We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...”
Review of Ocean Forest Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Forest Plaza
1 review
“Ok...”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were originally booked at one of the other sands resorts, ocean dunes in tower 2. It was a dumb and we requested a transfer, which took forever but finally got one in a much nicer room compared to the latter, the room was suitable and it was peaceful and fairly clean, needs updated majorly though. The beds were hard as a rock and one of the housekeepers helped themselves to some money my husband left on the table, they never brought us clean towels, except the 1st day when we called for them. Other than that we basically got what we paid for... It was peaceful and relaxing though. Next time, I think we will stay back at the Patricia Grand. That place is NICE!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylagarren87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review

We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you during your vacation. You should not have to move room locations.

As far as the money being taken off the table, Sands Resorts does not tolerate theft and we do hope you brought this to the attention of the hotel manager.

If you will please provide us with your room # at the Plaza, we would like to look into this.

We hope you will return to one of our Sands Resorts during your next Myrtle Beach vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    47
    22
    20
    31
See reviews for
87
30
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just came back from a 1 week stay at the Ocean Forest Plaza Condo Hotel. It was a very good place to stay at. The rooms were excellent and very clean. Nothing bad to report about the place. They have a restaurant with a fantastic view of the beach..The place has an inside pool and an outside pool. Also there is a whirlpool. They have an inside garage which was excellent to have especially when it rains.The place is just next to the beach. You just have to cross the road. The beach was excellent. Super clean. It's very quiet as it's in a residential area.. I would go back there anytime in the future.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review.

We are so very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you can return soon for another visit.

You can tell your family and friends you stayed on the "Golden Mile" in Myrtle Beach. You are right in saying this is a residential area and very quiet. Some folks call it "old Myrtle Beach." Away from the hustle and bustle but still within driving distance if you want to be in the middle of it all.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I continue because the price is reasonable, in comparison to many others. The amenities are good and the front desk staff is overall pleasant. The hallways do indeed smell at times and I always make sure to Lysol down my room in its entirety. Getting towels and catching an elevator are the largest challenges. I always stay ocean front and I also enjoy the pool and spa area. I drive a large truck, so parking on the side of the building is a must. I will likely continue to stay, as Lysol is not that expensive.

Room Tip: ocean front and park on the side...also get your towels early in the day or you might not get them u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Ocean Forest Plaza and thank you for your review.

We glad you are a frequent guest and we appreciate your loyalty. We apologize for any odor you are experiencing in the hallways and we WILL look into this.

We hope you return again very soon, we look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The price for the room was great! However the staff was very VERY unpleasant. All but one person I encountered with were very rude and extremely unhelpful. The view of the ocean was pretty good, but there was a small two-lane road you had to cross to get to the ocean. Overall, unless you let the rudeness of the staff get to you, you will have a nice and quiet stay at the Ocean Forest Plaza.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We thank you for your review

We are glad your stay with us was good overall. It is NOT acceptable for the staff to act rude to our guests and we will definitely bring this to the attention of the hotel manager.

We apologize for this and hope this will not deter you from returning to Ocean Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly. Easy beach access and pools are nice. However the fifth floor hallway smelled TERRIBLE. Parking garage very difficult to maneuver in....if you don't want scratches on your car do not stay here. Other than that everything is very nice!

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor that way you don't have to scrape up your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review! We are glad you had a good time. Thank you for letting us know some of the issues you had, we appreciate it! We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yadkinville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I booked through the resort itself and stayed on the 9th floor. We weren't able to get into our room until a little after 4pm. It was clean enough and the housekeeping was decent if u overlooked a couple things. There was an old coffee filter left in the maker and getting towels was like pulling teeth. Our maid took our used ones but didn't leave fresh ones. When we got in at 11pm from a day of walking Charleston, we had no clean towels to shower with and was told by the front desk housekeeping left at 5. It was around lunch the next day before we had clean towels.That was my only problem. Absolutely nothing is within walking distance and the parking could stand some help as we had an oversize vehicle. Those are my only gripes. I felt the price was reasonable and most of the staff helpful with the exception of a couple. Only because of the price and other things included might I stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback! We are glad you felt the experience was a great value. We hope you will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Based on a lot of reviews here I was nervous about staying there. We found a really great deal with an owner who rents out a condo on the 19th floor with out having to book through the resort. That's definitely the way to go!! Our specific unit was very clean and well furnished but I want to review the actual resort. The building its self is extremely outdated and somewhat dirty. The elevators are hot and old, some of the hallways have an odd odor. The pool was nice and clean, and the beach is easily accessible. The parking garage is unlike any I've seen before. If you drive a large vehicle you won't be able to navigate the garage with out scraping walls. I thought it was tight for my corolla. I think we might stay here again if we go through a private owner who provides pictures, but I probably wouldn't risk booking through the actual property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank arayosunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We do have great homeowners. Although, if you book through a homeowner you do not get any of the amenities that are included. We have many units that homeowners update and rent through the hotel! We hope you will come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#119 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#72 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#78 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forest Dunes Resort
Forest Dunes Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage I & II
Anchorage I & II
#10 of 34 in Myrtle Beach
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#70 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Forest Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Plaza

Property: Ocean Forest Plaza
Address: 5523 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2394
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Forest Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Forest Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing