We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow,listen to the reviews!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captains Quarters Resort
Ranked #97 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Burlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow,listen to the reviews!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have been staying here for the past few years. as it has never been the most clean it was nice. But this stay out was a mess got there on the 27th of july wassupposed to have a double suite but was disgusting so had to down grade didn't recurrence full price difference. The housekeepers are horrible and rude they could use a upgrade. Room wasnt up to date exvept bathroom. The bowling alley it was like pulling teeth from a baby to get help with anything,half of the games dont work. some ofthe water throughout smelled like a sewer. The workers walked trash down the halls and on elevator NASTY. everyday a different elevator was broke. could never get on touchwork Mike the manager was always too busy.Luckily we only used or room too sleep. they only give u one parking pass. to top it all off the last night before bed my daughter was playing with her build a bear box she said it was a bug we looked in it and ot was a roach shook disgusting. please read reviews and think hard before staying next year we will not return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bbbb4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    593
    385
    261
    465
See reviews for
1,395
386
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great photos of a place that I was looking forward to staying in but sadly that place isn't where we stayed. When we arrived we were given our key it didn't work, and then it did but it wasn't for our room (someone else's stuff), we went down again and finally got the right key (and a free breakfast post reminding then of there mistakes), got into the room and it reminded me of a old stipper who was clearly past her time. Smell, gross and just not good at all. As for the amenities, the pools sucked (nothing at all like the pictures), parking garage was scetchy but the drinks were very strong.

I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JIMMYREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Elgin, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Even thought this hotel is out dated, we had a blast! The room was rather small, but staying in the poolside efficiency was very convenient. Anytime my kids needed something we could just walk right inside from the pool deck! The pictures make it look much bigger than it is, but the kids still loved the pirate ship! I loved how they had something for the kids every day. My kids never seemed to be bored. The one big complaint I would have would be the bowling ally. The lighting in there was terrible and the only music they ever played was rap music which had curse words in it. I didn't think that was very appropriate for children. The staff in the entire hotel was very nice. All in all it was a great stay. If you have children, then this is definitely the place for you! :)

Room Tip: Pool side efficiency is very convenient when you have small children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked here at the last minute for a 5 day getaway. We knew walking in that it wasn't going to be a 5 star luxury resort. The majority of the resort desperately needs to be refurbished. Our room was very outdated and worn, but generally seemed clean. We did however make a rather disturbing discovery a few days into our stay. While sitting on our bed my wife complained of a strange odor, I decided to look behind our bed and discovered that a previous guest had left a soiled pair of underwear back there. I brought it to the attention of the front desk and was rather surprised at their reaction. The front desk simply said that they would have housekeeping come back up, they almost didn't seemed shocked. I wasn't looking for a different room or anything, but I actually expected a little more concern from the front desk.
Outside of that incident, we really didn't have any problems. The rest of the staff that we encountered during our stay all seemed very friendly. The bowling alley was fun for our kids. The breakfast buffet on the 9th floor was just OK, but not too bad for the price. The beachfront location was fantastic and the view of the ocean from our room was great.
I do believe that if/when we return to Myrtle Beach, we will choose a different resort.

Room Tip: Oceanview and Oceanfront room have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Came here to TripAdvisor first since this was our first visit to MB, I read the horrible reviews and still gave it a chance. We were last minute with not many choices and they were the most reasonable. DONT EVER EVER stay here! It is everything the other horrible reviews state and much worse. When we first arrived there was a couple at the front desk very upset because they had roaches in their room. First sign. Our room was dank and dirty, so old and the bathroom looked like something out of a 40's hotels. Horrible horrible. The only thing decent is the pools are clean and the bowling alley is great but not with the money or stay. We checked out after the first night and found something else! Do not under any circumstances go!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was the worst place I have ever stayed! The corridors have an overwhelming stench of garbage, the parking deck and stairwells are poorly lit and also filthy. Our room had water stains on the ceiling, the bedroom smelled of urine, multiple stains in the carpet, the bathroom had stains in the tub, the vanity was chipped as was the mirror. We did have an "Ocean view " from the 15th floor, however stepping out onto the balcony was at your own risk because the ceiling of it was falling in several places. PLEASE owners of this "resort" TEAR IT DOWN and start over there is NO repairing this mess.

If I could give it ZERO stars I would!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nursepamnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a disappointment. The room is a dilapidated version of the online picture. They really should update their pictures. We walked into our ocean front room and my first impression was we had stepped back in time to 1960. Blue walls and army green curtains. The carpet was filthy and the furniture also filthy and stained. The ceilings were water stained and paint peeling from it. No blankets for the beds just a sheet and their comforter. The stove was broken. The in room safe was broken. after bugging them twice to come up and fix it, they finally replaced it and it's a good thing because the maid left our room door propped open all day. I had to go to the desk to get toilet paper, the maid never showed up in the last day we were there. The people below us were smoking marijuana. The ceiling on the indoor pool was dripping water. I have to say that the staff here were very nice. Mike, the manager did try to make things better with a free breakfast only good the next morning which we couldn't use because we slept in from our long drive. Definitely not worth the money

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shellie320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#143 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,476 reviews
2.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,109 reviews
6.3 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#46 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,207 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#84 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Resort

Property: Captains Quarters Resort
Address: 901 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4434
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captains Quarters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Captains Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Family Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters Family
Captains Quarters Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Captains Quarters Motel Myrtle Beach
Captains Quarters Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing