We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Visitor”
Review of Ocean Forest Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Forest Plaza
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Frequent Visitor”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have stayed here almost everytime that we have visited in the past year... The condo is always nice and clean no complaints. The staff is really friendly.. The only that I would like to ask is have you all considered doing an indoor water park? That would make the stay even better when it gets colder outside. All in all great place to stay, reasonable price!!! I just left there on Sat. Sept 14, 2013!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank octavia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for the review.

Happy to hear you have no complaints and we do hope you will visit again very soon.

As far as an indoor water park for colder days, we will pass this suggestion on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    49
    22
    21
    31
See reviews for
90
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived on a Thursday evening and had a fairly easy checking along with information about a water park that we could use at another Sands property. We received a call asking if we found the room ok. The room was ok for Myrtle Beach oceanfront. We had an oceanfront one bedroom suite. The decor was pastel 80's seaside as many are. The two beds being doubles are small for two adults in one bed and as with most hotels on this bed they were were hard. The next morning our granddaughter spilled her drink on one bed and we pulled the covers off to wash that evening. When we got back the covers were gone and others left and nothing else touched. Next day a sheet put on this bed, the other bed made. Later same day we returned again to all towels gone around 4. The clerk downstairs didn't know what to do and did not seem to care. After an hour another staff member got us towels. Parking lot is tight as some others at this beach. Don't expect luxury, understand every room is owned by different people. Be prepared for front desk people to be either very nice or rather ignorant as this seems the case. Security is the same with several showing an attitude of vanity and over importance .... Which most people in the field know escalates tensions instead of de-escalate as we witnessed outside with some young kids were being a bit annoying but not any reason for more than a simple kind request to move along and calm down.

Room Tip: I had room 2112. Average room for this beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your thorough review.

We apologize if any of our staff were rude as this is not acceptable practice at Sands.

Thank you for providing your room #. If you can supply us with your date of stay, we will look into this.

We hope you return to Ocean Forest Plaza or to one of our other Sands properties very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were originally booked at one of the other sands resorts, ocean dunes in tower 2. It was a dumb and we requested a transfer, which took forever but finally got one in a much nicer room compared to the latter, the room was suitable and it was peaceful and fairly clean, needs updated majorly though. The beds were hard as a rock and one of the housekeepers helped themselves to some money my husband left on the table, they never brought us clean towels, except the 1st day when we called for them. Other than that we basically got what we paid for... It was peaceful and relaxing though. Next time, I think we will stay back at the Patricia Grand. That place is NICE!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylagarren87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review

We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you during your vacation. You should not have to move room locations.

As far as the money being taken off the table, Sands Resorts does not tolerate theft and we do hope you brought this to the attention of the hotel manager.

If you will please provide us with your room # at the Plaza, we would like to look into this.

We hope you will return to one of our Sands Resorts during your next Myrtle Beach vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just came back from a 1 week stay at the Ocean Forest Plaza Condo Hotel. It was a very good place to stay at. The rooms were excellent and very clean. Nothing bad to report about the place. They have a restaurant with a fantastic view of the beach..The place has an inside pool and an outside pool. Also there is a whirlpool. They have an inside garage which was excellent to have especially when it rains.The place is just next to the beach. You just have to cross the road. The beach was excellent. Super clean. It's very quiet as it's in a residential area.. I would go back there anytime in the future.

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montrealer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your positive review.

We are so very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you can return soon for another visit.

You can tell your family and friends you stayed on the "Golden Mile" in Myrtle Beach. You are right in saying this is a residential area and very quiet. Some folks call it "old Myrtle Beach." Away from the hustle and bustle but still within driving distance if you want to be in the middle of it all.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times. I continue because the price is reasonable, in comparison to many others. The amenities are good and the front desk staff is overall pleasant. The hallways do indeed smell at times and I always make sure to Lysol down my room in its entirety. Getting towels and catching an elevator are the largest challenges. I always stay ocean front and I also enjoy the pool and spa area. I drive a large truck, so parking on the side of the building is a must. I will likely continue to stay, as Lysol is not that expensive.

Room Tip: ocean front and park on the side...also get your towels early in the day or you might not get them u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Ocean Forest Plaza and thank you for your review.

We glad you are a frequent guest and we appreciate your loyalty. We apologize for any odor you are experiencing in the hallways and we WILL look into this.

We hope you return again very soon, we look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The price for the room was great! However the staff was very VERY unpleasant. All but one person I encountered with were very rude and extremely unhelpful. The view of the ocean was pretty good, but there was a small two-lane road you had to cross to get to the ocean. Overall, unless you let the rudeness of the staff get to you, you will have a nice and quiet stay at the Ocean Forest Plaza.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We thank you for your review

We are glad your stay with us was good overall. It is NOT acceptable for the staff to act rude to our guests and we will definitely bring this to the attention of the hotel manager.

We apologize for this and hope this will not deter you from returning to Ocean Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel staff is very friendly. Easy beach access and pools are nice. However the fifth floor hallway smelled TERRIBLE. Parking garage very difficult to maneuver in....if you don't want scratches on your car do not stay here. Other than that everything is very nice!

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor that way you don't have to scrape up your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Ocean Forest Plaza, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review! We are glad you had a good time. Thank you for letting us know some of the issues you had, we appreciate it! We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#119 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
108 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
3,143 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#11 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#7 of 210 in Myrtle Beach
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Forest Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Forest Plaza

Property: Ocean Forest Plaza
Address: 5523 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2394
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Forest Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Forest Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Forest Plaza Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing