We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price but would stay somewhere else next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Strand A Boutique Resort
Ranked #15 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“OK for the price but would stay somewhere else next time.”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Breaker's North Tower for our 1 year anniversary. The resort was excellent for the price and the room was in good condition. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. We loved that the balcony extended from the living room to the bedroom so that we could listen to the ocean at night. The room and hotel was cleaned fair; however, we stayed 6 days and our sheets were never changed the entire time so we had to brush sand off the bed every night.
The pool was great and we loved the drinks at the bar! The lawn chairs in the grass was also a nice touch to be able to sit on at night and watch the ocean.
The only other complaints we have was the balcony's are not true ocean front. The entire hotel is built at an angle so all of the balcony's only face one direction. This makes it impossible to see the entire beach and also does not allow any privacy between you and the people beside, and above you. Also, this is not entirely the resort's fault; however, there is an ice cream cart that parks beside the pool every day and blasts music up to the rooms. We were unable to take any naps during the day because of the ice cream music and we even tried keeping the balcony doors shut, and we were clear up on the 16th floor. If we ever did decide to go back to Myrtle Beach we would probably find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioBuckeye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    297
    120
    43
    47
See reviews for
408
328
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Went to Myrtle Beach and just stayed at The Breakers North Tower. Me and a group 5 buddies took out annual road trip. We are big fans of the North tower because there are not millions of little kids running around everywhere and the beaches and rooms are awesome. We rented a one room suite that was ocean front on the 11th floor. This room was just recently remodeled and it was super clean. The pool is big and clean and the pool bar is icing on the cake. Just a two minute cab ride to Broadway at the beach wich is where all the night life is.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrtlebeach39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Worst hotel I have ever been to! Very expenive Paid for steak and lobser and SPAM IN A CAN!! Walked into our "tower" and gagged on the smell of urine, mildew, dead adnimal and was soooo dirty. Walked into our3rd floor room and there were ROACHES ON THE WALLS. After complaining to hotel they were still very uncooperative. They never even apologized. They wanted us to DOWNGRADE to a smaller room with an over VIEW and not an ocean front. After spending much of my much needed vacation on the phone with HOTELS.COM or complaining at the front desk they moved us to another room in a different tower and gave us a $50 voucher for their AWFUL resturant across the street. DO NOT STAY IN THIS FILTHY, ROACH INFESTED hotel with horrible customer service. I have stayed at Dunes Resort, Grande Atlantic, Patricia Grand and those were all 100% better than this overpriced, overrated and UNDERACHIEVED roach fest! Stay somewhere else..>TRUST ME!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvnMyKiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

Oceanfront large fully furnished condos with 2 flatscreens for less than $200 a night? Are you kidding me... This economy must be bad because we couldn't have been happier with our level of accomadations for our stay. We walked to all dinner places, bars, Wings, and even a grocery store. It's also only a mile or $5 cab ride to Broadway at the Beach. We'll go back.

Includes use of all Breakers amenities (indoor waterpark etc) and plenty of places to eat nearby

Only bad things I would say would be the towels weren't up to snuff. Both in quality and quality. We requested more (since we had 5 people staying there) and it wasn't too big of a deal. Would be nice if they had more thick plush beach towel type.



Brad

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALPilotTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Recently stayed in breakers north tower and upon arrival staff were very pleasant which is very hard to come by anywhere! Our room was great with a double balcony-not directly oceanfront like reservation said but picture a triangle shaped hotel and that's what you get. The room had been updated within the past few years and everything just made us feel right at home! There were 2 pools and a hot-tub that looked really nice but when you have the ocean you really don't need a pool! Overall I would defiantly recommend this hotel for a wonderful time at the beach!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyegal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

This was my first trip to the east coast. We stayed at Sailfish, Breakers. It was nice and clean. We had a 1 bedroom oceanfront w/ balcony. Lots of pools to choice from. I was diappointed in the beach itself it was full of broken shells, you almost had to wear shoes.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoosieratheart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Upon arrival the main lobby was very small and outdated. The out door pool is smaller than most apartment pools. The personnel at the front desk were very nice, however, our room was not ready in time for check in. Once we were able to check into our rooms, I immediately knew I would not stay there. The rooms were dark, the beds in the one room were lopsided, carpet was dirty, and overall it was just old! We stay at Myrtle Beach several times each summer and for what we paid it was a huge disappointment. When I booked our rooms I was not told it was not at the main resort which is a 15 minute walk down the street. After spending an hour at the main resort the manager there was kind enough to get us moved there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoVaFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,792 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,061 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand A Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand A Boutique Resort

Property: The Strand A Boutique Resort
Address: 2700 N Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Strand A Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strand is a quaint oceanfront boutique resort in the heart of Myrtle Beach, SC. Enjoy a beautiful oceanfront pool, an extra-large kiddie pool for the little ones, private cabanas, swirling hot water whirlpool, and a well-equipped exercise room. The market restaurant is severing piping hot coffee and delicious continental breakfast each morning for FREE for guests. Spacious, convenient, covered parking is also available just across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Strand A Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Resort North Tower Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing