We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you would expect from a hotel at this level of quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
“What you would expect from a hotel at this level of quality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Overall clean and tidy. The staff was always helpful except when it came to refilling the toner cartridge for the printer in the "business center"........in that case they were no help whatsoever. The "continental breakfast" was a pleasant surprise. It included scrambled egs, sausage patties, waffles, juice, coffee....etc. Parking is in a separate building acros the street and was a bit problematic going back and forth but the limited space at the oceanfront makes this understandable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    867
    196
    133
    109
See reviews for
874
677
80
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The stay at the hotel was wonderful. We were on the 21st floor and the view was excellent. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very helpful. The continental breakfast was a plus; we were able to save more by eating at the hotel. The only issue I had was with the parking deck being over crowded and the elevator not working; we had to park in the Anderson parking garage. Other than that would most likely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to be in new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yomela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The thing I like the best is the hotels location. The main tower does need some update but still pretty good. Parking is 1 street over if filled u can use Anderson's parking garage 3rd floor & up it is a sister hotel. If u want u can pay beach access parking right beside of hotel $6 daily. Wifi is not great in & out a lot . There is a California pizza kitchen & ice cream shop 1 street over from hotel both r great if u don't want to drive a lot . There r several others but didn't go in . Lots of kids around if u don't like that u won't like the place maybe less when school is in. City rents beach chairs now $35 a day so if u pay watch the weather prior to paying so much. Starbucks available short walk either direction from front of hotel. I hav stayed here several times & will return again. The front desk people do the best they can since they have an impossible job . They can't wait on customers for the phone ringing. There needs to be a seperate person handling incoming calls so both party's can get the help & service they deserve because people save all year to go there & that shouldn't be taken lightly by the company. I want a truly unstressed person waiting on me ! Our air cond. messed up & they were very prompt in fixing that & called back to make sure it was working properly. 1 other thing I wish all the hotels would do - bleach the tile floors & get dirt out of crevices & grout between customers. All in all I will go back.

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor. Never thought I would but easier in & out. Not waiting on elevators. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boones Mill, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I'm surprised that this hotel is ranked # 28 in TA reviews. I was banking on those reviews and that is why I booked here.
We stayed in the main tower only because we did not need the extra room that is provided in the other tower and didn't want to pay the extra costs either.
Here are the Pros:
1. Everyone in the hotel was friendly and accommodating. Especially our housekeeping Jamaica girl, cannot remember her name. She went out of her way for us.
2. We were on the second floor which meant easy access to the stairs, which we took the whole time because one of the elevators did not work and there was a long line waiting each time.
3. Easy Access to the beach
4. Clean

Here are the Cons:
1. Elevators slow and did not work
2. Lazy River over crowded with kids, suggest closing the Lazy River at a certain time of day for Adults to enjoy.
3. Main Tower rooms definitely need updating.
4. A/C blows in your face in the bed. We built a pillow barrier so that the air would not hit us.
5. Breakfast, just needs to be skipped. Overcrowded and typical Continental B-fast with eggs and sausage. We only ate there once.
6. On Friday morning at 6:15AM, they decided to trim the hedges just outside our balcony. This went on for over an hour. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. Was woke up and couldn't go back to sleep.

Yes, we would stay again...but pay the extra $$$ and stay in the new tower. We would skip the breakfast and visit the freebies. Like the mini-golf and the water park.

Room Tip: Stay in the new upgraded Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We came down for Mustang week and arrived early on July 12th we were able to check in without a problem.We were on the 18th floor and our room was really nice and clean and the view was amazing. Like other reviews the parking garage is a block away, but that wasn't a problem. Our first two days was very enjoyable until our third night. We went out earlier that afternoon to go shopping and didn't arrive back until 11:00pm that night. When we arrived the parking garage was completely full, but we noticed the valet parking still had spaces and was only $8 night which we didn't know about until then. We drove to the main building and went inside to ask the night clerk where we should park since the garage is full and we were interested in paying the valet parking for our stay since we didn't know about it. The night clerk was on the phone so we waited. When he got off we proceeded to tell him the garage was full and asked about the valet parking, he immediately interrupted us and said we "Weren't allowed to park in the valet parking, and it wasn't something you just pick and choose which days you want to park there." We told him we didn't know about it until that night and were willing to pay the rest of our stay. He then told us to try the garage again and at that time a security guard told him it was full at 10:00pm and he tried telling him that but he wasn't listening. We asked where to park and he said "we'd have to park out on the street and hope we don't get a ticket".When asked to see a manager we were told they were off the next two days. We didn't want to park our Mustangs out on the street because we just cleaned them up for the car show the next day. We finally found a place on the street and had to wake up early the next morning to make sure we didn't get a ticket which luckily we didn't, but out cars were spotted with salt. On our next to last day there the garage and street parking was full so we went back to the front desk and that's when a nice gentleman told us we could use their sister's property garage which was the big yellow building across from theirs. We were very upset when we found out there was a whole other garage we could've used the entire time instead of having to risk a ticket and parking out on the street and getting salt. The only thing that made the trip somewhat enjoyable was having a clean room every night. The front desk staff needs some customer service adjustments.This is our first and last stay at any Best Western because of this.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kacie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpine, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed on the 20th floor amazing views. The staff was excellent, my grandchild want to go back again next year,same room everything. Very good breakfast. Very clean rooms. I will return again it was well worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khris62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great location, service was good. Zeth the valet guy was great to us. The price is worth the stay. The room was clean, they offered free wifi, a gym, an office. There were little cosmetics areas that need improvement but nothing major. Continental breakfast includes scrambled eggs for my surprise. I love the place, and definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yssik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
3.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Property: Carolinian Beach Resort
Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing