We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“207 nice view..... April 12, 2014” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolinian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“207 nice view..... April 12, 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

When the door to the second level opened up we were hit with a plume of Pot Smoke......... Joy.. I meant to tell the front desk on our way out to dinner but the line was long ... when we got back from dinner it had gone... Thank God. I stayed somewhere else one time and pot was coming in through the AC unit!!!! Bleeeehhhh!!! Comfy and Clean room. Nice ocean view. A tiny bit of black mold on the shower grout and the hot water was broken/leaking.. scalding, boiling hot!!!! was tricky to get it just right ( forgot to tell them about that too ) Enjoyed the stay.... Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room was fine.. it's the neighbors that make the difference in a good or bad stay....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kafkws2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    969
    864
    195
    132
    107
See reviews for
867
673
79
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

i never even stayed, took 5 telephone calls to speak to a manager, computers were down, they couldn't find my reservation, hung up on me & they would rather transfer me to their call center... Finally got the manager and she couldn't explain why they would charge my card a week prior to my arrival, just told me it was "standard practice" Needless to say if business is bad before i even arrive then i am too scared to stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmeadows28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Carolinian. We were experiencing issues with our reservations system and apologize for the inconvenience while you were trying to reserve a room. We do not oversell rooms at the Best Western Plus Carolinian, and because of this we do charge the amount of the first night as a deposit when you make a reservation. We do hope that you will give us a chance during your next stay in Myrtle Beach.  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay Ontario Ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and decided to return for a 5 night stay. Excellent value and great accommodations facing the ocean. Breakfast was included and across the street at Magnolias. Wow is all I can say. Many other freebies included with your stay if you are so inclined. I will return to this hotel if I holiday in Myrtle Beach again. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Northbaytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The mattress was very comfortable, one of the reasons we chose this hotel. There are 2 pools outside plus a lazy river inside. I would suggest that one pool be enclosed and heated as both pools were cold when we stayed in April. The bathroom door fell of the hinge, was reported and fixed that afternoon. One side of the mirrored closet door was missing. We did not report it. A tv guide would be nice instead of flipping through all the channels. The view of the ocean was very nice from the 2nd level balcony. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 450deniseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corbin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and i set out on a road trip.. Arrived in Asheville NC and flipped a coin as to whether we drove onto Myrtle Beach... Heads won and we started driving.. Hotel was awesome.. Clean, accessible and very affordable! Great nights stay! We will return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CasiandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

After Februarys in Florida we decided to give Myrtle Beach a try this year in March.
Other than the occasional spring break 'remy-demi' we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is relatively new and hasn't started to show many signs of wear and tear. There was a lot of ongoing maintenance being done while we were there to keep everything refreshed ant tidy.
Anything we needed to have looked after was handled quickly and professionally. We had stayed one night on our way home last year so we knew the room style we wanted for a long term stay. The view from the balcony did not disappoint no matter what the weather.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view of the ocean. We were in "The Tower" in what's referre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert_CE8150QJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsboro
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you are interested in a clean, service oriented hotel with amenities that make for a very comfortable stay, I would recommend the Best Western Plus Carolinian. My only complaint was the occasional wait for someone to answer the phone when calling with a request or the wait in line at the desk. I imagine this issue was due to staffing, not a lack of interest.

The staff that came to our aid were very friendly and willing to help with any needs that were expressed. Kudos to Lionel (maintenance) for prompt attention and to Ryan (valet/bellman).

Room Tip: A high floor in the tower (corner room), still gave a beautiful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Property: Carolinian Beach Resort
Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing