We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We LOVE the Breakers Boutique North Tower!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Strand A Boutique Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Strand A Boutique Resort
Ranked #19 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We LOVE the Breakers Boutique North Tower!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is our 6th year returning to the Boutique North Tower in February. We LOVE it!! Marleen at the Front Desk is the absolute BEST and one of the reason's why we return year after year!! We can't say enough nice things about her and her commitment to excellent customer service. The renovations on the kitchens and bathrooms are very nice. The location, views, wonderful breakfast and free parking across the street are all FANTASTIC!! We miss the hotel the minute that we leave. Can't wait to go back again next year!! :)

Room Tip: We like the CD room combination to make a 3 room suite. Very spacious and great balcony views. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear jo367,

Thanks you for choosing the Breakers Boutique and for taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and that Marleen keeps you coming back year after year! We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    283
    113
    43
    46
See reviews for
387
304
25
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington n.c.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Wilmington, N.C. is home where we have just spent day's without power due to an ice storm. When we left Friday morning for a pre-planned Valentines getaway we were cold, hadn't been able to shower and power was still off.
We really appreciate the warm staff, hot water and comfortable bed. We love the room layout and full kitchen and especially love the lack of ice. The couple that came with us was very complimentary also. We are frequent visitors to MB and understand the parking here is above most others and makes it a choice easy to make. Remember this is the beach and people, behaviour and noise are part I of the experience. Chill...without the ice!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GrantWilmingtonn_c_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear GrantWilmingtonn_c_,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Boutique and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We are also happy to see that you found our staff to be welcoming and your room to be comfortable. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked a last minute trip, left destination up to kids, they chose myrtle beach. Found property on web site, called directly to verify last minute accommodations. Was assured no problem, arrived next day at 3 am after working, then driving the 9 hrs travel time. Found it to be black Bike week, took an additional 21/2 hrs to go 5 blocks! Finally got to resort to be told there was no parking available and it was not resorts responsibility to provide parking!!!! Would need to take car to private parking, though they had no idea where that might be, seeing as how all parking was full for blocks!! Remember, it took 21/2 hrs to go 5 blocks!!! Staff was very rude and to the point, "not our responsibility"! I was paying luxury resort rates for very mediocre rooms, but had to stay in car! Complained to a security guard who was also very rude to us as I took kids to room to rest while I searched for parking, in end, he threatened to have me arrested for talking badly about resort while on their property! Unbelievable! Have never had such a bad experience, even at bargain or old properties. We checked out at 11, no refunds, paid for weekend and went down the beach to a much nicer, cheaper and far friendlier resort!! At no time, even after 6 emails, 3 calls and the 4 attempts while at hotel, did I ever hear from a manager! They get your money and don't care in the least if you are happy or not!
RUN! Don't walk away from this place! We travel frequently, stay in a wide variety and type of hotels, I've NEVER been treated like I was at Breakers anyplace else! Staff complained constantly about having a rough weekend and being over worked. I only wanted to get some sleep! Didn't happen here! Btw, after 4 hrs of trying to find parking, one employee at resort contacted maintenance, and opened on of the garage levels they had closed for painting and cleaning!!!! There were an add 40 parking spaces they weren't utilizing in hotels garage!! I showered, slept two hrs and ran from the place! They still send me advertisements though I've called repeatedly asking them to stop!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Jc M,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Boutique and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor our own. We strive to provide top notch service and the perfect vacation experience. I would like the opportunity to speak with you in regards to your stay with us. Please contact me directly at joe.gibbons@breakers.com or 843-444-4444 ext:8079. Thank you.

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed at the Breakers North three or four times. I love the location. You could walk to Broadway at the Beach, down to Bumz for a great lunch, and get anywhere with ease. I stayed on the top floor and found it to be awesome. The views just add that extra something.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Jack K,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Boutique and for taking the time to write this review. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us! We would also like to thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward to continuing to serve you and yours for years to come. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I came to you from the Patrica Grand, next door was never so disappointed in my life. Over the years i have stayed there a few times, but not again and also at the breakers south, because the pool was not heated what a nice surprise to find the pool and hot heated, andi mean is heated pool was 88 on new years day-hot tub 101+ Anyway the best part of our trip was meeting Marleen at the front desk. She showed us many rooms till we picked one and will be coming back in April. Marleen your the best

Room Tip: we stayed in room#453 it was great and a wall mounted tv loved it and everything worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank You for sharing such great comments with other travelers. It is such a pleasure to be able to provide such a nice getaway experience for our guests. As the Manager I can assure you that all of us appreciate Marleen's enthusiasm and pride in her profession! Happy belated Birthday wishes and we sure look forward to seeing you again at the Breakers Boutique!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs, SC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the North Tower. Facility was clean and well kept. Kitchen had all we needed for our stay. We had a king suite/ oceanview / which was as advertised but not what we were expecting. The balconies were at an angle to be beach, not parallel as we has had before. It was ocean front, but not what we had had before. We would stay here again, but would discuss the view provided with the room. Make sure you discuss this with reservations.

Room Tip: CONFIRM the view you will have from your room Corner rooms are not true "ocean front"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingfromSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank You very much for sharing your Breakers experience. It is always such a pleasure to hear from our guests when they have had a very nice visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We changed hotels from the Sheraton so we could be on the beach. We were so pleasantly surprised!!! Same price, clean rooms with daily maid service and a full kitchen. The pool area had several hot tubs, a lazy river. Work out room had nice equipment too. The location was fantastic and located near plenty to do!! Loved the free DVDS to watch in our room. The breakfast buffet across the street was reasonably priced, had a nice selection and was quite tasty!! My husband, 13 year old son and I had a very nice time!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RissaBouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Strand A Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank You very much for posting your review with Tripadvisor! Our amenities, location close to the convention center, and on the ocean are great reasons to stay with us! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you the next time you are in Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand A Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand A Boutique Resort

Property: The Strand A Boutique Resort
Address: 2700 N Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Strand A Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand is a quaint oceanfront boutique resort in the heart of Myrtle Beach, SC. Enjoy a beautiful oceanfront pool, an extra-large kiddie pool for the little ones, private cabanas, swirling hot water whirlpool, and a well-equipped exercise room. The market restaurant is severing piping hot coffee and delicious continental breakfast each morning for FREE for guests. Spacious, convenient, covered parking is also available just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Strand A Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Resort North Tower Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing