We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakers Boutique North Unit 763. Updated unit with granite and leather sofa & recliner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Strand A Boutique Resort
Ranked #12 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, OR
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakers Boutique North Unit 763. Updated unit with granite and leather sofa & recliner”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We've been coming here for 3 years because how close it is to the convention center. It's walking distance or less than a half mile. It's great because you get ocean front and a heated outdoor pool. We stayed in a one bedroom that was updated with granite, new appliances and a smooth top stove etc. It was neat and clean. My husband loved the leather recliner.

Front desk was welcoming and we enjoyed the free breakfast each day. Vernon who cooks for the breakfast is friendly and keeps the place neat and clean. You see management walking around almost daily to make sure guests are happy.

The staff make Breakers Boutique North Tower feel like warm and like family. Lots of golfers were staying and we enjoyed the lack of kids in the pool and in the complex. You have access to the main Breakers with lazy river and indoor pools if you want to visit it 4-6 blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Over6ftgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank You so much for sharing such great information about the Breakers Boutique with other travelers! We are very proud of our units and our staff. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    307
    123
    44
    47
See reviews for
430
334
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We are so well taken care of. Marlene at the front desk makes us fell special and is always willing to help in any way she can, Vern in the breakfast room always is cheerful and goes out of his way to provide a nutritious breakfast and Karen does a great job cleaning our suite weekly. These are the people that keep us coming back every year, especially Marlene.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteyP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We certainly appreciate your sharing of such kind comments with other travelers. It is always a pleasure when we can help in any way to provide an enjoyable travel experience for our guests. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

While planning a longer honeymoon for 2014, I wanted to get away for a couple of days after our wedding in late October 2013. I am a fairly avid couponer, so when I saw this Groupon for an inexpensive oceanfront room in Myrtle Beach, I jumped on the opportunity. My *new* husband & I had a wonderful experience at the Breakers Resort North Tower. The accommodations were exactly what we needed and we had a great view of the ocean.

We are planning to return annually on our wedding anniversary & hope to stay at your property!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding! The Breakers is proud to have been your hotel choice for your mini-honeymoon. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Boutique and we look forward to celebrating your special day with you and your husband for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wattsburg
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Breakers Resort for 4 nights while visiting Myrtle Beach. We had never been to this part of the country before and had purchased a Groupon well in advance for our stay. Unfortunately, we were more than a little disappointed with our room, but chose not to complain. We felt that it was the risk we had taken when purchasing the unknown and unseen, "affordable" vacation. At times we have felt that we've been given the lesser quality when using Groupon, Living Social, or any coupon deals. We assumed this was the case once again. The room was an older one with many flaws, some of which could be overlooked, some not so easily.
After returning home, the following morning I found an email thanking us for staying at Breakers Resort. Along with the Thank You was a survey that I was asked to fill out, which I did. I took the opportunity to make my complaints about the condition of the room, but also to give credit for the good things. All of the staff were very friendly, the pools were great, and the included breakfasts were really nice.
Within several hours of submitting the completed survey, I received a phone call from the manager at Breakers. After receiving and reading my survey, he took the time to go have a look at the room that we had stayed in. He was unaware of it's condition, and after seeing it for himself, was also upset by it. He said that it was next on the list to be remodeled and was very apologetic for the condition. He felt very badly about our unhappiness with our stay at Breakers and made several suggestions in efforts to try to make up for it.
My opinion (and this review) of Breakers Resort is a very different one now, thanks to the sincerity and customer care of the Manager Bill Kilbourne, to go the extra mile. A sincere apology is so rare these days!

Room Tip: If you are unhappy with your room they will be happy to correct it, if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments on the room and are happy to hear that our Resort Manager followed up with you to address these. We do value all our guests and want them to have a positive opinion of our resort and our staff. We hope you will get the chance to return in the future when you return to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were let down with our stay at Breakers Resort North Tower. We were told upon checking in that we were getting (and I quote) "the best room in the hotel" by the front staff. She even sounded excited about the room we were getting. We go up to check in, and the feeling was like all the air deflating from a balloon. Two bedroom suite, the view was amazing, but that is about all it had going for it. The tile in the entry way, the kitchen, and both bathrooms was old, dingy, and very dated. The kitchen appliances were nicely updated, nothing else was. The cabinets were old, the dishes were very limited and we decided to not even bother with the kitchen other than using the fridge.

The bathroom in the room with two double beds - disgusting. The sink basin was completely cracked all over. The shower was small, and when the shower head was pointed at the wall, mold would wash out of the cracks. We didn't even keep the scruffy comforters on the beds, just stuck those in the top of the closet. There were too many flower arrangements! Every possible surface in the bedroom had a fake floral arrangement, which left pretty much ZERO room to put makeup, hairbrush, etc. And the room was very dark - just the two bedside lamps to provide light, and the light switch didn't work to turn the lights on and off - constantly having to walk in to the room all the way, which is counter-productive when trying to get two young kids to sleep.

The diagram of the room showed a sofa, love seat and two chairs. This was important because we stayed with another family, who stayed in the room with the king size bed. So eight of us all together, but no chairs in the room. So very limited seating in the living room; our kids spent most of the trip on the floor. And the tv for the living room was very small. It was almost humorous. Almost. More disappointing than funny. Tears in the wallpaper in random spots, several bright spots on the wall where pictures used to be and were moved, so the fading really showed. The bathrooms seriously need work, but overall, we would have been more satisfied if the room was not talked up - if that is the BEST room you have, there is no way we are coming back.

Not to mention that not once, not twice, but FOUR TIMES someone came into our room unannounced!! The first time, we are sitting around before breakfast, and in walks the housekeeping lady, no knock, no announcement, just in she comes. REALLY? The second time, 9pm at night, on his way in the door is the maintenance man, coming to replace a lightbulb, no knocking, just waltzing right in like it's nothing to come into someone's room at 9pm without knocking. The third and fourth time, we were enjoying our last morning, and here come some guys with their suitcases, barrelling in, ready to stay - um, hello, we haven't checked out yet!! They weren't even on the right floor, so how in the world did their key work to OUR ROOM!

Also, there were several mornings on construction noise, not cool. Starting before 8am, did I mention that? One morning we were told the horrible sound was "the fan" and we would have heard it all week, but it was SO loud, my husband thought it sounded just like the fishing boat we were on when it was backing up. Ridiculous.

The swimming pools, sigh. No indoor pool here, just note that, because we were told that there was. Definitely not. The kiddie pool collected quite a bit of sand throughout the week, a little more each day, so it's obvious they don't spend any time cleaning that pool out. The big pool was absolutely freezing the last few days we were there, kind of sucks for a heated pool if it's not heated. Not to mention someone from the top floor threw a lighter off the balcony and it literally exploded when it hit the bricks by the kiddie pool, which I was in with my 5 year old at the time.

Meh. I wouldn't go back. It was nothing spectacular, they talked up a room to the point that it was a big disappointment when we walked in, random people coming in our room at random times, and just overall it wasn't that great. You can't call a room 'renovated' just because you put in some new kitchen appliances. Last I heard popcorn ceilings were not evidence of "newly renovated". Nasty bathrooms are not part of "newly renovated" rooms. And the breakfast room was like an Arctic expedition as cold as it was. And be sure to drive a compact car if you plan on parking in that garage, what a disaster.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for choosing the Breakers Boutique. We do apologize that the room was not to your liking. We are currently completely renovated the kitchens and bathrooms in this building. When finished, they will have granite countertops, new cabinets, floors and fixtures. Employees should not be entering rooms without prior notification, and we will address this with the staff. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked a 6 night stay with Groupon. We had a suite with 2 queen size beds a kitchenette and a living/dining room with a Murphy bed and of course a balcony that saw right out over the ocean, absolutely breath taking. The rooms were older and not as modern furnished but they were clean and comfortable, The staff was outstanding. We had an issue with the WIFI but the staff took care of us, incredible service. Garage not great but most things we could walk to and we were there to relax so beach and pool side!! Wonderful place to stay. Can highly recommend this place. We came at the end of September so the beach and pools were not busy at all. Really enjoyed my stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliebol_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took great care of you! We hope to see you again on your next visit to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Went to the Breaker's for a baseball tournament in Myrtle Beach. The staff was very nice and accommodating (unless you are in the pool for one minute too long at night). Location right on the beach was terrific. Great views and easy access. Food located around the resort were plentiful, although you probably have to take a 2-3 minute drive. Having a washer/dryer in the room was also fantastic as uniforms could be washed each day and wet stuff dried.

We were in the North Tower 1 bedroom queen suite and our room was in serious need of updating. Carpet was worn and he general feeling was one of overuse and under maintenance. As they were charging about $250/night (July 4th week) we felt the condition of the rooms should be better. When we arrived in the room they had blowers going to dry the carpets. Not sure what that was about as they did not appear to have been cleaned recently.

Only two chairs for the table, so made it kind of hard to eat for the four of us and there were cables all over for the TV system, that had to be avoided.

Rooms were cleaned well.

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller than they appear on the diagrams. Get the bigger suites if staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sschafe48170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the Breakers Boutique stay during the July 4th week. We are pleased to hear that our staff took great care of you. We are in the middle of renovating the kitchen and bathroom in the Boutique and look forward to its completion in a couple of months. We appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again for your next tournament or just a family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,971 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,136 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand A Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand A Boutique Resort

Property: The Strand A Boutique Resort
Address: 2700 N Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Strand A Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand is a quaint oceanfront boutique resort in the heart of Myrtle Beach, SC. Enjoy a beautiful oceanfront pool, an extra-large kiddie pool for the little ones, private cabanas, swirling hot water whirlpool, and a well-equipped exercise room. The market restaurant is severing piping hot coffee and delicious continental breakfast each morning for FREE for guests. Spacious, convenient, covered parking is also available just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Strand A Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Resort North Tower Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing