We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summer Wind Inn & Suites
Ranked #191 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 30 June 2006

Good & Lots of Bad
Good: Cheap price, nice location on the beach, free breakfast
Bad: Dirty, smells of smoke (sheets), not enough towels for the number of guests in the room (called office 4 out of 5 days about this), bathroom was disgusting and the floor had not been mopped, hot tub was growing mold (green water), human poop in the pool, and stained carpet

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UK-GoCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2006

I've been to Myrtle Beach a million times, but this was my first time staying at Summer Wind. It's in a good location (and right on the beach), the nightly rate we received was fantastic, and the room was clean. We had no problems getting clean towels, etc. (like the previous reviewer did...maybe the staff was just having a busy week then). They accept small pets, which is a major plus, but be aware no dogs are allowed on the beach from 9am-5pm. The staff was extremely nice & helpful and as everyone else has said, the waffles were great. :)

I think this motel is appropriate for anyone looking for a nice place to stay on a budget. While it has been remodeled, it's still not new construction, so don't expect that. It's not fancy, but it is clean and everyone is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2006

We visit this hotel when we go to MB. The staff was friendly, but it seemed to be understaffed. When we got to the hotel, it was clean. The breakfast was still good. The problem was the room service. You couldn't get clean towels until about 1 PM. The other thing was with our stay, we were allowed 1 day of full service cleaning. We never got that. When we got back to the hotel at 4 PM, there were only towels on the bed. The beds were not made. We usually make them ourselves, but the only day we didn't, they were not made. Other than that, the rates are very good. I'm not sure if we will go back. By the way, our vacation was great!

Stayed: June 2006
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pa.
1
Reviewed 30 December 2005

This motel is probably one of the best deals on the beach. If you want to stay in a nice place for a reasonable price, go here. The staff was wonderful, breakfast was tasty, room was clean and a perfect view of the beach. I will be staying here again !!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Morganton, NC
13
Reviewed 18 November 2005

Just got back from a vacation that was cut quite short due to having been robbed in my motel room while I slept. According to local police, the burglar came in my 2nd floor balcony door. This was the 3rd robbery in less than 2 weeks at this motel, and I have to wonder if that's an average. We ignored the questionable cleanliness upon arrival because we have a dog, and they are pet-friendly, but safety concerns left no choice but to leave. I will not stay there again under any circumstances, and I feel I should let this be known if it might help someone else avoid being robbed as I was.

Stayed: November 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 November 2005

This review leaves out quite a few pertinent facts and was written as promised by the guest as retribution because we were not willing to meet the guest's demands. First, the incident in question was not experienced by the guest in first person as suggested by the reviewer, she had left in the middle of her stay to go home before the incident occurred to be with her sick mother. Second, the incident was not a robbery, but instead an unknown person entered the room sometime in the wee hours of the morning through a door her son admits he left wide open. The door was not locked or even latched. The thief apparently took some items and left the way he came. Third, the reviewer said the room housekeeping was not what it should have been, but made no complaint to the staff during her first two weeks of the stay about any such problem. Fourth, we are located next to a public beach access which means we cannot restrict the flow of pedestrians from Ocean Blvd to the beach and vice versa. We cannot police society and cannot be responsible for the regretful conduct of a few. In this instance the reviewer's son exercised poor judgment in sleeping with a door wide open. I would not do this anywhere and I doubt there are many people who would feel this is reasonable conduct. We do feel that over time we have had very few such incidents, less than most other competing motels because we have longer office hours than most, are open year round, have two watchful employees who live on site and our desk personnel do make periodic trips around the parking lot and motel. Finally, although we feel we were not to blame, we did offer the guest some compensation, which she refused, demanding instead a full refund for her stay. We do not claim to be perfect but we do everything we can to make sure guests have a great stay and when our employees err, do what we can to make it right. Thank you for the opportunity to address this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
new york
11
Reviewed 5 October 2005

My family and I stayed at this motel and it was awfull. The room smelled of urine really bad , not from dogs either smelled more like human waste.We pulled down the spread and had dirty sheets. We had to buy our own cleaning supplies for the windows that we could not see out of. It was just awfull. I would never stay there again. It could use a good cleaning inside out .the stove had not been cleaned so i brought clorox to clean to bathroom and kitchen....the towels are nice and people are friendly but that dont make a pleasureable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lincoln, NE
11
Reviewed 6 August 2005

I'll make this very simple, here is a list of things that needed attention:
1. Pool had green water and was out of commission for 3 days because of a filter problem.
2.Took two days into our stay to get the ice machine to work after being struck by lightning four days earlier.
3.Carpet in rooms (had two) were wet.
4.Several lights were not working and never repaired.
5. Showers ran hot then cold, with low water pressure.
6. Windows on balcony were very dirty and one chair was broke.
7. On second night leg broke off of bed grand children were sleeping in.
8. There were a couple of real slick spots near the pool, where algea was growing in puddles of standing water.
9. Railings on balconies were 5 inches apart, not very safe for small pets or children.
10. Room cleanliness need more attention to detail ie; trash from previous guest under bed, dirty mirrors.
11. Sheets are off white and have various stains and bedspreads needed washing.
One stay at this hotel was enough for me and my family we won't go back. Hotel had a 2 star rating that it didn't deserve.We would have left after first night but no other hotels had rooms available with ocean front view.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#140 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,031 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
The Midtown Inn & Cottages
#97 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#165 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#143 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Wind Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Wind Inn & Suites

Address: 1903 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635 (Formerly A Summer Wind Motel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £34 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Wind Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh and relax in our pool and hot tub with the tropical warm breeze of the Summer Wind on the oceanfront in world famous Myrtle Beach, South Carolina! Our South Ocean Boulevard location provides a laid-back family atmosphere and quick access to all the popular Myrtle Beach attractions. In fact, the Summer Wind is within walking distance of restaurants, fishing pier, miniature golf, Par 3 golf, 18 hole Championship golf, water parks, miniature stockcar race track, shopping malls, and many other attractions. Public transportation comes by the Summer Wind every 20 minutes during the summer months, making access to the entire city, including Broadway at the Beach, a quick and pleasurable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Summer Wind Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Summer Wind Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel a Summer Wind

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing