We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Beach Condos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carolina Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carolina Winds
Ranked #57 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Family Beach Condos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Great overall place to stay always call desk if u late sleeper cause housekeeping runs early here. So call desk for room service after 1200 ok !;)Needs bar and grill open 10-10pm during season may-sept oct--April 900am-800pm off season with juke box wings burgers clubs and suds call it Hungry Crocs and have a large fake croc for kids photo at door!Have themed meals for kids like croc bites etc... Let's do this have mini dance floor near juke box ok do this please!;)Pools great has one large outdoor one nice size indoor. They need to turn heat up on Jaquizs tubs all were Luke warm. Lazy river small but ok.Family atmosphere quiet relaxing slow pace here.Saw cool hula show. Overall great experience;). They sincerely need a bar/grill with mini juke box and dance floor 10-1100 pm during may25-sept 07. Off season 07sept- 25may 1000am-10pm call it Hungry Crocs!;)




  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    195
    69
    38
    37
See reviews for
400
130
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hope Mills, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Ok, to get started. Read the reviews as always, lots of mixed views. Elevators slow, rooms outdated, towels dirty, housekeeping slow to respond and the most classic complaint for all places..." The wifi is slow." So for the benefit of others this is my take on the place. Elevators move at a great pace, I was on the 8th floor had no problems. Rooms are individually owned so decor is going to vary, most are owned by older folks so don't expect Miley CDs to be readily available. Towels were always replenished and clean. Could not say more for the housekeeping staff, friendly and very helpful to requests. WiFi was slow depending on my location in the room, but that's the least of my worries while on vacation. There's plenty of guides and pamphlets available if your looking something as well as a knowledgeable desk staff ready to help.

I stayed the week of 11Aug, the stay was great. Initial reservations via phone were irritating, I guess the gentleman assisting was ready to leave work. Totally had my contact info messed up. Called back the next day due to no confirmation info sent and spoke with a lady that worked out all the problems. Arrived, checked in with no problems. Enjoyed the beach which is really close with access. Pool was nice kids loved it. The lazy river is across the parking lot but I don't go to the beach to float in circles. Room was clean with plenty of dishes and cookware. Beds were comfy for a beach location, keep in mind hundreds sleep on these a season so don't expect Sealy. Location was great, away from the crowds and traffic. Starbucks around the corner and a Baskin Robins/Dunkin Doughnuts all within a 10 min walk. Several restaurants and Food Lion all within a 1/2 mile. Easy access to Kings Hwy. (stoplight). The weekend crowds arrived on Friday so if you have ever stayed at Myrtle know it can get a little loud. Some clown broke a wine bottle in the pool so it had to be closed and drained, no complaint. Would not want my kids feet sliced up, good job to the maintenance staff. Overall stay was great and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If your looking for better views request a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was the first time I had stayed here since I was younger. We stayed on the 3rd floor, ocean front in the main building. It was a great room. The room was clean and the layout was perfect. We had a 3 bedroom and it was plenty big enough for the 6 of us. The balcony was huge and wrapped around to give a side view as well. There was also an ocean view balcony outside of one of the other bedrooms. The pool area was great and pool was good size for the area that it was in. They had an indoor pool and hot tub, but we did not visit them. Parking was in a lot on property and not a building, which I really like. Finding a parking spot was never a problem. The beach area was not too crowded in front of the hotel, so it was a great place for a family to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful too!! Will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WVTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have been coming to Carolina Winds off and on for well over 20 years. We have stayed in each room type (efficiency, 2-bedroom and 3-bedroom condos.) While this is not the most updated property at Myrtle Beach it is affordable and has everything you would expect/need to make your vacation enjoyable. Most recently we stayed in a 3-bedroom ocean front north condo on the the 9th floor. This provided enough room for my family of 4 and two friends of my children; basically 6 adults with room to spare. Pool is nice, hot tub is OK, beach is great.

**Notice** even if you don't stay at Carolina Winds, 76th Ave is a great area, the life guard, Ryan, has been there for 14+years and does a great job with umbrellas and chairs. He is a great guy and very attentive.

Overall this is a great area of the beach, Just a few minutes by car from both Broadway at the Beach and Barefoot Landing. Plenty of restaurants and golf courses and other attractions nearby.

Room Tip: Most rooms here have a decent ocean view, for the efficiency and 2-bedroom units, the higher the flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Row_Jimmy724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

After reading the reviews I guess I was expecting more... We stayed in the main hotel. The property is completely surrounded by the street, parking lots and buildings. The lobby is bare basic. The elevators are Incredibly slow. And our room was the biggest disappointment of all - broken glass in the picture over the bed, rust Everywhere including all the bathroom fixtures and the lamp in the bedroom, hard as rock beds, and worn, stained carpet. There are no dining options within walking distance. And there is no one at the front desk at night - the security guard is in charge of the entire place! The only real plus was that we were on the ocean!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hope, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Carolina Winds is a great place to stay. They have an indoor and outdoor hottub, an indoor and outdoor pool, and a lazy river. The view is great and you are so close to the beach. The decor is a little dated and the arcade is bad but other than that there are no cons :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Talking to folks around the pool or hot tub you repeatedly hear "we come every year" or "we come 2 or 3 times a year"..... That is the best advertisement for Carolina Winds. Since 1985 Carolina Winds has been our family's beach destination. Every unit is different. IF you have a problem the best thing to do is write it in the comment book (if your room has one) and ALSO let the front desk know. It cannot be fixed if no one knows. It saddens me others may not have a positive experience with Carolina Winds. ALL the staff is super friendly and helpful. On one of my recent trips I had the opportunity to meet the owner of the unit I was staying in. I asked her why she had not replaced the bedroom furniture. She asked me if it was broken or scratched. No, it was in perfect condition therefore it was hard for her to rationalize replacing just to meet today's current trend. Since that conversation I have looked at those bedrooms differently and wondered if the bedroom furnishings had been mahogany would I feel it dated? It IS the best value on the beach. And I need to make my next reservation. October is a great time to visit.

Room Tip: Bring your own pool/beach towels, paper towels, and if your unit has a dishwasher or washer/dryer br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mmyH127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
4.0 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#40 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#31 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#29 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolina Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolina Winds

Property: Carolina Winds
Address: Oceanfront at 76th Ave. North, P.O. Box Drawer 7518, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carolina Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carolina Winds is a Myrtle Beach resort that is located on the north end of town, at 76th Avenue North and Ocean Boulevard. This oceanfront resort is a fabulous destination for a beach vacation. All of the vacation rentals at Carolina Winds have ocean views from their private balconies. So bring the family to this retreat and bask in all that the Atlantic Ocean and white sandy beaches have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolina Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Winds Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing