroom was the warning. - The sliding door to the balcony was broken. - The people in the hotel could not help as it was rented through Travelocity and then they contracted through another management company (Palmetto). So, any request for help took hours and the Palmetto people were rude. Like the toilet. Had a spill and it took 2 hours to get someone to fix it. - The management company charged us $120 over and above what we payed Travelocity. Lastly, the wifi did not work for days on end.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We are so sorry you had a bad experience. The best way is to book directly through Sands, we are limited as to what we can do when rooms are booked through Travelocity. We did not have any other complaints about the wifi not working, to our knowledge it was running fine. Nonetheless, we are very sorry you did not have a good experience. You might want to try our Sand Dunes location next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I just recently stayed in this resort & it was awful. The reviews we reviewed online were false as well as the information we received before booking. We couldn't even fit our SUV in the parking deck because the ceilings were too low & the turns were to narrow. The room was decorated from the 1980 era, nothing like the pictures @ all. The beds & pillows were stained. The mattress on the sofa bed was fit for a toddler to sleep in because the mattress was so thin. We eventually had to purchase linen, pillows & a mattress cover for the bed. We asked to move & we were told there were no rooms available even though the outside said vacancy. The staff was very rude when we complained about the room. We should have stayed @ the Hampton inn, if we would have known this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Can you inbox us your last name and the dates that you stayed?! We would like to pass this information on to management. We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. You might like our Sand Dunes property better next time it has newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfafftown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you are looking for a really great place to stay, look no further. I stay at this hotel several times a year, most recently, June 16 through June 20th, 2013. The hotel staff is extremely friendly. The rooms are clean, freshly painted, and very well equipped. The hotel is very quiet at night. It is in a really nice residential section of the Myrtle Beach area -- a perfect place to stay. The maid service is very efficient, leaving plenty of towels and other necessities on a daily basis. The view of the ocean is spectacular from any of their ocean front rooms. I am extremely peculiar about cleanliness. This is simply the very best place to stay at Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are awesome! I've never heard any noise from any room that I've staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Becky,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Thank you for your repeat business and your kind words! We really appreciate you taking time to leave us a good review. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Reasonable rate for a golf week. All units are privately owned. We had a lovely re-renovated condo. Very comfortable for 2people right down to the shower wall jets. Simply amazing. So if your are looking for a weeks golf holiday talk to Kevin at Palmetto vacation rentals. Ask for apt 801. It is a side unit and you still had a lovely view of the ocean and north down the coast. Amazing sunrises

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Another chaperone and I traveled with five young ladies to Myrtle Beach and booked two rooms here. Based on what we were told at the front desk, each condo is individually owned, therefore they are decorated differently, and they only check guests in and out.

The lobby had an odor that reminded us of fish. We were placed in a non-smoking room that smelled strongly of smoke. The appliances, furniture, and flooring all looked like something out an 80s movie. The comforter looked questionable as to whether it had been washed/dry cleaned recently. There were stains on the blanket beneath the comforter. One television had no remote control and the other had a remote that didn't work. The tile was pulled away from wall in the bathroom. There was trash on the floor beside the trash can. The pool was murky. The elevators had messages scratched on the doors by previous guests. The parking lot was too tight for easy navigation with even a mid-sized car without backing up and pulling forward several times to ensure that the car doesn't hit the wall. There are scrapes along each wall where drivers have been unable to avoid the wall in the small spaces.

We called the front desk on the first night and didn't get an answer. When we went down, the clerk said she heard the phone ringing but didn't answer because she couldn't talk. (She seemed to have laryngitis). We also called for extra towels on our second day and they were never brought to us.

Don't be fooled by the pictures on the hotel's website. Each condo looks different. The picture shown is of one in better shape than what we saw. NEVER AGAIN will we stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara_WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed there for 6 nights on spring break. We almost changed our plans after seeing so many negative reveiws on here, but decided to go anyway since we got a really good deal on the price. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and went to the room. We had a nice view of the ocean, and our room was clean. We enjoyed having a living room, kitchenette, and bedroom, especially since we were staying with 2 children. It gave us more room to spread out and we weren't cramped into a small hotel room. The maid service was excellent during our viisit, they made sure we had the supplies we needed for the room. The parking garage was tight, but we knew that ahead of time by looking at the reviews so we took our compact car and had no problems with it. It was on a quiet section of the beach, which is what we prefer anyway. We will be looking to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelmo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#127 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#75 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#80 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage I & II
Anchorage I & II
#9 of 34 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forest Dunes Resort
Forest Dunes Resort
#47 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#70 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Forest Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Plaza

Property: Ocean Forest Plaza
Address: 5523 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2394
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Forest Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Forest Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing