We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about it!”
Review of Cabana Inn

Cabana Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabana Inn
Ranked #136 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 6 September 2007

We booked a week at the Cabana Inn in July 2007. The website made it look like a nice family run hotel with clean modest accomodations. I called the Inn directly to make the reservations. The gentleman on the phone was extremely pleasant & the booking went very smooth. We received our reservation card just like he promised & I felt confident our week was set. Boy was I wrong! We arrived after 11:30PM as our flights had been delayed. We called ahead to tell the office we would be late & they agreed to stay late for us to give us our key. (They usually close at 11PM) When we got there we were not impressed! We got the key as promised but by the looks of the place we did not want to use it!! There were many people sitting out front of rooms smoking & drinking. The grounds were absolutely filthy (overflowing garbage containers, empty beer cases in the stairwells) They pointed us in the the direction of the elevator but it was so dirty & in disrepair that we chose to climb the filthy steps making sure we didn't touch the "sticky" handrails. The room had decent carpet but that was the only thing decent about it. There were holes in the walls, garbage under the beds, stained linens, and rotting windows. Due to the fact that it was so late we chose to put the table & chairs in front of the door( for protection) & stay the night. When got up early the next morning & found a decent place to stay & cancelled the rest of the week. The one positive thing I have to say is the Cabana had a "no refund" policy & they did keep our deposit plus our one night stay but were nice enough to give us back the rest of the week's rental after I explained to the man at the front desk that the Cabana was just not acceptable. This place needs some major repairs & clean up. I would never recommend anyone staying there until the owner decides to put some money back into it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mcvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager42, Manager at Cabana Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2007

This gentleman and his family came in July at a time of full occupancy. My staff starts with the exterior property, halls, elevator etc. at 7:30 am and again in the evening at 10:00 Pm. I do not know how he could have found overflowing trash cans etc. The room does not have holes in concrete walls. The windows are in aluminum farames and our rooms are clean. The elevator is older but not in disrepair as we have a 24 hr.day 7 day week service contract. We were full of families and many returning guests. Yes I am sure some of the adults drink beer and smoke. Yes I am sure they enjoy sitting outside thier rooms, especially when they have multiple rooms. I don't know why they thought they needed a chair for safety against the door. They had a privacy deadbolt which I am the only one with the key to and they were completely surrounded by families and adults all over the age of 25 which is our policy with the exception of "Graduation weeks" in early June. This family booked our $48.00 per night special for a 7 night or more stay discount. We were more than glad to give his refund since we have many satisfied returning guests and I imagine he wrote this review since he couldn't find anything in the price range he paid for his expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Cabana Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2006

It's the second time I've been to this motel. This time it was for 2 weeks in October. Both times I was very satisfied. It's just across the street from the beach, the location is superb, the motel is big enough to have good service and small enough to be recognized by the staff. If something is missing, the staff gives us satisfaction very quickly. The price is very attractive. Very good quality for the price. I recommand this place. I've been to other hotels and motels in Myrtle Beach and it's the best in his category.

Friends from the North.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank voyageurduquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

small, family run estab. not the best, but surely not a hole in the ground. for the price, it can't be beat

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank aimless_roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

I Have stayed at the cabana inn for several years now..Its not just a business decision, its become more of a friend type relationship.I have become friends with carol and his staff and they seem to go above and beyond to make you feel welcome there.I stay there everytime im in myrtle beach, not just for the bike weeks. I would recommend staying at the cabana....let carol and staff show you their hospitality...and you will become like me..looking forward to arriving in myrlte beach to see their smiling faces...................Scott Welborn Piedmont s.c..

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SCHARLEYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2006

Great vacation site for affordability. After hours of searching - this is THE place. Easy check-in, very friendly staff, easy access to ocean, great location. Weekly rates are unbelievable. If you're expecting the HIlton, go stay at the Hilton, but if you want low rates and a nice stay, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank primadonnanot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

Older but clean ,very nice rooms , across from the ocean , family owned. The front office was as sweet as can be. The housekeepers. very very nice ,The pool was clean. great place to stay

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank theoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

My family and I found the Cabana Inn to be a very nice, hospitable motel. The price was great, and the rooms were clean and kept up with very well. The housekeeping did a great job daily of cleaning of the room and also delivering our linens and toiletries. My son thoroughly enjoyed the kiddie pool, and the beach was just a short walk across the street. My husband and I also found the employees very courteous and helpful; they gave us great reccommendations on restaraunts and places to go. I would definitely reccomend this motel to anyone looking for a great, reasonably priced motel to stay at. My family and I will return again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank meghill902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.5 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#69 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Inn

Address: 1400 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4544
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Cabana Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing